Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riyadh/Fort Collins

Charming B&B in Picturesque Fjord Valley

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Our cozy room was decorated with authentic Norwegian antiques. The bed was comfortable and the atmosphere was quiet. The setting couldn't have been more lovely, nestled in the Eidfjord Valley. The food was delicious (both dinner and breakfast), cooked by an attentive chef on site. The staff were helpful and friendly. We couldn't have been more at home. The one drawback was a shared bathroom, but it was kept clean and it was very handy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Steen, Hotel Management
Hello John Thank you for your feedback on your visit here at Eidfjord Gjestgiveri, which I hope future guests will benefit from. Regards Steen Giphardt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc, canada

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We were hesitant about shared WC but it was fine. We did not get to experience the pancakes as our prepaid breakfast either did not include them or there was language barrier. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the uniquiness of the building and room. Bed was a bit small for a double but manageable. Enjoyed having a desk for computer work.
2 out of 5
by Chaim

Make sure what you order

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
This beautiful hotel is located in a most beautiful surrounding. However, we did notice the order called it a cabin that was outside the hotel. The cabin was clean and fine. Bathrooms were located outside but were also clean and kept privacy. They did not have separate bathrooms for woman. When we came in they asked for more money for sheets and blanket covers. However after insisting this was a hotel order that said nothing about additional costs we were not billed for them. We had to put the sheets and covers on the beds our self
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky old school hotel that was just the ticket!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Not to everyone's taste I'm sure but after a long day driving through the fjords from Sweden this little gem was just what we needed. You can choose from little cabins in the front or rooms in the main building with a common unisex bathroom. We stayed in the main building and it was tidy and quiet. Great crepe-forward food for dinner and breakfast. Not a four-star hotel for sure but a great place to recharge and relax and the staff was super friendly and helpful. One if the highlights of our trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Steen, Hotel Management
Hi Thank you for reviewing your feedback, making it possible for other guests to know what they are booking here at Eidfjord Guest House that enjoys a quiet place in the late hours You are quite right in your description, we are a simple place in a great nature, at the foot of the Naturesevat and starting point for many well-known tours The house is of Victorian style from 1894 and is furnished from that time, so do not expect a party place, with flashing lights Most of our guests enjoy a dinner with a beer or glass of wine and rest out before next day's nature experiences
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel gyest house. Cute room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Eidfjord

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
We stopped at this great place during our 2 days trip from Bergen. It was a great place for overnight. I just loved the house with a rich history. We slept in a little cottage outside the main building. They cook a great food and are famous for their panecakes. The owner and his wife Zara are extremely friendly and a great company. They took us for a lovely trip to the falls. We travelled by bus with a little kid. And by the end of september there are no tour to the falls so they offered us a tour with them and even drove us to Eidfjord for a ferry the next day. And they done it all for free just for us! Amazing. Thank you very much again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed one night. Walls are thin if you stay in the house, but it was fine for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Wonderful, quaint atmosphere

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Great ambience, friendly staff, quiet surroundings, awesome scenery and easy access all made our stay at Eidfjord Gjestgiveri very pleasant. We definitely would stay again.
1 out of 5
by Doug from Tahoe. City Ca.

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
We waited 2 hours and no receptionist showed up. We had to find a different hotel at 7pm. Not Happy
4 out of 5
by Jin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels