Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Relaxing resort overlooking the ocean

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff (especially Gerry). In house restaurant with good quality food. Relaxing setting. Spacious rooms. Private jetty with fish.
Location: 10 minutes drive from Port Vila. You will need to catch a bus or taxi to go to most places. Nearby activities included Wet n Wild and the summit.
We spent one week at the Island Magic Resort. We arranged a number of tours and activities with the help of the hotel staff. We spent Christmas Day here and had a nice buffet lunch including fresh seafood. The resort has a private jetty which a nearby reef. You can see feed the fishes and go snorkeling. We used buses to travel into town. As bus fare is per person and the limited buses operating in off-peak times, next time I would consider renting a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Amazing!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Close to tourist attractions and port Vila, but so quiet and peaceful
Cons: Nothing it was perfect!
Location: Water zorbing and wet and wild just across the road, fantastic snorkelling on site, hideaway island very close
Such a beautiful place, close to port Vila, but away from the hustle and bustle. So peaceful, our 2 bedroom bungalow was fantastic, clean and very spacious, staff were so friendly and helpful, we had such a wonderful time here - would definitely recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Pleasant 12 days

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Just about everything - there wasn't much to complain about. The restaurant did some excellent meals and the curries in particular are first-rate.
Cons: Not much. We liked the place all through.
Location: Location was quiet and there wasn't much orgainsed in the area - which does me nicely on a holiday, thanks very much.
For a first trip to Vanuatu - on which relaxing was the most important thing - the Island Magic proved to be a good choice of places to stay. It's out of the bustle around town (which can get busy) and in a nice location with good swimming around, although there's no beach immediately by the hotel. Rather, there's a reef which provided some super snorkelling and the beach (black sand) is a few minutes walk down the road. The pace was gentle, the people were nice and the place was just what we were after. We had a very pleasant stay - the 12 days proved almost exactly right for us - and returned home feeling significantly better in mind and body.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and pool for the little kids who did not want to go snorkelling
Location: As island magic is located in mele outside POrt Villa we had to catch buses or tours to other activities but the resort was able to organise transport
Really enjoyed our stay at island magic. Staff were so lovely and very helpful. Great snorkelling off the jetty. the view across Mele Bay was beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Gerry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei

Lovely surroundings, peaceful, good snorkelling.

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: as above
Cons: nothing
Location: snorkeling, mele beach, restaurants, fire show, zip line, zorb, wet n wild, Tana coffee cafe n roaster
Island Magic was just what we needed, peaceful, safe, lovely surroundings. The staff were friendly and very helpful as required, when we asked about different excursions they were organised quickly without issue. It was great to be away from the main town but close to shops if we needed anything, biking distance. We were well catered for at the on site restaurant, delicious meals served by friendly faces. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Gerry, Hotel Management
Hi Vikki and Keith, Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle NSW

Lovely location for snorkelling

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Comfortable accommodation, nice little restaurant, great snorkelling right at the resort, spacious units,
Cons: Accommodation is showing signs of needing a fresh update.
Location: Great location for snorkelling and swimming. Close to Hideaway island, close enough to town, close to Havannah harbour.
Comfortable accommodation, nice little restaurant, great snorkelling right at the resort, spacious units,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from king Creek NSW

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The bungalow was roomy, good facilities, lovely outlook.
Cons: Probably a bit more variety in menu at the restaurant
Location: Close to waterfall, very close to snorkelling and some other restaurant.
We enjoyed our stay but road condition to get there was poor. At our age probably a little too far out of town. The staff were great and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Excellent position away from Port Villa

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Everything
Right from the moment we arrived we knew we were somewhere special. The bungalows are perfect, great size full kitchen, very private and lovely views. The staff are very friendly, hosts Gerry and Jan extremely helpful and informative. The chef is amazing definitely eat here if you can, the other staff are really nice too, and we discovered a lot about the lives of ni-vanuatu with our chats with them. Great for snorkelling off the jetty, plenty of fish, can be a bit difficult when windy. Overall we had a fantastic holiday, and we hope to come and stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shellharbour NSW Australia

Island Magic - Very peaceful and relaxing

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Wotif
Rooms were excellent for families, plenty of room and staff were very accommodating. A bit of a hike out of town, but still lots to do near by... We had a great holiday at Island Magic, I would just recommend bringing as much food from home as possible as there are full kitchen facilities here and food prices everywhere are quite expensive...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elimbah, Qld, Australia

great location

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The rooms were generous in size and well appointed, the staff were extremely friendly and obliging. All linen and cutlery provided, even pest coils.
Cons: The only down sides being the access road (public) is unsealed and was in very poor condition. The rooms would have benefited by being airconditioned.
Location: The location is right on the waterfront, with a jetty providing direct access to the reef. It is also very close to the Beach Front Bar, Cascades & Su
We stayed in a bungalo which was approx 40m from the water front. We had complementary snorkel sets which we used on a number of occasions. The weather was a little uninviting for a few days with a cyclone expected. This threat dissipated after about three days and the weather then improved. The bungalos are tastefully decorated and in good repair, however some of the appliances were not operating correctly.