Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Very relaxing, very attentive staff

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Never really went outside hotel grounds
Beautiful grounds and surroundings, Staff were lovely and looked after us well
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Matthew Senyard, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to write in and provide your rating and feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Regards, Matthew Senyard Resort Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Could be so much more.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The kids pool area in particular is fantastic - there is certainly a great vibe for families with young children. Numbawan cocktail!
Cons: My biggest disappointment was the food. It was awful. I tried a number of dishes for dinner and each one of them was disappointing. Low-grade pub food
Location: There is lots of activities to do in Port Vila but I would highly recommend going to the other side of Efate and other islands for a better experience
Based on other reviews, I had pretty high expectations of the resort. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. The staff are all incredibly friendly which was wonderful. About 2/3 of the staff I interacted with didn't seem to be competent in what they were doing. This seemed to flow across restaurant staff, reception staff, cleaning staff and activities staff. Perhaps many of them are very new? A couple of examples: My package included breakfast each day, but this appeared to only be on the list that got to the restaurant some (non-consecutive) days. They asked me one day in the middle of my stay but then I heard nothing more about it until I saw it on my bill at the end of my stay (which they removed when I pointed it out). My room was also made up with different combinations of things each day (towels, tea, soap). It wasn't a major problem, but little things like this added up over my stay. I have to say the weather probably also plays a role in my disappointment, it was cloudy for the whole week and a half I was there. Interestingly, the weather on the island tends to be a bit like this - the other side of the island was predominantly sunny each day. Apparently, this is due to the mountains and rivers on the island. Anyway, as a result, the lagoon did not look anywhere nice as in the pictures.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Great for families

Posted Mar 8, 2015
There are perhaps more luxurious resorts in Vanuatu, but if you're taking kids this is the place to stay. It's the only resort with a kids pool which is terrific and kids eat free from the kids menu at the resort's 3 restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane QLD

2 Thumbs Up!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Just got back from a 5 night stay for our honeymoon. Couldn't fault our visit. The grounds and room were immaculate. Staff were amazing. Special mention to John Paul who looked after us so well. Highly recommend the day spa and the beach side massages. Try out the pizzas by the pool - divine. Intend on coming back next time with the kids!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Thomas Tait, Hotel Management
Good Morning The Partridges Thank you for the review and spending such a special occasion with us. Sounds like you had a great time with us and in Vanuatu and we look forward to seeing you back with the Kids in the very near future. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Over the water bungalow was brilliant!

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The Over water bungalow was the best, being able to walk down the few stairs and into the lagoon was wonderful.
Cons: The Wifi was not great and the wired connecting in the room in the main complex did not work.
Location: The 4 wheel buggy trip we went on was a blast.
We had a an over the water bungalow and a room in the main complex. The bungalow was wonderful and lived up to expectations. The few minutes walk from the bungalow to the main complex was a nice way to start and end the day and if it was raining there was always a car/buggy available. The hotel is just enough away from the main part of Port Vila to be quiet yet only a short taxi or bus trip away. We found the eating facilities very good, particularly the buffet meals (many evenings and breakfast) which were brilliant for late teenage sons! We made use of the canoes and the like and mostly swam in the lagoon. We also used the day spa, which although small had a very good variety of treatments and the staff were really nice. The staff, including the management that we met were attentive and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2015 by Thomas Tait, Hotel Management
Good Evening Halls Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. The walk over and back to the Vila's can certainly help get over all the coconuts consumed at breakfast! Great to see you use the facilities of the resort and as you found you are able to get out and about on Efate very easily from the resort. Look forward to welcoming you all back very soon. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very good resort totally relaxing

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Great staff, plenty of space and beautiful grounds. Comfortable beds, plenty of hot water for showers.
Location: Good location only 10 minutes from Port Vila.
Stayed with my aunt for 5 nights we had a wonderful break Resort has everything and even though school holidays the public spaces were never crowded. Breakfast fabulous, fresh coconuts and even a juicer to make your own juices. Swam in the lagoon, took kayaks out and enjoyed the bar area at one of the pools....added bonus 2 pools.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Thomas Tait, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Sonya Thank you for the review. Sound like you all had a great stay with us over and as you found out even during the peak of the Holidays there always plenty of space. Hope to welcome you all back to Vanuatu in the very near future. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday inn Resort Vanuatu
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely views, food could be better

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Overall the resort was beautiful. Friendly helpful staff and great facilities. The buffet breakfast was amazing each morning however I feel as though the lunch and dinner menu options were lacking a little. It would be great to see some more traditional dishes..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Thomas Tait, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Lauren Thank you for the review. We get quite a few comments back around breakfast and how hard it is to go home and do it all yourself! I have discussed your feedback with the Food and Beverage team as this type of feedback is very valuable to us. Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
4 out of 5
by Anne-Laure from Noumea, Nouvelle caledonie

Je reviendrai

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
J ai vraiment apprécié ce séjour. En vacances Aves ma fille l hôtel est vraiment adapté pour les familles: des aires de jeux, des piscines pour tous les âges, un kits club GRATUIT pour les clients de l hôtel. La chambre était bien et le PDJ le meilleur que j ai pris dans un hôtel vanuatais. Le service de restauration est très long, cela dit il en a été de même dans les autres restos dans lesquels j ai mangé . L hôtel est retiré de la ville (cela me convenait car c était un choix) toutefois des navettes gratuites sont disponibles pour y aller et les tours opératoire pour les visites de l'île viennent récupérer les clients à l hôtel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2015 by Thomas Tait, Hotel Management
Cher Anne-Laure Nous sommes heureux de savoir que vous avez apprécié les facilites disponibles aux familles. Merci pour votre témoignage en espérant vous accueillir parmi nous a nouveau. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syd

Great resort , best staff , food and facilities

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Was the best stay ever . Great resort, best staff , very friendly, good facilities and food was great. Very clean and accomodating. Will surely go back and for longer
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Thomas Tait, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Dav Thank you for the 'Great' review. Looks like you had a great time with us and we certainly look forward to seeing you back again very soon maybe for a little longer next time round. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu