Ratings based on 722 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Friendly staff, clean room, free covered parking and continental breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

Good location

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Great breakfast, beds a bit small ( doubles only offered to us )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from poco BC

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
This was our second stay at The Varscona. We will be back. The noise fron Whyte Ave on a Friday or Saturday night can be a bit much. The hotel's solid structure and windows muffle most of the noise and a good night's sleep is very possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No complaints until 1230 fire alarm

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Staff were polite and room was clean.
Cons: We were in a room near the main road beside the hotel and there were some noisy vehicles during the night.
We had nothing to complain about the hotel. Quick check in, room was clean and quiet. Air conditioner was a bit noisy but didn't interfere with sleep. The fire alarm at 1230 at night did interfere with our sleep. We trudged out of the hotel and the staff were there to guide us across the street to wait in the slight rain. Four fire trucks and 30 minutes later we were allowed back in. Didn't get a good night sleep but it happens. The staff said it was due to something going on outside the hotel at the back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Valet parking in the heart of Whyte Ave!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We stayed here for Art Walk and it was wonderful. One of the most comfortable beds I've ever had in a hotel, nice large room with a view of Whyte Ave, and wonderfully clean. Valet parking was a godsend with the amount of traffic and it took only 10 minutes to get the car back. Buffet breakfast was good with clearly marked gluten-free options. Tons of shopping and restaurants really close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Great service and location. The complimentary wine tasting was a nice t ouch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Good location and nice service.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Varscona is in the heart of Old Strathcona. Very convenient location and easy to find your food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Excellent value with free valet parking, free wi-fi, free breakfast and pre-dinner wine and cheese. Drawbacks include heavy traffic noise, and a basic air-conditioning system which is unable to provide heating to counter the air-conditioned chill during summer cold snaps! This would not deter us from returning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
It is a perfect hotel very clean, comfortable and very friendly staff the only thing we had problems with is the noise from the traffic outside. Maybe another room would of helped but we toughed it out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great location

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Comfortable rooms and we enjoyed the wine tasting and cheese