Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Clean and friendly hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Cons: The only issue we had was that we booked 2 one bedroom apartments because we were a family of five. When we arrived, we found we had been allocated t
The only issue we had was that we booked 2 one bedroom apartments because we were a family of five. When we arrived, we found we had been allocated two apartments at opposite ends of the hotel. We indicated that this was unacceptable and eventually were offered a two bedroom apartment which we took. We were very thankful for this good outcome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Wonderful hotel, lovely staff, great location!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel was a fantastic place to stay, close to the Main Street of Port Vila with a warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff were very kind and helpful, the food and drinks were exceptional and decently priced, the pool was lovely and relaxing and the rooms were clean and spacious! We thoroughly enjoyed the cultural entertainment nights, and we would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone! We would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Ms Kuranavanua , Hotel Management
Dear Serah & Nick, We thank you for your feedback which will share it with the staff & management & look forward to having you again on your next visit. Warm regards, Reservations Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel very close to town

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Cons: Better service when having functions. When functions were on at the hotel, the other guests service by wait staff dramatically dropped. More staff req
Location: Be careful on cruise ship days not to be caught by the few locals who want to give you there own tour and take you places.
A very nice hotel. It is in great walking distance to the township. The Oasis grill and bar do delicious meals.. just as good or even better than the up market resturants in town. Highly recommend eating there. The connitential breakfast is also very yummy, with baked crosiants, bread, soup, fresh fruit, pancakes and cereal included! The orchard room equipped us for what we needed. The bed was nice and the TV worked well when winding down after a big day out. The bathroom appears bigger in the photos then what it was though! I highly recommend the round island tour that the hotels tour office books. Its a fantastic tour and you see all the good tourist activities under one price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The shower is a bit small if your a bigger person so if you like space beware.
Great location, would recommend this Hotel (Especially a pool side room). It was close to everything which was great for walking into town. I'd recommend catching a bus over Taxi in PV as it is a lot cheaper and bus drivers will take you anywhere you need to go for a fraction of the price. Hire a car and travel the Island. The Melanesian is close to bBudget, Hertz and a couple of local scooter and car hires. For the cost of an Island tour you could easily have a car for a couple of days to do what you want at your own pace. The island can easily be covered in a day or two (Prob 2 hours of continuos driving and you would get around Efate). The Hotel was nice and quite and offers free Wifi in the lobby which is a bonus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice facilities and walking distance to the cbd

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: the food was a welcome surprise,overall quite good
Cons: the biggest failure by far was the absolute lack of ability to make any sort of a cocktail to relax by the pool with,we tried 5 times and just gave up
quiet and pleasant with good food and clean spacious rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Very convenient location close to town

Posted May 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The cultural night entertainment was great. The breakfast bar was very nice.
Cons: The room (std Orchid) we selected had no couch or comfortable chairs which was disappointing. The bed was too soft.
Location: The hotel was close to town and all activities.
Very easy check-in and we were made to feel very comfortable from the moment we arrived. The staff we met were all very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Basically a fancy motel

Posted May 27, 2016
I would not stay here again. The place was occupied by noisy drunk guests, the breakfast buffet was the worst I have seen in many years (burnt waffles!). They add charges to the bill, Internet costs extra (a fair amount extra), the pool is tiny, and housekeeping don't replace the coffee sachets you use.
4 out of 5
by Mary Lily from Melbourne

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Loved staying at Melanesian. I wish the massage place was owned on. Saturday. I missed out last year as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Sauberkeit, gute Lage in Port Vila
Cons: Das Essen ist geschmacklich nicht sonderlich zu empfehlen.
Location: 3/4 Std. zur blauen Lagune, 20min zu den Wasserfällen, ca 20min nach Eton Beach.
Wir waren 10 Nächte dort. Erster Eindruck im Lobbybereich trügt ein wenig. Die Zimmer sind sehr sauber und werden täglich gereinigt. Der Bettenkomfort ist noch ok. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich. Vom Essen im Restaurant erhofft man sich geschmacklich mehr, vor allem für den Preis. Alle zwei Tage findet ein Unterhaltungsangebot statt. Alles in allem ein empfehlenswerter Aufenthalt.
5 out of 5
by Padmini

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels