Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marblehead, MA

Stay at Hotel Senator-Haz

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Staff, rooms, location, restaurant. Plus, free secure parking
Location: close to castle and main square
Clean, spacious rooms; friendly, welcoming staff; great location in charming Eger. What could be better. Located on a lovely little square adjacent to the main square and 2 blocks from the castle entrance. The hotel restaurant was also great. Our experience could not have been better. Our only regret is that we only had one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location

Posted May 18, 2017
This is a lovely old hotel right on the Square. Convenient walking distance to sights. Onsite restaurant food was excellent. Only negative was lack of elevator, in room phone and A/C. Can be difficult for senior travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma, California

Beautiful hotel, great location

Posted May 8, 2017
We loved our stay in Eger. Our room was in the Panzio and had a beautiful view of the castle from the balcony--perfect for enjoying a glass of wine. The room was clean and bright and very comfortable. It could be a little noisy at night because the hotel is so close to the central square, but that is a small downside (and it was also nice to be so centrally located). We would highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Olmsted OH

Great Small Hotel in Historic City

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Its charm and location, as well as the people running it.
Location: See the castle, walk around the river, shop in the town and most definitely enjoy the food and the PASTRY.
The hotel owners bent over backwards to accommodate us. Breakfast was prepared fresh and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. This is a historic city in Hungarian history. The hotel is in the center of town. If you go there, you should read the book " Eclipse of the Crescent Moon". It tells how a small group of brave Hungarians who won an overwhelming battle against the Turks in Eger in 1552. The castle is right by this hotel. There is a river walk and lots of restaurants and shops around the central plaza.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Why would you stay anywhere else in Eger?

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Cute.
Location: Plenty to see, worth a couple of days. Interesting combination of old and new, very pretty.
Historic town, historic hotel under the castle wall and at the top of the square, endlessly polite and helpful staff. Hotel and town win my vote for Hungary.
5 out of 5
by Stefan from Ashburn, VA

Superior place for history buffs and food and wine

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Professional staff and very helpful. Great food and wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

everything was just perfect

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Great staff with all kind information about the local events and tourist spots, perfect location if you wanna see the castle, since it's just located beside it. price was also good, and the included breakfast was great. We'd like to say a big thank for the perfect service.
4 out of 5
by Kevin from Vail, CO

Great location and value for the money.

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
We only stayed here for 1 night and were very pleased with staying here. It has a homey feel with a very professional and friendly staff in the center of town adjacent to the main piazza. The room was very clean, spacious and extremely comfortable. The food at the hotel restaurant was delicious, especially the Goulash (a must have for soup lovers) and their desserts. We stayed here only to visit the wineries in Eger. It's a short cab ride there and back. We enjoyed their breakfast buffet, which was more than enough food, and continued on the rest of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Beautifull cozy hotel with a character, very clean, excellent location. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Su Win

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
we were there for only one night and it rained all the time but we had a pleasant stay in Eger. It is a pretty town but unless you are a wine buff, there does not seem to be much to do.