Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and hotel.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Rooms were nice, serviced daily. Staff iin the dive shop were brilliant. They couldn't have helped us more. Nice snorkelling, good wifi.
Cons: It was quicker/cheaper to catch the boat over to Beach Bar to eat then it was to eat at the restaurant.
Location: Snorkelling was lovely, coral is a bit bland but saw lots of nice fish and a couple sea urchins. Underwater postbox was a cool experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Great location and free 24 Jr. Service of boat to mainland. Loved the relaxed casual feeling. Food not great, but then we are spoilt by the fantastic free food available in NZ
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Diving paradise

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Diving facilities, delicious food.
Cons: There are many day guests to the island they could have a special line/priority for lunch for house guests/ divers. Water should be free and plentiful
Location: Diving, snorkelling, relaxing. beach is hard coral so reef shoes recommended
Had a great stay in the "Villa No Pool". It was huge and generously equiped with a full kitchen and laundry! This was a diving holiday for us, and Hideaway Island is a divers paradise. The ferry to and from the mainland was 24 hours and would come the moment the driver saw you on the jetty. Not much to do on the mainland though, unless you go into town in Port Villa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raglan NZ

overrated

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: good snorkeling right in front of you
Cons: the double rooms and (shared) bathrooms
We stayed two nights in a double bedroom, I wouldn't recommend this option. The shared bathroom is not clean and the room we stayed in (No.4) is quite dark and depressing. For the rate we paid there must be better places in Efate ! The snorkeling is awesome and the staff is friendly, but the whole place needs an upgrade !!
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Los Angeles

Love Hideaway!

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
The setting here is so peaceful and relaxing. Great snorkeling, too! Staff was absolutely wonderful and so accommodating when I first wanted to stay a few extra days and then when I *needed* to stay a few extra days due to my flight being rescheduled due to flooding at my destination. So thankful for all of their help with everything. Highly recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
by Won Hae from Sydney

Very relaxing and peaceful experience

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in a twin share room. Hideaway Island resort was splendid because it is on a separate island off Port Vila. The only thing I would say is to pick a room with air conditioning if you cannot sleep in the heat very well. It can get very humid and hot some nights. But besides that everything was terrific. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Plenty of free activities as a guest- stand up paddle boarding, snorkelling, boat tours and local village tour. The food at the restaurant is also really great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Perfect for underwater stuff

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location, location, location!!!
Cons: Water supply in bungalow. Fan in bedroom had 3 settings: insufficient (setting1) and cyclone (settings 2 and 3)
Location: Snorkelling, scuba diving, kayaking, paddle boarding. Close to airport. Beach bar opposite to island.
Location is superb for underwater activities and in the mornings and evenings one does feel hidden away. Staff are friendly and overall competent. Prices are ok for food and beverages, choices are limited. There are some really cheap rooms to be had for low budget travellers and some lovely private sunset views for couples in bungalows. In the daytime the island is overrun with day-trippers. Access to the island is by 24 hour ferry service which is reliable. Trip into town is possible fairly easily but can be costly when cruise ships have landed so overall not a good option for people who want to hit the town daily. Water supply in room was patchy, mostly a trickle, sometimes nothing, rarely good flow.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Wonderful

Posted Jan 21, 2016
The best happy staff in Port Villa. Super friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location & the local staff are awesome.

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Wotif
We stayed in one of the beach bungalows, nice and private and close to the water. Rooms were comfortable however the facilities / decor needed updating. Condition does not justify cost of bungalows. (Ie Bathroom needs a update, shower knobs faulty, cracked tiles etc) The staff were friendly & helpful. Breakfast was the same thing every day. Cruise ship season tends to overwhelm the resort, would seem during the day these guest take priority over staying guests. The Beach Bar can experience long queue's, these guys need bar staff offering drinks with a cash bar to cruise ship sunbathers up & down the beach rather than having them all waiting at the bar. Resturant menu was pretty basic, drinks expensive. Didn't really enjoy eating there. Very little engagement from bar staff or atmosphere during dinner times. Need more activities during the day. Finally ditch the music playlist ! Get some decent beats, last thing folks need on vacation is Kelly Clarkson waling in the background.. Overall we had an enjoyable stay. The local resort staff are fantastic and the dive crew awesome bunch of guys. Resort management need to make a few tweaks as this place has the potential to be more than amazing.
4 out of 5
by Christian from Fougeres-France

À faire

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
Très agréable, personnel charmant, cadre idyllique... Un gros bémol sur l'attente au restaurant, la prise d'assaut des tables et chaises, etc, lorsqu'un wagon de touristes vient uniquement pour la journée...