Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

this terrible place

Posted Jul 14, 2017
this place is share the bathroom and small room with shower next to your bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by lorenzo lópez, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Philip, Thanks for sharing your review about Hostal Girona. I am sad to know you do not have a good stay with us. We have rooms with bathrooms and others with only shower. You reserved a room with only shower, I do not undresntand your compalints.You had to inform to the staff and we would have tried to solve this problem during you stay. It was a pity that we could not solve your problem. Best Regards, Lorenzo López
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, room, location.
Location: Near center without being in the center.
Terrific location, quiet block but near restaurants, metro, grocery. Very nice room, great size, very clean. Only thing was it was right off the reception so I could hear what was going on in the reception area. Hostel is on 2nd floor, but has a small elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from union, nj

Nice close to stuff

Posted Jul 4, 2017
I was a good experience. I had no problems. The room was clean. They had breakfast if you want to eat there or not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

nice hotel in nice area

Posted May 15, 2017
Location: please go to alfonso restaurant! we went there almost every day!
I booked two nights instead of three, and booking an additional night was easy and not a problem. The first night we were in a different room as booked, with a private bathroom. Second and third nights we were switched to a larger room, but shared bathroom, which is what we paid for. The rooms were clean, and mostly comfortable. The rooms are good for sleeping in, if you plan on spending most time outside. The balcony's were nice. The shared bathrooms seemed newly renovated and modern. The hotel overall was not modern, but it gives a nice feel to old Spain. The elevator was fun too, old fashioned. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The only complaint we had was that the second floor and next door was a college, so later into the morning, the courtyard was full of chatty students. So if you sleep with the balcony windows open, you may be bothered. The hotel was in a nice neighborhood, walking distance from all our favorite restaurants and the metro. Only a short metro trip to the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

not too far off center

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Locations
Cons: at list put iron to the room, and mattress must be hotel style
Location: Not to far off Catalonia plaza
Very small room, not equipped with iron and iron desk, furniture to old and not enough for couple.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Lorenzo López, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Firstly, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We must say, with more than 1000 reviews (in total in all the platforms where we are online) that we never got this perception from any of our guests before. The average goes more towards 5 than 2/5. We take good note of your comments and we can assure you that we are working on them to show you that Hostal Girona is the right place to stay for your next stay in Barcelona ;) Please get in touch with us directly for your next visit so we can show you the improvements we have done in all our rooms and common areas. I stay at your entire disposal, Kind regards, Alexis Barceló
5 out of 5
by Garry

Great little Hostal

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great room with verandah. Very helpful and informative staff. Walking distance to main attractions- Ramblas, Picasso Museo, La Sagrada Familia. Great restaurants nearby - just ask at reception. We have already booked on for our return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Lorenzo Lopez, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Garry, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. We are glad to know you had a good stay with us and like our staff and location. These comments give us strength to continue improving. We forward to welcome you back again in the future. Best regards, Lorenzo López
5 out of 5
by ariel

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Lorenzo Lopez, Hotel Management
Estimado Sr. Ariel, Muchas gracias por compartir su valoración sobre Hostal girona Barcelona. Estamos contento que su estancia haya sido muy buena. Esperamos verle con nosotros de nuevo en un futuro próximo. Muchas gracias, Lorenzo López
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location, and BED!

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: 1) Location - 2 min. walk to nearby subway station, 10 min. walk to Casa Batllo, 8 min. walk to Pl. Catalunya, 18 min. walk to La Sagrada Familia. 2) Staff - They speak English and are very friendly and helpful. 3) Bed - VERY COMFORTABLE. It is almost like TempurPedic-type bed. Cons: 1) Noise outside - You'll hear a lot of them. It did not bother me much, but if you are a light sleeper, you may want to bring ear plugs. 2) It is minor, but we had a hard time opening and locking the door. I hope that, in the future, they would update the lock mechanism on the door. We enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Lorenzo Lopez, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for taking some of your valued time to review the Hostal girona Barcelona. We feel very proud because this kind of reviews help to improve. We will continue working to improve the negative point of our Hostal. We look to welcoming again in the future. Best regards, Lorenzo López
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
The location is between a few stops. Whichever way you have to walk, but at a reasonable distance. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the common area has free drinks amd fresh fruits. The only down side is that the walls are not sound proof, can be quite noisy when people go in and out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Lorenzo Lopez, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay in Hostal Girona. We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations with your stay and that's a very important factor. We pay a special attention to the details and therefore we are very grateful for your rating. We take this opportunity to thank you again for your stay and hope to see you soon with us for your next visit to our city. Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Traditional hostal in a great location

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The hostal is located very conveniently near Pl. Catalunya making it very easy to get to the various sites. Staff were polite and were able to accommodate our very late check in. Our room was quite plain (not one in the photos) and dark (even in the day you needed to turn on the light) but had everything you needed and the bed was comfortable. Shower pressure was good but noisy, we avoided having showers late at night for fear of waking the neighbours. Overall I would recommend this place if you are used to hostel accommodation and want somewhere comfortable and well-located at a reasonable price. If you prefer to spend more time in your accommodation then I would ask to upgrade your room or this may not be the right place for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Lorenzo López, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs: Diane, Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Hostal Girona Barcelona. I am happy to know you had a good stay with us and you liked our location and staff. It is true that we have interior rooms and they are a little bit dark because the overlook to an interior inner, but as you told in the review we have superior rooms with balcony to the street or terrace to the yard, these rooms are lighter and bigger, but the price is higher. Hostal Girona is located in a modernist building of 19th century and this kind of construction have rooms to the street and other to a interior inner. Thanks a lot for your review. Kind Regards, Lorenzo López