Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toowoomba

Great central location in Port Vila

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: I liked the friendly staff, the security man opening the door on entry and departure and the reception staff.
Cons: When entering the hotel from the street there is a strong smoking odour coming from the ground floor casino.
Stayed as a family group of four adults. The Grand rooms have amazing views. Housekeeping was first class. Enjoyed the buffet breakfast-good value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Best business type hotel in Vila

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Place well located in town. Modern clean and excellent staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Impressive

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: On Port Vila Harbour, next to shops & main hub - although no decent shops other than Duty Free or open market. There is a large supermarket nearby
This hotel ticked so many boxes for us yet we were let down with the room quality. It is ideally located right on the harbour of Port Vila and next to the shops and main hub. The hotel reception area and restaurant was impressive We stayed in the panoramic suite which was spacious with plenty of light and it had a balcony. However the quality and furniture seemed a bit dated and tired. The hotel has a fantastic pool area with bar service. The pool area is perfectly located with an outstanding view of the Harbour and Iririki Island. The Casino is great fun although the casino staff are a little more reserved than we expected. The Crystal restaurant is absolutely superb - the food is amazing - world class chef in my opinion. The staff are so helpful and really friendly and try to make an effort to familiarise themselves with the guests. This is not really a family hotel (it is not a resort) - there are no real facilities or appeal for children. It is ideal for couples, singles and business clients. Overall I was impressed and would be happy to stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, great facilities

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Great location, great facilities, great holiday. The hotel has everything you could possibly want fro a great experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Central location with great views

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The views across to Iririki were superb and it was amazing waking up to the view every morning.
Cons: Breakfast buffet needs a revamp. After 4 days we found ourselves wishing there was something new on the menu.
Location: Location is central to shops and convenience stores - only a 3 minute walk to the markets and about 10 minutes to the duty free stores.
We stayed for 7 days on our honeymoon in September and were a little disappointed to be honest. Everything was just "not quite". The overpowering smell of cigarette smoke as we walked in the door was not pleasant to start with. The staff in the restaurant at dinner were friendly and had a chat and a laugh with us, however the breakfast staff were not. The staff member at the egg station wouldn't even acknowledge that you had asked for something - we literally just got a blank stare. The restaurant was ok, but the food was exceptional - we ate there most nights purely because of the eye fillet steak! A linen tablecloth and napkin would have been nicer than disposable though, just the little details needed some attention ie. There were carvings put up on the wall as decoration, but stuck with packing tape, which doesn't scream "Grand Casino". The staff at the day spa were so lovely and took time out to come and talk to us when they saw us by the pool or on site somewhere. We were happy with the full body massages, prices where much the same as AUD. The tour desk was efficient and booked us in quickly, but again, not overally friendly. The hotel is in a central location and it's easy to walk into town to pick up bottled water etc from the grocery store. Overall, the hotel was ok, everything was "just so". It's very tired and could do with a bit of an upgrade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Old but convenient.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The Grand is right downtown with great harbour views,but very dated. The king bed is two singles pushed together.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Hotel close to town

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: View
Cons: Food choice and menu selection along with the ridiculous pricing, it's not a 4 star hotel but purely a 3 star at best but charging 5 star prices.
Location: Close to local market, supermarket and on the port side of water in Vila
Hotel clean, close to town, staff friendly, views amazing. Only downside is food experience such as room service poor and expensive, in room entertainment absolutely useless as all streamed over the net and not watchable and the so called free wifi at hotel useless, keeps logging you off which was such a pain.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pick up your act!!!!

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel needs to be up graded . Showing age without renewing facilities . You cannot keep taking without putting back into the establishment .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, SA

Perfect position and friendly staff

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: Electrical wiring could be looked at
Location: Central to everything in the heart of Pt Vila.
Stayed here for 7 nights in a Panorama Suite. Very clean but room needs some maintenance. The electrical connections were loose and a bit of a worry and there was no outside handle to the very heavy sliding door to the balcony. We had to be careful not to close it completely as we would not have been able to get back in. Overall though, the food and the staff were excellent and we would stay again without hesitation. Lovely pool and outside areas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from syd

Friendly staff but stinks of cigarettes

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Booked the panoramic room, got views of the parking lot and the room stank of cigarettes. It took ages for them to give us another room. Only when we complained to Expedia did they take our request seriously. After that everything was OK. The staff are happy to help. The worst thing about this hotel is the lobby stinks of ciggarets from the casino, and that smell travels to the food area. Everytime you walk back in it hits you.