Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta

+VIP ACCESS? Nope

Posted Sep 26, 2016
i booked 2 rooms on diffrent wings of the building . i asked if there is any possible way we could upgrade one of the rooms so it could be at the same building and floor since i was a expedia + member . and the lady said No there is no availability and they do not recognize expedia Vip status . i asked her again and she said we could add $55 more dollars and we could get upgraded to the same floor .. i dont get it .. first they tell me they dont have availability .and now they tell me they do but i have to pay ? and they deny knowing anything about being a expedia + member . like cmon . if she would have told us that there is a room available but we have to pay that would have been fine we woulda payed . but for them to say they DONT and they dont recognize any expedia+ members i think thats very dissapointing . other than that . hotel condition is great . cleanliness is amazing . food is allright . but wont be checking in anymore just for that front desk experience .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Dark and Dungey.Elevator,TV,smk detector nt wrknge

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Very dirty. Run down rooms. Elevator not working. TV and smoke detector did not work. Pool out of order. Very disappointing
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Online Customer Support, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the condition of the the hotel and your room. We assure you that it is our top priority to meet and exceed all guests' expectations, and we apologize that we fell short on this occasion. We invite you to give us another chance to impress you in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Very nice hotel. Very big too, takes a while to walk to the second wing. Would have helped if there was cart.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Newer hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Nice hotel with great staff. Unfortunately the sauna and hot tub were down for maintenance during our stay (which we weren't aware of) and the pool was too cold even for my daughter. I was also under the impression breakfast was included with our booking but learned differently when we were there which was a bit of a surprise. The location is in an industrial area so make sure you have a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Bavani, N Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we do offer buffet breakfast in our Cafe Burgundy at a discounted price for our guest. We apologies that our pool was not at the right temperature and hot tub and steam room being under maintenance. Your comments are valued and we have taken steps to resolve the issues raised.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wifi So Slow & Printers not Working

Posted Sep 2, 2016
I was so stressed out confirming our flight back home because the Wifi was so slow and the printers not working; I told the hotel staff and they assisted me printing our boarding passes in their office. Your staff were very helpful one name I remember Ishmael. Was not advised that the coffee in the room is free. Most of the hotels I stayed have at least complimentary coffee and tea sometimes serves mornings with donuts/croissants Edmonton Alberta Radisson Hotel & Convention have NOTHING!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Bavani, N Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback We are glad our staff was able to help you with printing of your documents. We apologies that you were not aware that we offer complementary coffee and tea in the rooms and a selection of fruit and cake on arrival. Your comments are valued and we have taken steps to resolve the issues raised.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Hotel in industrial area

Posted Sep 1, 2016
- hot tub and steam room out of service -carpet in room loose -drain plug in tub broken
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Bavani, N Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We have reviewed the conditions of your room with our housekeeping and maintenance team to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson Hotels standards. Your comments are valued, and we are taking steps to rectify the concerns raised. Thank You
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean place

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Excellent place, nice and friendly staff, room is quite and spacious took
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Bavani, N Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the positive feedback
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

No usb's in rooms

Posted Aug 24, 2016
I thought this was a closer to new hotel. There were NO plugs for our USB plugs...I guess it looks new on the outside but no 21st century plug ins. Also pool had all sorts of dirt and grime on the floor of the pool. Hot tub was broke and empty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by tsullivan@carlsonrezidor.com, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay and that your room did not have USB ports. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Close to Edmonton Attractions.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
My wife and I were rxtremely disappointed as the pool was closed especially that we had reserved this hotel for 3 days to enjoy the pool. We got an "I'm sorry" reply. Had we known this beforehand, we definitely would have booked elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Bavani, N Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Our apologies that our pool was closed for maintenance during your stay with us, your comments are valued to us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The room was quiet and comfortable. The staff were friendly, and the breakfast was just right. Overall, this is a great place to stay in Edmonton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Bavani, N Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the positive comments on our comfortable room, friendly staff and breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcome you on your next visit with us.