Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney


Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: On Port Vila Harbour, next to shops & main hub - although no decent shops other than Duty Free or open market. There is a large supermarket nearby
This hotel ticked so many boxes for us yet we were let down with the room quality. It is ideally located right on the harbour of Port Vila and next to the shops and main hub. The hotel reception area and restaurant was impressive We stayed in the panoramic suite which was spacious with plenty of light and it had a balcony. However the quality and furniture seemed a bit dated and tired. The hotel has a fantastic pool area with bar service. The pool area is perfectly located with an outstanding view of the Harbour and Iririki Island. The Casino is great fun although the casino staff are a little more reserved than we expected. The Crystal restaurant is absolutely superb - the food is amazing - world class chef in my opinion. The staff are so helpful and really friendly and try to make an effort to familiarise themselves with the guests. This is not really a family hotel (it is not a resort) - there are no real facilities or appeal for children. It is ideal for couples, singles and business clients. Overall I was impressed and would be happy to stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, great facilities

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Great location, great facilities, great holiday. The hotel has everything you could possibly want fro a great experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Central location with great views

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The views across to Iririki were superb and it was amazing waking up to the view every morning.
Cons: Breakfast buffet needs a revamp. After 4 days we found ourselves wishing there was something new on the menu.
Location: Location is central to shops and convenience stores - only a 3 minute walk to the markets and about 10 minutes to the duty free stores.
We stayed for 7 days on our honeymoon in September and were a little disappointed to be honest. Everything was just "not quite". The overpowering smell of cigarette smoke as we walked in the door was not pleasant to start with. The staff in the restaurant at dinner were friendly and had a chat and a laugh with us, however the breakfast staff were not. The staff member at the egg station wouldn't even acknowledge that you had asked for something - we literally just got a blank stare. The restaurant was ok, but the food was exceptional - we ate there most nights purely because of the eye fillet steak! A linen tablecloth and napkin would have been nicer than disposable though, just the little details needed some attention ie. There were carvings put up on the wall as decoration, but stuck with packing tape, which doesn't scream "Grand Casino". The staff at the day spa were so lovely and took time out to come and talk to us when they saw us by the pool or on site somewhere. We were happy with the full body massages, prices where much the same as AUD. The tour desk was efficient and booked us in quickly, but again, not overally friendly. The hotel is in a central location and it's easy to walk into town to pick up bottled water etc from the grocery store. Overall, the hotel was ok, everything was "just so". It's very tired and could do with a bit of an upgrade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Old but convenient.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The Grand is right downtown with great harbour views,but very dated. The king bed is two singles pushed together.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from syd

Friendly staff but stinks of cigarettes

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Booked the panoramic room, got views of the parking lot and the room stank of cigarettes. It took ages for them to give us another room. Only when we complained to Expedia did they take our request seriously. After that everything was OK. The staff are happy to help. The worst thing about this hotel is the lobby stinks of ciggarets from the casino, and that smell travels to the food area. Everytime you walk back in it hits you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gold coast.

great people

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: close to everything.
Cons: nothing
Location: centre of town. kayaking, quad bikes, swimming, walking, markets, tour island, most of all talk to locals.
The people make your holiday, friendly many things to do.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Smack bang in the middle of EVERYTHING!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: - location - pool - the staff
Cons: To perhaps transform their little shelter hut beside their pool into a jacuzzi. That way after a cool swim you can sit in a spa!
Location: Hideaway Island is one bus drive and water taxi away. Not too far and fantastic water sports activities i.e. snorkelling, stand-up paddle boarding
I have been to Grand Hotel twice now Once in October 2015 and again in July 2016. I have decided to come back nine months later as I knew Grand wouldn't disappoint me. The location is very hand to shops and restaurants. The staff are warm and welcoming and you know you can rely on them for information you need. I have become good friends with some staff especially Cyclone who is in charge of booking tours. The service in the in-house restaurant is excellent especially when you request room service. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The toilet and bathroom is excellent with electronic blinds for the glass window. The balcony is a nice place to chill out when you wake up early in the morning to see the sunrise or even the sunset in the evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maffra

nice and central to city

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Wotif
Good overall Close to most things Market next door Pub across road Downside is there internet Bit over priced Rushed us out on check out
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Close to town and markets

Posted Jul 8, 2016
I enjoyed my stay here. I think the best things were: 1. The staff. They were always so helpful and friendly. No matter how many times we would see them for advice or ask for extra things to be brought to our room. Lovely people in general. 2. Very close to town and all your Duty Free shops, close to the markets and waterfront restaurants, and very close to Iririki Island, which is worth visiting. Unfortunately, we had some problems with the door and our safe in the room. Both would be really hard to open. We had to ask the staff to help us a number of times. Overall though, great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Wotif
Very nice hotel, close to the centre of town, comfy rooms with a great view of the water and sunset