Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OK

Barcelona September 2017

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Great rooftop bar and restaurant. Nice room. Good location
Location: Easy walking distance of gothic quarter and lots of retaurants
We stayed at the Claris at the end of a week-long Mediterranean cruise. We arrived fairly early in the morning but were able to get into our room a couple of hours early. The hotel staff were very helpful and gave good advice. Nice room although the electric blinds took a bit of getting used to. Hotel is conveniently situated being a 4-5 blocks from central Barcelona which is very walkable. The only issue we had was on our last night when we found that the rooftop restaurant was booked for a private party (not sure the hotel mentioned this, but if they did we missed it). Nevertheless the lady on the front desk was extremely helpful and found a very nice Tapas restaurant for us and made the reservations - we still had a great evening (good example of "it is not so much if things go wrong but how you fix them". In this case very well). When we were leaving the hotel allowed us to use their shuttle bus to the airport which worked very well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Surprisingly noisy

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Good location. Staff was helpful and communicated well.
Cons: Find a way to sound proof the rooms so people can sleep. Police parties at the roof-top bar. Pay more attention to maintenance.
Location: Central location with attractions in walking distance.
This hotel has a central atrium that acts as a sound conduit for everything happening on every floor. The night we stayed, someone decided to have an all-night party at the roof-top bar and kept everyone in the hotel awake all night. Even someone talking in the hall or rolling a bag down the hall was amazingly loud inside our room. There were also a couple of maintenance issues such as a toilet that kept dripping and a shower door that made a loud pop every time you opened it. The staff did try to compensate us with a free breakfast which was delicious but if you can't get some sleep in a hotel, then it's not much use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Fantastic Hotel in Barcelona

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, food and facilities
Cons: Pillows, not a fan of the long or square ones. give me proper oblong pillows any day.
Location: In Eixample your at the very heart of the shopping and bars and restaurants,
We had a great time at The Claris, the staff were very helpful, the room was quiet and clean and the food and drinks were of the highest order.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Remei Gómez, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is rewarding to read your positive review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location in the cultural heart of Barcelona,very near to Passeig de Gracia and Plaza Catalunya, which is ideal for both sightseeing and shopping. We are pleased that you received a friendly and professional service. We are very happy to hear your positive comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of your room as well as the excellent quality of our restaurant and bar. All of the team really hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit. Kindest regards, Remei Gómez, General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Aug 26, 2017
A unique hotel with a museum on the first floor, rooms decorated with artifacts. The staff are very welcoming with excellent customer service. I recommend this hotel highly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Remei Gómez, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Claris Hotel, We are grateful for your positive account of your experience at our five star luxury hotel. Thank you for complimenting the uniqueness of our hotel with its treasured collection of Pre Columbian art, showcased at the first-floor museum. We are glad the room decoration, featuring one-of-a-kind pieces to create interiors defined by luxury and comfort, was to your taste. Our team will be very happy to hear you felt well taken care of during your stay. Your recommendation is well received. I look forward to seeing you in the future. With very best wishes, Remei Gómez, General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

First holiday away without the kids

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Fab reception, rooms, free visit to Egyptian museum over the road, roof terrace/cocktail bar, pool and spa.
Location: Restaurants, bars and museum over the road. Spa, Sagrada Familia, Gothic Quarter, Las Ramblas. Go to the fish market, incredible
Exceptional hotel and staff amazing. Right in the thick of it and just a short walk or taxi ride from the Gothic quarter and all the action. Great roof terrace and 7th floor pool, amazing spa, can't recommend this hotel enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Remei Gómez, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Craig, Thank you for your review of your stay at Claris Hotel, It was a pleasure to receive your highly rated review of your experience at our 5* Grand Luxe Hotel. We appreciate your positive remarks about the room quality, roof terrace, pool and spa. It's kind of you to mention the complimentary access to the Egyptian Museum. Thank you for complimenting our prime location just moments from Passeig de Gracia in the midst of Barcelona's most iconic tourist attractions such as Casa Batlló by Antoni Gaudí. Our team will be happy to hear that you felt so well taken care of during your stay. Your recommendation is greatly valued. We really do look forward to seeing you in the future. With kind regards, Remei Gómez, General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Perfectly situated for all the attractions

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Really lovely hotel bang in the middle of Barcelona. Lovely friendly staff. Would definitely go back there. Could've done with a bigger waste paper bin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Remei Gómez, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gill, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and leaving a positive rating about your recent stay at Claris Hotel, Barcelona. We are glad to hear you found the rooms clean and comfortable. It is also nice to know the service you received from our team met your expectations. We will surely pass on the compliment to the team with thanks. We are indeed lucky to be occupying this historical building in the center of Barcelona. We're glad you got the most out of our location in the iconic Eixample neighbourhood near Gaudi's Casa Batlló. You comment about the size of the waste paper bin is noted and we'll inform the concerned team for review. We look forward to the pleasure of seeing you very soon! My best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location but in a quiet spot

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Great welcome. Very helpful staff. Good location for food out and about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Remei Gómez, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Richie, Many thanks for your very kind review concerning your experience at Claris Hotel hotel in Barcelona. All of the team appreciates your compliment on the service provided. Your satisfaction is our best reward. Thanks for pointing out the area's quietness. In fact, we boast a prime position in the heart of Barcelona’s shopping, cultural and tourist district, only steps away from the Passeig de Gràcia and just 10 minutes from Avenida Diagonal. We would be happy to welcome you again. Kindest regards, Remei Gómez, General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

great location and excellent staff

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: location, contemporary style and excellent service
Cons: the lifts are a bit noisy during the night gym is a bit small and limited showering/changing facilities by gym/roof top pool
Location: excellent - walking distance to main sights
we stayed in a suite - great design and comfortable fantastic location - easy to walk around and get taxis lovely roof top pool and bar food in the roof top restaurant was lovely and excellent service staff gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and were really helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Remei Gómez, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Natalie, Please accept our gratitude for your comments, relative to your stay at Claris Hotel. Thank you for choosing our 5* Grand Luxe Hotel & Spa, within the centre of Barcelona’s shopping, cultural and tourist district. It is a sheer delight to read of your overall satisfaction for your Suite, and it is great to see that you had taken full advantage of our outdoor amenities. Our informative team are always willing to provide an excellent service for all our guests. Please note that our gym consists of a treadmill, weightlifting machine and sauna. We are sorry to read that our facilities did not quite meet your expectations. We sincerely apologise for any noise disturbances you may have encountered, concerning the lift, at night. If mentioned at Reception, we will endeavour to accommodate our guests by finding an alternative and quieter room, in order to make your stay a more comfortable one. I very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, again! Many thanks,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very convenient... nice location.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
very close to the central commercial area n ramblas Street... the spa was excellent. would recommend that too everyone. the free Internet service n wireless wifi to use all over the city was s a wonderful idea.. thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Remei Gómez, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review of the Claris Hotel. We are happy you enjoyed our location in central Barcelona, minutes from the Passeig de Gràcia. Our fantastic Mayan Secret spa is just part of the 5* atmosphere we hope to provide our guests. It is great to hear you made use of your room's Portier Smartphone, which offers unlimited calling and 4G data, as well as hotspot connection to use throughout the city. The team looks forward to welcoming you again in the future. My best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from morgantown WV

Close to shopping and Metro

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Two short minute walk to Metro Stations. Great room with a second floor/ loft. Free android phone to use with unlimited call to US and data.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Clément Fabiani, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at the Claris Hotel & Spa 5*GL . We are thrilled that you have enjoyed our central location and our complimentary Smartphone "Portier". Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, Clément Fabiani Director of Rooms