Ratings based on 836 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SK

Nice hotel not far from the mall

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Good hotel. Will be even better when the renovations are done. Pool was a little on the cold side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by William Veidemanis GM, Hotel Management
Hi Sherry, Thanks for leaving a review and it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Sandman Edmonton West is currently undergoing a full renovation to serve our customers better. Once completed this will result in completely upgraded bedrooms, lobby and pool areas. Thank you once again for leaving a review and I hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C.

Very quiet room

Posted Jul 18, 2017
We're from B.C. and had just arrived in Edmonton to take our kids to the mall waterprark for their birthday. We had already done a lot of driving and then spent 5 hrs at the water park. So to have a room that was so quiet, made it much easier to sleep. Even after 5 hrs in the water, the kids were still pretty happy our room had a sliding door to your pool haha.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by William Veidemanis GM, Hotel Management
Hi Nay, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your most recent stay at the Sandman Edmonton West hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed the great pool at the hotel and enjoyed the world class water park at West Edmonton Mall. If there is anything I can do to make your next stay even better please do not hesitate to ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, B.C.

Beautiful tower and close to West Edmonton Mall.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The staff (#1) and how clean and inviting it was. And location.
Cons: Give your staff more time to do their work. You will get your value back ten fold
Location: Shopping, shopping, shopping, and the Brick Tournament. Buses are just outside the door, so I can't imagine it would be that difficult to get to town.
The staff are incredible. Front to back. I have a fondness for housekeeping. so I give them a big thank you for keeping the tower ( and room) in immaculate condition. You should give them more time, though, so they too can enjoy their lunch and breaks , as say, some of your office staff. It looks like really intense work. I'm sure the renovated rooms will look just as spectacular. The lobby is really, really inviting and the front desk staff are the best. Engineering and janitors are exceptional. I love how close the Sandman Edmonton West is the the mall. We enjoyed the walk everyday. Thank you, thank you so very much for the best stay ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by William Veidemanis GM, Hotel Management
Hi MJ, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and it was great to hear you had a fantastic time at the hotel. I appreciate your very kind words regarding my team and I will be sure to pass them on. I certainly value the hard work my team completes day in and out and I definitely make sure they are provided ample time to enjoy their lunch and breaks. Thank you once again for leaving a review and I hope to welcome you back soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK

Credit Card

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Dennys in the lobby.
Cons: Read my "experience".
Location: Location has many alternate hotels.
Stayed here many times - became something of a habit when visiting Edmonton. No longer. I always booked and paid with my debit Visa... quite happy to have them peel off as much of a security deposit as the hotel felt necessary. Now there is a policy change - only credit cards. That is fine, but what is not fine is the manner in which the desk clerk blamed everything on Expedia and me for not reviewing their new policy. Standing at that desk, while this lady decided on whether she was going to let me and my daughter stay in a room that I had already paid for (2 nights) was uncomfortable and unnecessary. 1. The hotel needs professional front office staff that will help not humiliate. 2. Expedia should not accept debit for hotels that don't accept debit. 3. Expedia should make it very clear when payment options are changed or in conflict with a hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Very dated room and facilities.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Excellent staff with beautiful lobby. Pool area is dated and run down as well pool side rooms. Defective air conditioning with worn out bedding, dated entertainment system and bathroom. However, about average for the price but I expect far better at a Sandman establishment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by William Veidemanis GM, Hotel Management
Hi Reg, Thank you for leaving a review regarding your most recent stay at the Sandman Edmonton West. The hotel is currently going through a complete renovation to serve you better. The hotel is completely upgrading the lobby, rooms and pool area and we will be keeping the impact to our guests to a minimum. Please accept my apologies you did not fully enjoy your stay and I hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short Stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The staff were great and very friendly.
Cons: The first floor rooms are a little older and I would request a room on a higher floor with a fridge next time. Fridges are really helpful.
Location: Edmonton Mall and the restaurants are great. The Denny's attached to the hotel is one of the best we have been to.
We were there to go to the Edmonton Mall and it was very close.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by William Veidemanis GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to announce the Sandman Edmonton West is currently undergoing a complete renovation of the Atrium building. Once complete all rooms will be completely remodelled and all rooms will have a microwave and fridge. Thank you once again for leaving a review and I hope to welcome you back soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grande prairie

Decent hotel close to amenities.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
For the price you pay it's decent. Kids enjoyed the pool. Close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by William Veidemanis GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It was great to hear your kids enjoyed the pool and the great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for what we needed.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Very clean, great location and friendly staff. Very accommodating. Love the decore and having a 24 hour Denny's was helpful. Good sound proofing. Liked everything about it. Felt like home with a pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by William Veidemanis GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the awesome review! I was delighted to read you had a great stay and I appreciate y our very kind words regarding my team. I hope to welcome you back soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brandon

Phones did not work-need shower door!!!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: CHOP
Location: PUT PROPER DOOR ON SHOWER!
Pool down- very long widing walk from outer building to front desk-very tough on older pop. no shuttle to airport-
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by William Veidemanis GM, Hotel Management
Hi Taylor, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Unfortunately during your stay the hotel did have some issues with the telephone lines but I am pleased to announce that they are now fixed. I have also noted your comment regarding the showers and we are currently installing a shower curb to stop water from leaking. Thank you once again for leaving a review and if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

this was A nice quiet place to stay the staff was

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: the price and it was located close to all we wanted to do
our room was clean and well maintained the hotel is going thru some renovations but nothing that effects the quiet or gets in the way it is all cosmetic work
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by William Veidemanis GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review! I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back soon. The Sandman Edmonton West has started its renovation program in the Atrium building to serve you better and we are striving to have as little impact to our guests during this time.