Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel close to good restaurants & shopp

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Would definitely stay here again very convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2nd visit will come back!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: the bathroom and walk in shower is clean and bright.
Location: Lots to do nearby. I like the cocktails at ampersand 22
my second visit to this hotel and I will be back. The room is large, comfortable and clean. The bathroom is nice and bright. The staff is helpful and friendly. What more do you want as a traveler!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yellowknife

Great little boutique hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: The free wine and cheese/cracker hour is legendary - go down to the breakfast bar area from 530-630 pm and don't miss out on this!
Location: Right on Whyte ave. there are a lot of different places to eat, and some stores to check out.
Stayed here for a short work trip. The Rooms are clean and modern enough. Bed very comfortable. They even give you a free chocolate and nice card with your name on it, thanking you for choosing their accommodations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Noise unbearable from 82nd Avenue

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Either better windows to keep noise out or insulation to lessen impact of noise.
Location: Lots of shops, pubs and resturants.
The noise fro 82nd Avenue was terrible - traffic and people. If you don't plan to sleep then yes it's a great location on 82nd Ave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 star boutique hotel at 4 star price

Posted Oct 31, 2016
over rated hotel. Definitely not a true boutique hotel. Very old and tired looking. Only upside was that staff were generally pleasant and polite. Very overpriced!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmundston, NB

Séjour très agréable au Varscona

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Nous avons apprécié le quartier et la rue Whyte où nous avons pu trouver d'excellents restaurants et plusieurs boutiques et magasins intéressants.
Nous avons séjourné au Varscona pour une semaine par affaires. Le personnel était très courtois et très aidant. à part un petit problème de chauffage à l'arrivée dans une de nos chambres notre séjour a été très agréable. Les chambres sont spacieuses et les salles de bain très propres. Les lits sont confortables. Les petit déjeuners sont variés et la salle où on les prend agréable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lloydminster

great location and free parking

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed the refurbished old style hotel, great free wine and cheese mixer in the evening and great morning breakfast.
Cons: would be nice to be able to access the hotel from the parkade to check in.
Location: A great little Hungarian restaurant across the street called Continental Treats. And nice walking on Whyte Ave.
Check in was fast and convenient, valet parking was free, and nice clean renovated rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel -- close to everything

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The Comedy show we went to in this hotel
Cons: that the Valet made us wait up to 45 mins for our car, then said they missed us ?
Location: Shopping, dining, and bars
Close to everything - shopping - dining - bars - very nice lobby also, valet parking excellent, and coffee and fridge in the room !! -- loved it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grande Prairie

Great stay. Close to the UofA.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Price and cleanliness
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to the UofA
Free valet parking. Nice and clean. Had a good experience. No concerns.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Good hotel in lively area.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, location is excellent for a non-business visit. Lots of exuburent young people.
Cons: Valet parking is slow and inconvenient if one is expecting to come and go. Street parking is almost non-existent.
Location: Restaurants, shops