Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Scot

What a great place to take your wife!

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
This is an amazing place to stay. The view out our window of the mountains was just amazing. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were very good. This is a hotel that you will remember staying for a long time just because it is so different. We loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
Dear Scot, we thank you for your stay with us and your great comment on Expedia.com. It was a pleasure to have you and your wife as our guests. We would be very happy to welcome you again soon. Very kind regards, Daniela Darr Customer Relation Manager
5 out of 5
by Bernice

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms have no A/C but it is a castle
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017
Dear Bernice, thank you for your stay with us and your feedback. Indeed, we do not have air conditioner in our rooms. Due to monument protection it is difficult to upgrade a system in our building. However, we do have it on our to do list. Thanks again and all the best. We look forward to welcome you again soon at Wartburg castle. Kind regards, Daniela Darr
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
The location was just what we wanted to spend time in the castle. The breakfasts were very good.
5 out of 5
by Ralph from Ehingen (Donau)

romantic first class

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
This is one of the most important and historic places on our planet. Martin Luther with his reformation Ended the middle age and a new chapter for all of us began.(this is not a religious statement!) The wartburg and the nature are a wonderful ensemble. If you are traveling in.europe it's a must. Do not miss to visit The nearby wonderful city of Weimar
5 out of 5
by Katherine from Fort Lauderdale, FL

A bit pricey but worth every penny!

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
We rented a car to drive to Eisenach (city at the foot of Wartburg Castle) and thank goodness we had navigation! The town of Eisenach is really cute, but the streets are small and winding and a little confusing for an American new to the area. After getting to the hotel and parking our car in the beautiful stone courtyard we were graciously greeted by the front desk agent who explained the surrounding area and hotel's accommodations. The location of the hotel is just spectacular--on top of the hill connected to the Wartburg Castle surrounded for the most part by the Thuringian Forest. Our room had a large traditional glass window that could be opened to view the surrounding forest and breath in the air uninterrupted by any type of screen or barrier. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was roomy compared to other European hotels. Dinner at the on-site restaurant was amazing food with amazing views. It was romantic--just as the name suggests. Sadly our stay was only one night but it was worth every penny!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Atmospheric, Interesting

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The dining room had great food and an outstanding ambience for supper. Very decent breakfast included.
Cons: Wifi bandwidth is very challenging for all but the most simple use. Bathroom shower and main area carpeting a bit tired.
Location: Marburg is 1/2 hour away and totally cool old city centre with walk up to castle.
Interesting old burg, no elevators though so ration your luggage. Room decent, but overall experience a couple of notches lower than, say, compared to Hotel Auf der Wartburg.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some TLC and air conditioning

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
For the price charged, the hotel falls short of a 5* service. There are no elevators and no one to carry luggage up when we arrived. The room has fabulous views, but no air conditioning, so it was boiling and we could not sleep well. The hotel has been refurbished but the walls are quite marked/scuffed or dirty, as was the bathroom grouting, with mould. The service in the restaurant was slow, but elsewhere it was efficient. A lot of staff don't speak English and there is only 1 English TV channel, CNN. It doesn't really cater well to foreign tourists. Overall, it's too expensive for the level of service and quality of the property.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, but pricey

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels
Wi-Fi was unreliably poor. It is a beautiful area but with no elevators the hotel is really lacking. Also, there is no air conditioning and it was very warm, even in early April.
5 out of 5
by Lantz from USA

Wartburg

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels
Outstanding in every way. Will visit again.
5 out of 5
by ESCAdventure

Royal Comfort

Posted Jan 24, 2013 on Hotels
Great views from the hilltop overlooking Eisenach. Staff were all very friendly and concerned to care for our every whim. Rasteraunt offered excellent food.