Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A from Canada

Way overpriced

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jim from New York City

Wonderful spa!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: A pleasant desert oasis, modern well-appointed rooms, helpful staff.
Cons: Wi-fi service needs to be stronger; bus service to highway junction would be nice.
Location: Dead Sea, Masada, Nature preserve!
Beautiful location, great laid-back atmosphere, excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jim from New York City

Wonderful spa!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: A pleasant desert oasis, modern well-appointed rooms, helpful staff.
Cons: Wi-fi service needs to be stronger; bus service to highway junction would be nice.
Location: Dead Sea, Masada, Nature preserve!
Beautiful location, great laid-back atmosphere, excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marion from Tarrytown, NY

Best hotel in the area.

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: The fact that the hotel is located on a kibbutz, but upscale for guests, was a real plus. They offered alot of activities for guests, including tours
Cons: The spa had a free jazz concert, but it didn't begin until much later than scheduled.
Location: Seeing Qumrun was our goal.
We liked our room with its own patio. The food was good and plentiful. The pool was beautiful and the spa very clean and spacious. The location, nearest hotel to Qumrum, was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kibbutz experience

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: The Spa was exceptional. Turquish spa!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great desert location, nice view on the Dead Sea.
A unique Kibbutz experience, worthy. Turquish bath experience was ounce in a life time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Desert magic.

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Friendly, quiet,beautiful setting and excursions, relaxed atmosphere, good facilities.
Cons: prices in restaurant; it would be nice to have a well-stocked book shelf of information about the area, its geology and wildlife.
Location: Magical desert oasis
It was entirely delightful. The staff were friendly and always helpful. The bar food was good and reasonably priced but the restaurant food seemed overpriced, though good. The swimming pool was rather noisy at times but not too bad, though the service there was not always available. The beautiful setting and tranquil location added a lot to the experience. Transport and excursions were very good. We enjoyed the ibex grazing on the lawns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adina from new york, ny

Great desert spa and location. Unique!

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Wonderful one night stay at the Ein Gedi hotel and spa. Wished we could have stayed longer. Amazing location above the Dead Sea. Our room had views of the barren desert and large horned mountain goats walking by. Great terrace restaurant (much more reasonable than the buffet dining room) and a great breakfast included with the room. Also included is entrance to the Dead Sea facility reachable by shuttle or short drive. The hotel also includes a spa on site with a Dead Sea water pool to float in. We will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great place, with one caveat...

Posted Jun 3, 2013
There is so much to recommend the Ein Gedi Hotel that it makes the sometimes extremely poor service almost comical. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The views and grounds and environs are breathtaking. The food is outstanding in every way--fresh, imaginative, and plentiful. Many of the staff members are friendly enough--we had a charming waiter in the bar-- but be forewarned: when you ask a question at the desk, not one iota of extra information will be offered. So, for example, if you ask whether there is self service laundry, and you are told yes, you will have to ask where it is. Then you will have to come back to the desk to ask about the sign on the washer warning you to check the waiting list (there wasn't one) and then come back again once you realize you can't figure out where to put money in, because you have to buy a special token AT THE DESK. If you buy the token and walk away (which you don't because you are finally catching on to how things roll here) you will have to come back again to get a little per measured packet of soap. If this was an isolated story, you could call me a fuss budget, but pretty much every time we needed information no one was willing or able to anticipate what a visitor might not know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanne from Lawrence, NY, USA

Great hotel in the desert!

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Pros: The friendly relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: The flies, but that could be anywhere!
Location: Right in the middle of the Negev and close to Masada.
This is our second stay at Kibbutz Ein Gedi Hotel and we are looking forward to a return trip next year.From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly and informed of all of the amenities of the hotel. This is the place we choose to be when we are in the desert. Last year we were guests with our married daughter and her family of three children and this year my husband and i are vacationing in Israel alone. The hotel is close to Masada and the nature preserve. It has a wonderful spa close by included as part of being a guest at the hotel. It has wonderful grounds to walk around, the pool is large, overlooking the dead sea on one side and the mountains on the other and the food is fabulous. If you are looking for a comfortable plain and simple place, this is it! You will love the friendly atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much more relaxed than the big hotels in Ein Bokek

Posted Apr 23, 2012
Location: About 1 1/2 hours from Jerusalem by bus (which stops outside the reception)
Lovely relaxed atmosphere and beautiful views of the desert from amongst the botanical gardens. Excellent buffet food - this is a kibbutz, not a 5-star restaurant, but there is lots of choice and the salads in particular are great. We stayed in one of the pricier rooms which was spacious and had a nice bathroom (not sure if the cheaper rooms are, as others have said, a bit more run-down). Useful to have free use of the 'private' beach and spa and the nature reserve is stunning and has great walking for all abilities (about 25 minute walk/5 minute drive away). There is a big pool too (although we only got to it as lots of the kibbutz kids finished school).