Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to German border

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Very helpful staff, meals excellent in restaurant, location to attractions.
Cons: Loved the whole place.
Location: Location close to German border so was able to do attractions in both Germany and Austria.
The staff very absolutely wonderful, very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Great location for doing activities in Germany and Austria.
3 out of 5
by Michael from Houston Texas

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed because everything else was booked. Overall a good experience if your just looking for a good night sleep and breakfast to send you on your way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Must Stay!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Nicest hotel staff ever! Hotel restaurant was decent Beds were comfortable except for the pillows, which were a little flat. Overall, a hotel that you won't regret staying in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Traditional Austrian hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Relaxed, unconventional layout.
Cons: 2 complaints about Wi-Fi: 1) It was a chargeable extra in the room 2) I couldn't get a signal in my room! Fortunately they agreed to waive the charge.
Location: Schloss Neuschwanstein is close by. 15-20 mins drive.
We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Maximilian. Friendly staff, hearty Austrian food. The night we were there, a big traditional folkie band played in the courtyard. A bit cheesey, but that's exactly why we enjoyed it! The following morning, when we arrived at breakfast, the staff had laid on a special birthday table with decorations and a candle. A nice touch
4 out of 5
by Beverly from Leeds

Quiet picturesque area

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed one night. We were welcomed warmly. Food in the evening was very good and service was excellent. Lovely breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Raffi

Fantastic place in northern Tirol.

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great place with great service. A must stay if you are hoping around the northern region or Tirol or seeing the castles and fortress of Ehrenburg. The only minus was that you had to pay extra to have wifi in your room. The restaurant was fantastic and the hotel is definitely family run. Kids areas and adult areas as well for convenience. I would stay here again anytime.
5 out of 5
by Josh from Denver, CO

Great little place to stay and relax

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Great little hotel with amazing views. Clean, friendly, breakfast was included, charming. I can't we found this gem of a hotel. Will definitely be back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was very knowledgeable about local attractions and was great about giving advice.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Fredericksburg

loved it!

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel provided superior service in every aspect,very friendly helpful staff,delicious breakfast,quiet comfortable rooms,highly recommend it to anybody,great value for the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin, USA

Cozy, charming and very Friendly Staff

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The staff was the best we had on our trip out of 8 hotels as well as their restaurant.
Cons: The finishing could be updated, but the price and service level can't be beat.
Location: Lots of outdoor adventure, hiking, Ehrenberg Ruins, Highline 179, Neuschwanstein and Hofburg Palaces. Linderhof Palace. Obermagau carvings.
The hotel is an older facility that is very charming. Though is older it is very clean. It has a unique layout with many balconies and areas to escape to. There is a foosball and ping pong in the basement that the young people enjoyed. The staff is incredibly friendly and it appears to be a family run facility. We had no issues with English there either. Lastly, we ate at their restaurant each night as they have a good menu and they were able to specially prepare food for me as I have a gluten allergy which was a great way to enjoy their delicious Wienerschnitzel.