Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fr Sk.

Nice hotel close to Northlands Event Centre

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Highly recommend a stay on a Friday night! Karaoke night is a lot of fun! Saturday breakfast buffet is awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by c, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment & rate our Hotel during your stay in our Hotel! Friday nights we do offer Karaoke & also host a pool tournament that are both very successful! I will share your comments on the Restaurant with our Owner/Manger as well! Christee - General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary Ab

Price is cheap because the hotel is crappy.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We chose this hotel because is stated online it was close to the West Edmonton Mall. It was 30 minutes away, not that close. Our room was next to the elevator/stair well. (202) It was very loud with drunk people yelling after hours and running up and down the stairs. In the bathroom there was brown stuff on the shower curtains which looked like feces. I spoke to the guy at the desk he said that all the rooms were booked and there was nothing he could do about it. In the bedroom the crown molding on the walls were missing, there was a big hole in the wall covered up by a picture and the curtains were cut to go around the air conditioner which let in the sunlight at 6am. The Sunday buffet at the restaurant was good and the bar with pool tables were fun Saturday night, except the hookers asking my guy friends to go to their bedrooms and people doing drugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Christee - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your room. We have asked maintenance & housekeeping to review this room to ensure all concerns are corrected. I am sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction and you felt disturbed by others staying in our Hotel. I will share this comment with our Night Manager & Banquet Manager to ensure when a large group as this is in our Banquet Room & staying in our Hotel that we are more conscience of other guests. Christee – General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Room was very dirty! TV didn't work initially but the staff quickly fixed it. We had a random maintenance worker show up to fix a hole in the wall which our room did not have. Staff was very accommodating with our complaints but the building is very run down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Christee - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. If you have an issue with your room and made us aware immediately, we will correct immediately. For example your TV issue, regarding the complaint of your "dirty" room, you stayed 2 nights? I wish this was shared immediately as any of our staff would of corrected any of these concerns as well. Christee - General manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

below average hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Rooms are clean. Our room had a Keurig coffee maker.
Cons: Update the rooms.
If you do not have a lot money to spend this hotel is OK. Low rated because it is far away from restaurants and shopping centers. Beds are not comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Christee - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate & comment on your stay in our Hotel. I am pleased that you were satisfied with the cleanliness & amenities, perhaps during your next stay, book one of our renovated rooms as we are almost completed the 2nd floor and I am sure you will be pleased with the changes! We are 10 minutes from a mall and LRT to travel around Edmonton if you do not have a vehicle and 5 minutes from a grocery store. Christee - General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel. Very dirty.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Elevator was very small. My husband and child had to take the stair. I could barely fit the stroller in. Internet didnt work the entire time we were there. Kieurig machine was very dirty i couldnt make a coffee. Never staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Christee - General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry that our Elevator is small, with a stroller, luggage and 3 people it would be a tight fit. I was only aware of WIFI issue that lasted 5 hours due to SHAW difficulty that was beyond our control and was fixed the same day. I am sorry you were not pleased with our Hotel during your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. The room was clean, despite hotel renovations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Christee - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate & comment on our Hotel during your stay! We work hard every day to ensure our guests are satisfied and are continuing improving our Hotel daily with renovations!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
scary scary place. I asked a taxi driver what he thought of the place. He warned me not to stay there .... too seedy and criminal element hanging around. i drove to it and took a look, and talked with staff. it is really run down with rough people hanging around . how bad it looked i drove away and forfeited my money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Christee - General Manager, Hotel Management
I am disappointed that a CAB driver had the audacity to inform ANY guest that we were "too seedy & criminal!!" I, as a General Manager, would very much appreciate the companies name & cab number so I may speak to their Supervisor! We are located in the North End of Edmonton and not in NEW area, however we TAKE PRIDE in our Hotel and ALL guests that stay with us. I am sorry that you missed out on our Hotel. Christee - General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 5, 2017
I knew going in that it would be at the low end of comfort and so I didn't have unreasonable expectations. It was better than I thought, keeping in mind that it was an older hotel with a casino attached in a "rougher" area of the city, so you do the math..... The room is big enough and looks nice, but at one time the non_smoking rooms had been smoking, I have a sensitivity to smoke, so I knew right away. The room had an additional door attached to the neighboring room, so you can hear your neighbor quite clearly and you can hear the noise in the hallway as well. The bed was comfortable, except when you moved, the whole bed moved. It was also very warm and dry in the room. Even my spouse complained about the temperature in the morning, and she grew up with 40 degree Celsius summers. I had read some reviews complaining about the place being dirty, I didn't see that at all. And the Manager was thoughtful enough to call us to apologize and ensure we were comfortable after we had witnessed an obnoxious man getting booted from the hotel. If you are looking for comfort, steer clear. If you are flexible and adaptable and can sleep anywhere and are looking to save a buck or two, then this is a place for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Christee - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments during your stay in our Hotel! I am sorry you smelled smoke, as the smoking rooms have not been transferred into NON during our duration of Ownership & Management. We are very diligent on our guests and our surroundings, and again I apologize for this unruly outside customer that we asked to leave that you witnessed. I am pleased that you booked & were satisfied regardless of some comments on this site, as we cannot continue to improve without our guests reviews. Christee - General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below average hotel in an undesirable location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Hotel was loud and under construction. There was a damage deposit of $100 required upon check in that was not advertised on website. They also requested ID of each occupant staying in room, also boy adverised on website or explained why. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. However, the hotel itself seems run down and not well kept. Would give a 1.7/5 rating. Would not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Christee - General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with our policies during your check in. A pre-auth is required on a credit card upon checking in, however if you do not have one we can accept a cash deposit. Identification is a must in our Hotel as we want all guests registered while staying in our Hotel. Thank you for your comments Christee - General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Broken windows, broken beds, holes in the wall. Aweful
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Christee - General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry you were not happy with your stay in our Hotel. I do have 2 rooms that have cracked windows that are actually booked for replacing on Thursday, March 2, 2017 but I can assure you they are safe and not allowing any cold inside. We are proud of the mattress bed set we offer, as many have complimented and it sounds like the room you stayed in requires changing. We always appreciate the feedback, as we cannot continue to satisfy our guests if we are not aware of any concerns. Thank you for your comments. Christee - General Manager