Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to German border

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Very helpful staff, meals excellent in restaurant, location to attractions.
Cons: Loved the whole place.
Location: Location close to German border so was able to do attractions in both Germany and Austria.
The staff very absolutely wonderful, very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Great location for doing activities in Germany and Austria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Must Stay!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Nicest hotel staff ever! Hotel restaurant was decent Beds were comfortable except for the pillows, which were a little flat. Overall, a hotel that you won't regret staying in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Traditional Austrian hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Relaxed, unconventional layout.
Cons: 2 complaints about Wi-Fi: 1) It was a chargeable extra in the room 2) I couldn't get a signal in my room! Fortunately they agreed to waive the charge.
Location: Schloss Neuschwanstein is close by. 15-20 mins drive.
We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Maximilian. Friendly staff, hearty Austrian food. The night we were there, a big traditional folkie band played in the courtyard. A bit cheesey, but that's exactly why we enjoyed it! The following morning, when we arrived at breakfast, the staff had laid on a special birthday table with decorations and a candle. A nice touch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin, USA

Cozy, charming and very Friendly Staff

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The staff was the best we had on our trip out of 8 hotels as well as their restaurant.
Cons: The finishing could be updated, but the price and service level can't be beat.
Location: Lots of outdoor adventure, hiking, Ehrenberg Ruins, Highline 179, Neuschwanstein and Hofburg Palaces. Linderhof Palace. Obermagau carvings.
The hotel is an older facility that is very charming. Though is older it is very clean. It has a unique layout with many balconies and areas to escape to. There is a foosball and ping pong in the basement that the young people enjoyed. The staff is incredibly friendly and it appears to be a family run facility. We had no issues with English there either. Lastly, we ate at their restaurant each night as they have a good menu and they were able to specially prepare food for me as I have a gluten allergy which was a great way to enjoy their delicious Wienerschnitzel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great place!

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, quiet, good for kids!
Cons: Not from my experience!
Location: Lake close by, boat ride on lake, hiking, lots of outdoor activities!
The location was wonderful! Staff very friendly and accommodating! Spoke great English and were very helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, Oklahoma

The place to stay in Tirol!!!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff and excellent restaurant in a beautiful setting. Perfect!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Great friendly guest house

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Had a great one night stay. Friendly staff, great atmosphere ..bedrooms comfortable & terraces to sit & admire the scenery. Relaxing stay . We ate in the restaurant & we could not fault the quality, service & cleanliness . They capture the traditional nature of Austria & they have good knowledge of the area. Wifi is good in the lounge areas & outside . After a excellent evening meal we sat outside watching the world go by, our needs where attended to blanket to wrap around lighted candles, waiter service ect..breakfast was plentiful with good choices of cereals/ breads ect. Overall we had a fantastic time & would love to stay longer next time we visited Austria this hotel get top marks from us, we would not hesitate to return..keep up the good work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Washington, DC

Charming Austrian Getaway

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The charming look and feel of it, as well as the complimentary breakfast buffet.
Location: Views of the Alps in all directions. A quick drive to Neuschwanstein Castle and the Romantic Road.
Hotel Maximilian is a great hotel just across the German border in Austria. It's a perfect launching spot for the Romantic Road in Germany, or a tour of the Alps. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, although they are very busy with multiple tasks so not always readily available. The complimentary breakfast buffet is outstanding, and rooms are very spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Toronto

Great hotel in serene scenery

Posted May 28, 2014
The owner of the place is lady of great personality and character. Her staff is friendly and very helpful. Hotel is VERY child friendly which helped my wife and I a lot. Room was comfortable but because iy was in top floor under roof i could not stand up in the shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Consecon, Ontario, Canada

A remote little gem

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: It's warm friendly atmosphere and it's location, surrounded by some wonderful mountains.
Location: This is a good place for people to stay that like hiking as there are lots of trails and a ruin to be explored at the top of a mountain.
We were only staying one night in this area and I am pleased we chose this lovely family run hotel. We received a very warm friendly greeting and the whole place had a nice atmosphere about it. We ate in the restaurant for both dinner and also breakfast (which was included in the price). The food was really good and there was a great selection.