Ratings based on 1,980 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted May 24, 2017
Exactly what we needed. Beds super comfy, everything clean. Staff wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great area!

Posted May 24, 2017
Clean, modern and great amenities - breakfast buffet is excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent niche hotel...perfect location.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Friendly service. Clean. Location. Parking. Wifi. Updated room. Good breakfast.
Cons: Re improving anything, nothing comes to mind...so that in itself is a compliment!
Location: Walkable to restaurants and pubs re Jasper Ave.
Visited Edmonton for film festival. Perfect walkable location to get to Jasper Avenue and amenities. Super-clean and updated room (1412) with very comfortable mattress and new TV. Snacks and bar-fridge stocked at reasonable prices, if looking for that kind of thing. Loved that there was a brilliant IPA (beer) available at the lounge! Great breakfast (excellent coffee!). Very friendly service re front desk (Stephen?). Free parking and WiFi. Very pleasantly surprised as this was our first stay with Matrix. Well done. (We travel a lot so we know that this is not a 3-star hotel, as listed. The only thing that prevents a higher grade is no pool / spa facilities. We never use such things, so nothing lost for our value).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Breakfast can be more diverse. Should cater for vegetarians.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
We arrived early in the day the and unfortunately the room wasn't ready yet. Not a big deal as we were early. Staff were we're great and stored our luggage while we went about our business. We got a call about an hour later letting us know the room was ready. When we got back to the hotel, our luggage was waiting for us in the room. All the staff we encountered during our stay were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Has a nice little buffet included with the room and free parking. Would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, clean, friendly staff.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Very pleasant stay, would book it again. Good access to trains, restaurants and venues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

boutique hotel close to LRT

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Location: 1 block from LRT - so easy access to U of A and downtown, Audrey's bookstore, good pho place across street
clean room, helpful friendly staff, only 1 block from LRT; could choose to do without daily room cleaning in exchange for credit from snack bar in room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Close to shops and restaurants

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This hotel is about 5 blocks from the downtown core, but in a nice tree lined neighborhood near the provincial offices. Many bars and restaurants in walking distance. This is a renovated boutique hotel ideal for business traveler or couples visiting for weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to govt buildings

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Free cheese buffet at their cheese and wine hour at 5-6pm
Location: Budget Car rental next door and opens at 7.30am
Has everything you need for a good business trip. Close to government departments. And Budget car rental is next door (although when you call them they can't find the depot on their system). Do NOT rent the car from the Red Arrow as they have Enterprise car come and pick you up and drive you across town to their depot. very inconvenient. The Matrix has a free breakfast and free parking. My boss liked that.