Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Whitianga NZ

Close to great coffee and food!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location, close to restaurant/bars, the room - gorgeous. Friendly and helpful staff. No fuss transfers.
Cons: I'm a light sleeper so I found the noise from the Air Conditioning from the downstairs unit very loud. Probably wouldn't bother most people.
Location: Again...don't judge a book by it's cover and this goes for most of the restaurants. The coffee at Pizza Hot (no it isn't spelt wrong) is the best!
Don't judge a book by it's cover! The street surrounding this beautiful resort suggests a less than perfect setting. We were more than pleasantly surprised coming down the driveway and when we were shown to our room which was on the top story overlooking the water we were stoked. Spacious, clean, beautifully furnished, we had definitely found our happy place:) The pool, whilst not huge, is set in the middle of the complex with pretty surrounds, so we had the beach right in front and the pool right on our back door step :) It was lit up with colour in the evening. Very pretty.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by HM, Hotel Management
Hi Sandy, Wow what a great review, thank you so very much. So glad that Fatumaru Lodge was your "Happy Place" for the duration of your stay with us. We are a little hidden paradise, thats how I like to describe us. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!! Ella - Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Boutique Hotel in Urban Area

Posted May 14, 2017
I very much enjoyed my four-night stay at the Fatumaru. Nice spacious rooms with good amenities and traditional artwork. The hotel does not have a restaurant on premises (breakfast only), but the downtown area is not too far away; about a 10-15 minute walk. Some Chinese-run stores nearby where you can purchase drinks and snacks, as well as beer. There was some construction going on above the hotel/lots of traffic so it wasn't the most pleasant walk in the world, but not too bad. Free use of kayaks and stand up paddle boards which was great; the kayaks are very basic, with little back support, so somewhat painful to use for more than an hour; plus, they are made for shorter people. (The free kayaks were a major reason for my choosing this hotel.) The bay area around the hotel is nice, though you can't really see much fish/water life in the immediate waters around the hotel. Nice pool. Easy airport transfers booked through the hotel. Only area for improvement is that housekeeping on several occasions left a basket out all day with keys to all of the units posing a security risk for guests as anyone could have grabbed the keys to access rooms while guests were away. Hotel also insisted on a credit card deposit despite room being paid in full and would not accept a cash deposit instead.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for your review, we appreciate all reviews and we take on board all comments good or bad. Thank you for your observations about room service leaving keys outside, we will talk to housekeeping about this and make sure it does not happen again. Thank you for that. As for the deposit being only on a credit card, that is normal hotel procedure I'm afraid, all international hotels and resorts now request a credit card on deposit. I know that some people like to deal in cash only and we accept final payment in cash but a deposit on a card is required. We hope this did not inconvenience you too much and thank you for your patience. Again thank you for your very constructive reviews, we will be discussing the points you have brought up in our next staff meeting. We take and appreciate all reviews. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Fatumaru Lodge and to Vanuatu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The location is great, close to Port Vila but far enough out to be quiet. The staff are fantastic, couldn't do enough to help.
The location is great, close to Port Vila but far enough out to be quiet. The staff are fantastic, couldn't do enough to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, thank you for your great review. We really appreciate it and look forward to one day welcoming you back to Fatumaru Lodge and Vanuatu.
4 out of 5
by Mike

Four out of five

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
A nice reset after long travels. The staff is warm and friendly. Safe and comfortable, you can swim in the pool and in the warm waters of the bay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017
Hello Mike, Thank you so much for your 4 out of 5 star review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Vanuatu and Fatumaru Lodge again someday. Tropical Regards, Fatumaru Lodge
5 out of 5
by Rohan

Port Vila Delight

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with lovely little touches and attractive decor right on the water. Peaceful and very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Rohan, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all guest feedback and comments. We so very much hope to welcome you back to Fatumaru Lodge again on your next trip to Vanuatu. Tropical Regards, Ella
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bundaberg, Australia

A beautiful location overlooking Port Vila harbour

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This is our 4th visit to this delightful little resort on the shore of Fatumaru bay. We have visited Vanuatu numerous times and stayed in a variety of resorts but this is easily our favourite. It's close to town, the staff are delightful and we love the location. Would we come back again? Yes, of course! The people here are so friendly as are all the local population and you feel very welcome wherever you go! A great spot for couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Close to Port Vila and Main areas

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The staff were wonderful and the decor beautiful. Right by the water. Quiet and private.
Location: Close to the town. On main road to access most activities.
This was my favorite accommodation. I stayed a a few different places and they were outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hobart

Great location right on the water

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The view from the deck. The pool and BBQ facilities.
Cons: Perhaps install some screens over the louvres on the main windows so that they can be left open at night.
Location: We enjoyed going to Reefers Bar & Grill which is just down the road from Fatumaru Lodge. The nearby Banyan Beach Bar was good too.
We stayed at Fatumaru Lodge for five nights. We enjoyed the views from the deck over looking water and listening to the sound of it lapping at the shore. We appreciated the BBQ facility (recommend buying some fresh fish from the market in Port Vila) and relaxing by the pool. Fatumaru Lodge is close enough to the centre of Port Vila to walk (less than 15 minutes) but far enough out that it was quiet, particularly as it is well below the level of the main road at this point.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Nice lodge facing the beach! Close to the airport and town, pretty much midway between. Liked that they provided mosquito coils and a bed net within the lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The staff were lovely and very helpful. The room has everything you need, and is right on the beach! A gorgeous view, and they have kayaks and paddle boards to explore!