Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 27, 2017
Friendly staff. Close to the night life just a all around place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the Best

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff
Cons: The view isn't great, but also not within the hotel's control.
Location: Lots of places to eat and shop within walking distance. There's also a beautiful park just down the hill that we spent our evenings exploring.
Varscona Hotel on Whyte was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. The staff was exceptionally nice and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. Lots of shops and restaurants can be found within walking distance as well. I really enjoyed my stay and would love to come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Convenient location in Edmonton

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Convenience on the location and access to coffee shops, restaurants, and shops.
I was disappointed with this short stay at the Varscona. I would have appreciated on check in, being notified, the king size bed room I had made the reservation for was not available. Apparently there was a water leak and none of the king rooms were available. Instead the bed in the room I was given was appreciable smaller. The staff was apologetic and did offer a bottle of wine to cover the misunderstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Great hotel and will definitely be back. Perfect location for shopping, dining and dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Excellent hotel with great service

Posted May 10, 2017
Loved the fact that they had full sized bath sheets
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The rooms are attractive and clean. The showers are fabulous.
This hotel is convenient to the University and many good restaurants. The staff were helpful,efficient and polite and the valet service is a plus. I feel safe in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Great hotel on Whyte

Posted May 8, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay and the variety of food and drink on site and nearby. Only downside is the room was warm and the fan/AC didn't cool it down. It was hot during the night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Great Staff who go a long way in helping maintain excellence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The hotel looks dated on the inside but inside it has been fully updated. The rooms are clean and modern. Breakfast was excellent.
Location: The Varscona is right on a bus route and the stop is out front. There is a coffee shop attached to the lobby
This was our second stay at the Varscona.The check in was smooth and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Inconvenient that someone else has to pick and park your car every time you are in and out