Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Wouldnt recommend this place to anyone

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Wotif
Dreadful service. Supposed upgrade to Chiefs villa was a waste of money as facilities were ordinary at best. Even had to ask for cutlery. Just so disappointed in the hotel management who couldn't seem to care less . We travel all the time and wouldn't rate this any more than 3/10 overall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over Priced for What You Received

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Local people only.!!!!
Cons: Attitude Towards guests other Than Cash Cow's
Location: With security at night safe enough, but no warning how unsafe your belongings are cash etc. during day. Not safe to walk outside without locking up.
Even taking in that Cyclone Pam 2015 and poor weather over our stay. Has nothing to do with this comment. Photos to Promote Benjor Are Very Old Photos ie pre Cyclone Pam. Where not Ready or aware of our arrival, very rushed greating and room. Had to show our itenary from Expedia, then acknowledged I don't blame the staff left to oversee reception and bar. Clearly they where not made aware of our arrival.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel Benjor Chief Village

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Staff.
Cons: new managers
Location: pass
Chief Village when it rained not enough umbrella for all. Path way not lit up at night from villa to dining room. shower & bed linen poor Hot water for shower if your lucky. Room service was on the brochure was informed no room service at all by manager. Two specials for meals from Saturday to Saturday the same. Brochure stated entertainment island dances & island band NIL. Staff told us that managers don't have that any more. Bar closed at 8.00pm every night we where there. order meals before 7.00pm. Continental Breakfast very poor standard Cereals, toast, small plate of fruits, one glass of fruit juice,strawberry jam, peanut butter, honey, Vegemite, choice only for $15.00 a head, JOKE.! WiFi in a 10 meter circle. ceiling fans in two rooms no breeze off fans noisy. Was handed a account to pay & we had no account then blamed the staff for making a mistake, good go. Managers drunk every night intruding on guests, not on. Staff excellent for the conditions they endured by management. To rate Benjor Hotel run down over priced. Ratting, ONE & that is being generous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Family Friendly

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: It was peaceful with lovely views of the bay. The grounds were well maintained.
Cons: fix the showers - it is very dangerous to children and nearly resulted in my own child being burnt as the hot water turned on and off without warning.
Location: It does require a bit of bus ride to go anywhere, however this added to the adventure. There is not a lot of water activities.
The Benjor Staff are wonderful and are more that happy to assist to make our stay enjoyable. the grounds are well kept and it was good place for children. The rooms were reasonable, however the shower was less that enjoyable due to (i) no water pressure. At times no water at all; and (ii) the water temperature was not consistent or maintainable which made is very dangerous for children to be in the shower, even with the parent supervising due to the consistent change in water temperature. The food menu was okay, though it would be great to have local items on the menu as the local foods are tasty. We had to go on tour to be able to experience the true favors of Vanuatu, which is a little disappointing when there was so many wonderful local staff at the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Great place to stay - we loved it! We'll be back - great staff; great views and the rooms were great for what we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lush gardens and a white coral beach makes perfect

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Size and cleanliness of rooms, facilities and staff, gardens and beach.
Cons: The road to the resort, although this is out of control of the resort and completely understandable after cyclone Pam.
Location: Close to zip line adventures, a magestic waterfall, Tanna coffee, beach bar, hideaway island, and Mele village.
Let's get one thing out of the way; Benjor sits 2.5km from the main sealed road of Port Vila, which makes for a bumpy ride to and from the resort. What you do get in return is a generously proportioned villa set in lush pacific gardens on the doorstep of a white sandy coral beach with a restaurant and bar that serves some some of the best food and drink on the island, if you don't believe me try the beef fillet. Benjor's relative isolation from the main Port Vila circuit affords you tranquility and peace of mind. Activities throughout the week keep the resort buzzing and if you're stuck for ideas the staff always have recommendations on what to see, do, eat and drink away from the resort. A perfect place to chill or launch base for all your activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Island NZ

Peaceful out of towner.

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: I would like loungers for the pool and other areas that are higher off the ground to sit in properly.
Location: There is pretty much everything within a bus ride or taxi, it is out of the town, but that was not a drawback for me.
The place is in excellent shape and the hosts are more than welcoming friendly and helpful. The food is good, fresh and varied. My villa looked towards the ocean across the grounds under palm trees and was large and very clean. I loved being able to sit on my own private balcony in the morning sunlight. Any transportation I needed was easily supplied. The staff were smiley and would do anything for me. I felt looked after and safe here. I even had a flashlight on my key ring to help me along the paths to my villa in the dark. There are video players in the villas and a huge stack of videos to choose from in their library. A good place to lax back, but close enough to town to bus in and enjoy what it has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, great people

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Wotif
Had a lovely stay in Vanuatu with our 6 month old. Good place with friendly helpful staff who really looked after us. Also a good base for our day trips to explore the island.
3 out of 5
by JennIfer from Melbourne

Good but isolated Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was very isolated and regular buses do not run out to it, so if you don't have a car it's very expensive to get too. The hotel could arrange a return bus to town, but was very expensive - 400pp each way, compared to approx. 200pp if you could get a local bus, which was nearly impossible without a 15-20 min walk along the dirt road which the hotel is located on. There was a new manager who was very good & was very helpful. But the food menu had very small serves & was limited compared to town, which had more choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice and Private

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Spacious rooms, mini putt, friendly staff, well kept grounds
Cons: Hot water temp could be a bit higher, more vegetarian dishes. Curries weren't really curry dishes. We felt food was a bit overpriced for what it was.
Location: Remote. The closest attraction is the Beach bar that you can walk to and they have different activities almost every night.
Benjor's facilities are fully functional after Cyclone Pam. There are some pleasant extras like mini putt and free kayaks. Our room was spacious and clean, although the single bed creaked loudly every time one turned. We found snorkeling quite challenging as the shore isn't particularly calm at any time, even in high tide. I've had difficulties to get out of the water without injuring myself, even on the main beach. Great vegetarian food fired pizzas and good size swimming pool. Go there if you would like some quiet time and do not plan get out and about often-we found shaky ride to the hotel on unsealed road very exhausting, but there is nothing they can do to improve it, really.