Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great value with staff that truly cares

Posted May 3, 2018
I stayed here for 2 nights on my way to Jerusalem. Eilat is not a cheap town as accommodations can be expensive but the dorms are good value for what you get. The hostel is nicer than appears in the pictures with a garden area to hang out / socialize, good Wifi inside, clean shared bathroom and rooms with comfy beds and power outlets by the bed and a good breakfast. It is well located and within walking distance to the airport, central train station and various restaurants / markets. A dishonest taxi driver took off with my main luggage still in the trunk which is every traveller's nightmare and the staff Ruth and Tommy were very kind and empathetic of my situation. They took the time to help me call all the taxi companies around town and helped me deal with it as best they could. I would highly recommend this hostel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2018 by Ruth, Hotel Management
Oh dear I have been working hear for 23 years, this is the first time I heard such a sad thing. Normally if anyone forgets something in the cab the driver will do all he can to find the person that forgot his belonging. My hard went out for you, how could I not try to help? and I am shore Tommy felt the same! The only regret I have that you spent all your vacationing time trying to find your bag and only you did not find your bag but you also did not enjoy our beautiful town. I hope you will return one day and with better circumstances . Thank you for your recommendation and nice worm words, Wishing you the best, Ruth
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2018 on Hotels
Breakfast was very good: salad, bread, jam and chokolate paste, milk, soft cheese, olives. It is very good location, 10 min walk to the Central bus station and very close to the local airport. Supermarket is 10 min by foot. But I didn’ like the shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by Ruth, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and recommendations. We are glade that you had a good time in our Hostel. We are renovating all the time. We hope next time you visit you will have better shower. Best regards, Ruth
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely patio, dreary single room

Posted Jan 27, 2018
Pros: Location was good. Staff was nice and responsive. The patio and its view were lovely.
Cons: Update the single room, remove the tv, put in a bedside light. Maybe have an area on the beautiful patio designated for nonsmokers.
Location: Close to bus station, restaurants, mega-shopping, in-town beaches.
Checkin was friendly, quick and helpful. My room was tiny and depressingly dreary, but the bathroom was updated, bright and nice. I would happily have traded the tv for a bedside light. Location is a short walk from the bus station, and the downtown area was minutes away by foot. The continental breakfast was fine, and the instant coffee was actually ok. There is a beautiful patio out front, replate with couches, pinic tables, trees and a view across to the Jordanian mountains. As a nonsmoker, however, it was hard to find a place to sit that wasn’t smoke-filled.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Ruth, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous. I am glade that you enjoyed so many things in our Hostel. I wish you approached the front desk for the small things you needed, we could have supplied it easily. It feel add that people do not have the confidence to ask for a lamp or to provide you with an non smoking area really... you wrote yourself how nice the staff and quick to help.. need I say more? I hope you will give us a second chance to fulfil all your needs. Best regards, Ruth
4 out of 5
by Bendeguz

Great time at Arava

Posted Jan 7, 2018 on Hotels
Amazingly helpful and very friendly staff. Very flexible with booking and staying. Great atmosphere at the hostel, nice garden and good location. Rich breakfast at the morning and 24/7 reception. Internet could be faster in the dormitory rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Ruth, Hotel Management
Thank you dear for your recommendation and review. We are happy that you had a good time and that you received nice treatment from the staff. about the Wi-Fi we are glad to tell you that we changed all our system and now there is strong Wi-Fi all over We wish to see you again. Ruth
4 out of 5
by Juhan

A friendly, simple hostel.

Posted Jan 4, 2018 on Hotels
A friendly, simple hostel with friendly staff and beautiful location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Ruth, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. It is nice to know that you were treated nicely by our staff. and that you liked our Hostel. Will be happy to see you again. Best regards, Ruth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto ontario

Amazing staff

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The hostel is in a good location and the staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were basic and the breakfast was limited in choice. However, it was pretty low price so all in all good value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Ruth, Hotel Management
Thank you Hannah for your nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself in our Hostel and that you liked our staff we invite you again any time you wish. All the best, Ruth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Amazing garden to sit in. Decent showers

Posted Nov 25, 2017 on Ebookers
Free breakfast. Clean. 20 shekel they wash your clothes. Ruth goes over and above for people, very genuine and caring. Friendly staff. Great garden. Beers/drinks for sale. 10 mins walk to beach , town, buses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Ruth, Hotel Management
Marie Dear Thank you for your nice recommendation and very worm words. We are very happy you enjoyed yourself in our Hostel. We are waiting you on your next visit. Happy Holidays, Ruth
5 out of 5
by Ionut

Nice

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hostel is in a near-central area, with rather easy access to a supermarket. The beach is a 15-minute walk away. The staff is generally friendly. Many special thanks to Ruth, who was very very nice.
4 out of 5
by Emily

Quiet, clean, just right for the price

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hostel was clean and easy to find, though not in the busy parts of town (which was nice and quiet actually). The staff were friendly and offered good recommendations, and the room was small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was available for small extra charge, and was pretty simple but enough to fill us up for the day (though would be nice if it was available earlier than 8 am). The outdoor space is really nice here, and there is a good sized communal kitchen. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.
5 out of 5
by Rachel

We enjoyed this place!

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
Arava Hostel is a family-owned establishment, which demonstrates the value of years of experience and stable, happy staff. A special tribute to Tommy, Aaron and Akim, who keep the whole property immaculately clean, inside and out. It is in a great central location. -An easy walk to good local shops and Post Office, and pretty close to the tourist area and beach. We would love to come back.