Ratings based on 1,985 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Overall was ok, rooms are a little outdated.

Posted May 24, 2017
Overall was ok, rooms are a little outdated. Hotel is situated at the southern edge of the downtown area. Bed are comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, travelling across prairies

Mis-leading

Posted May 24, 2017
Unless you pay up for the concierge floor don't bother. It's very dated with poorly upgraded facilities. Towels were stained and scratchy, furniture was from the 80's. Not really as advertised and certainly NOT a deal at $130/night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Not Our Jam

Posted May 24, 2017
There was crazy loud DJ music playing near by (coming from a club/massive party in building or next door), that went to 6:30am. It made for a distruptivd sleep. Hotel staff wasn't very friendly when we arrived at 11pm. Parking was also confusing, we were told to park on level 1-5 but there where zero vehicles, which seemed a bit sketchy for a public parking facility just off Jasper Ave. Wasn't super impressed with $20 parking per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Furniture showing its age.
Location near the river is great. Some may find the street folk off-putting but it's life, folks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good enough hotel for a business stay

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: Chairs in rooms need updating. The arms are worn and dirty.
The hotel was conveniently located in downtown Edmonton and the staff were wonderful! However, the furnishings in the room were in need of updating and the wifi tended to kick you off. The conference facilities were good enough, but the room temperatures were quite chilly. I had the buffet breakfast on the first night. Most definitely not worth the price. But the views from the restaurant were lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Midcentury modern, unembraced

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The staff is exceptional, the view of the river is gorgeous and the rooms are very clean. Spotless, in fact.
Cons: The pillows are amazingly poor quality. I think it would be more attractive if the decor had some throwbacks to classic mid style.
Location: It's close to the art museum and good restaurants; well served by public-transit. I would be careful about the walking alone in the evening.
This is a classic 1960's round building, with oddly shaped rooms, a conspicuous lack of stairs, and a revolving restaurant. What's less pleasing are the updates that seem to fight the original style. It's been updated, but not in a way that embraces the spirit of the building. It's also not well done. My room had a rain shower head that flooded the bathroom floor. There is no bathroom fan, so you needed to shave before your shower. The view of the river valley is beautiful, but it was difficult to enjoy the valley itself, when a group of teens threatened to mug me in broad daylight on the walking path. That is not the fault of the hotel, just a warning. The staff, however is unfailing kind and attentive, spontaneously asking if there is anything you need and offering directions around the city. Warm and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, Ontario

Posted May 18, 2017
Very convenient to the downtown centre and within walking distance. The hotel has begun to show it's age, but the rooms are very clean, very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us, and we look forward to hosting you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great value

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: loved the revolving restaurant
Location: walking distance from city centre
centrally located in downtown Edmonton great to walk to city core
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us, and we look forward to hosting you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

getting old. not what it used to be

Posted May 16, 2017
quality is more holiday Inn than Fairmont. bed is not comfortable. linens are worn out. TV barely worked. everything was clean and staff were very polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. The Chateau Lacombe Hotel is currently undergoing renovations in order to modernize our rooms and amenities. We hope we can have these issues fixed before your next stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hood hotel but needs upgrades.

Posted May 14, 2017
The hotel itself is great! Good staff, good prices, and it's very fancy. However the parkade has no gates to prevent random vehicles and people coming into it and they have NO security cameras which led to my vehicle being broken into. The hotel was nice about it and cleaned out the glass and taped up the window and offered a complimentary breakfast but that was about all they could do. After chatting with the hotel staff I found out that it has happened multiple times before and they still have no cameras. Would love to return but not until they have cameras or the hotel parkade becomes private and only accessible with a key card