Ratings based on 804 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Excellent hotel; the staff were very helpful and the standard was reflective of its' 5*.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Best Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
I'm a lover of swank boutique hotels and this was an incredible find. Amazing ambience, fabulous rooms and a staff that was at the ready to take care of us at every turn. Incredibly gracious team. They upgraded is to a room overlooking the top floor at la Pedrera. One of the reasons I booked this hotel was for the spectacular restaurant and garden but unfortunately we weren't able to get a table on either of our nights there. I loved the cool fingerprint technology that let's you open the room door in lieu of a key but it worked 20% of the time. I think it's a super cool idea so hope they can work out the kinks. Didn't have the breakfast bc it was too pricy but the hotel itself made up for that. Amazing. Gracias ALMA!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Will return!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Liked everything...incredible staff who escorted us to or room and upon departure to our taxi, champagne bottle waiting in room and free mini bar.
Cons: Nothing.... we have no complaints. All was perfect.
Location: One block from Passeio de Gracia surrounded by lots of great restaurants and nice shops. A very walkable area.
Although location, location (1 block from Passeio de Gracia) is everything, other things count too. Very helpful and pleasant staff, round the clock food service, inner garden where tea served in early morning and drinks/appetizers served late into the night make this to me an exceptional hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Location in the Centre

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Coffee machine in the room I guess but the bar is free!
Location: Walkable to prime sites and hop on hop off buses to explore arty Barcelona.
The hotel is excellent. We ordered water in the restaurant which was completely forgotten. Having said that, this is only hotel that has a free minibar with ample soft drinks and water. Very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The location was amazing. Me and my wife love this hotel and would recommend it. The Spa was excellent as well. The water was too cold when we visited. Thank you Alma.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but not 5 star.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel Alma is a lovely boutique hotel and is located in a very convenient area to shops and attractions. The staff is very friendly and courteous. However, upon our arrival, we had to wait for our room for 2 and half hours. When I questioned the delay after the first 2 hours, I was told I simply had to continue to wait and was given no time frame as to when our room would be ready. When I complained about the fact that my 75 year-old mother was falling asleep on their couches, a room was quickly found for us. It shouldn't take me expressing my annoyance to facilitate finding a room. The other thing that turned me off to the hotel is the room itself. It is very bare-boned and not particularly inviting. The bathroom seat had scotch tape on it and there was no iron in the room. When we requested an iron we were given one that must have been 20 years old and had exposed wires. I will definitely commend the hotel on the beautiful garden outside and their food is outstanding. I would highly recommend dining for dinner, it was a very pleasant experience. But for the terrible check-in experience and bare-boned room, I would have given the hotel 4.5 stars. Just be wary this is not really a 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Best location to approach some "must-go" places

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: First experience to use fingerprint to unlock the room door, which was very convenient.
Cons: Bell captation was sometime not available. When we checked in, no one was at the entrance so we were a little bit embarrassed. Not enough staff.
Location: Access to the subway station is the key to make your sightseeing easier. This hotel locates close to the junction station of two subway lines.
The location of the hotel is supposed to be one of the best for tourists because you can walk to some famous world heritages such as Casa Mila (2min), Casa Batllo (5min), and Sagrada Familia (15min). The subway station is also very close (5min). The atmosphere of hotel interior is modern, chic, and beautiful due to its simplicity. The breakfast was speedy, kind, and tasty. You can enjoy your breakfast, dinner, evening drinking at its courtyard with open air which is congenial.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to everything!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Very nice hotel, with excellent service and close to restaurants, shopping, tourist attractions. The hotel staff was outstanding. They accommodated an early arrival- upgraded us when we had to wait to get in and even provided us with a surprise bottle of Cava. They were gracious at our every request--including getting us espresso early one morning before bar was open so we could have some caffeine before our taxi arrived to get us to the airport for an early flight. We will definitely come back to Alma on our next visit to Barcelona - we highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very luxe design hotel, perfect location

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Peefect in every way- we stayed in the Alma Suite which I highly recommend. Massive suite with a large terrace including a peek of Sagrada Familia. Preferred this more upscale area over the crowds of Ramblas. The hotel is beautiful. Just do it, you won't be disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Perfection in Barcelona

Posted Jul 3, 2017
From the first greeting by the staff to the checkout at the end, our stay was perfect. The hotel is very chic and a quiet respite in a busy city. The very best part of our stay were the great beds, feather duvets and sumptuous pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great experience!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Morning coffee offered
Was propitiously impressed. Staff was attentive and ALWAYS helpful.