Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Evgeny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located apartment.

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
The apartment was very small but well located. Unfortunately the TV did not work and there was a charge for the wifi and booking in after 20.00.
1 out of 5
by Jody from Amsterdam

Huge Hassle

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
When I booked this hotel, I received an e-mail advising that I need to call when I arrive at 9:00 otherwise no one will be at the hotel to let me in. I responded by asking them if they could just meet me there at 10:30 but was told that it was essential that I actually call them in case the flight was delayed. Flight landed on time. I called several times between 9:00 and 10:30 and got a message that the line was disconnected. I then e-mailed advising that the phone line was down and I was leaving the airport and headed towards the hotel. I did not receive a response and after waiting about an hour, I booked a different hotel and sent an e-mail to Picasso Apartments advising the same. Several hours later, I receive the following e-mail: "Hello. I don't understand why you booked other apartment. As you can read the check in is from 15h. The check in phone start at 11h. I hope forward to your response" I was never advised that the check in phone opened at 11:00. I also don't know why this hotel would assume that a person would know this. IT CLEARLY STATES ON THE PICASSO APARTMENTS PAGE THAT THERE IS 24-HOUR RECEPTION. I don't think anyone wants to spend half a day of their holiday trying to track down someone to let them into a hotel room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. More hassle than it is worth!
3 out of 5
by RHg from Helsinki

Choose apartment 5!

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels
This apartment hotel has only five rooms, one on each floor, from 1st to 5th. Only the top floor has some view: you see the towers of the Catedral del Mar. It is also the most quiet room. (Insider tip: Use your own lift key to get up on the sixth floor, which recently has been turned into a roof terrace.) -- The first of our three nights at Picasso was pleasantly quiet, but then some sort of machinery was turned on round about midnight and again at 4 a.m., and that ruined our sleep during two nights. The noise lasted for about half an hour each time and could be heard even through earplugs. -- Another complaint: on the departure day we could no longer use the WLAN, which had worked perfectly until then. If this is their policy, it's a very stupid one, since people often need to check things on the internet before taking a flight for instance. -- Otherwise we were satisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from England

Apartment in excellent location for exploring.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The location was fantastic, walking distance to La Rambla and just across the road from the gothic quarter. Plus El Born is full of things to explore.
Cons: I would have paid a little extra for television channels in English, and instructions on how to use the microwave would be useful.
Location: This is in El Born but right across from the gothic quarter, there are tons of restaurants and sights to see nearby, and it's fun just to wander round
This apartment is actually one room with the bathroom cordoned off with frosted glass screens and a bedroom in the back. The photos are pretty much exactly what our room looked like. The kitchen is very well equipped with pretty much everything you might need for cooking (there's a two ring hob and microwave, no real oven but the microwave is pretty big) and the bathroom is bigger than I've seen in many hotels. Plus I couldn't fault it for cleanliness. The bedroom area is small and it can be tricky to get in and out of bed, but the beds are comfortable, and the sofa bed is easy to pull out too. Some people have suggested the alley outside looks a bit sketchy, but the whole area looks like that and actually isn't at all - there's lots of graffiti but it's a pretty relaxed place that comes to life at night, so it's fine to walk around after dark. You're also perfectly placed to get around Barcelona, close to lots of places to eat and also to public transport links. One thing that annoyed me is Expedia said nothing would be paid up front and they only needed my card information as a security check. Not true as a third of the overall bill was then taken as a deposit! Make sure you have funds available to cover this before you book.
5 out of 5
by Strutter from Uk

Great location

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels
Great value for money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marlon from Mexico City

Good location hotel

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: The kitchen and laundry
Cons: No free wifi need to pay. I don't like the alley looks scary
Location: Location is great very close to the church 2 blocks after everything is busy
Well the inside is ok. But alley is kinda scary but the location is great...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2012 on Hotels
it was very hard to find the street. the apartment was very tiny and not suitbale for 3 adults. the apartment was very noisy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Appartment quiet, fantastic location to visit Barc

Posted Sep 11, 2012 on Hotels
Apt no 6 offers the best view. Small, clean, good service, fantastic location to see all to be seen in Barcelona. No parking. You can walk or take the metro. We recommand and would go again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Linköping, Sverige

A place to ourselves

Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels
All in all, it was lovely to have a place to ourselves close to El Born, Porto Vello, the church of Santa Maria del Mar and the chiming of its bells, and not far from La Rambla or the metro, either. We were there almost a week. The positive things: + really lovely personnel met us late on Sunday night and explained everything - we also got a map straight away; + normally one key is included but we got en extra key - which was great, since we were two people coming and going at different times; + nice bakery just round the corner, and a frozen yoghurt bar that we recommend warmly; + good internet connection for 10€ for the whole stay; + central location: the narrow dark streets are full of character if a bit dark and moody - in a good way! + many utensils - a kettle, two pots, two frying pans; TV in the common room; a set of cups and plates for 6, hair drier, and still more + a lovely tiny balcony with a view of dark narrow street below; + good boiler, never ran out of warm water; Some neutral comments: 0 a little unusual with the elevator that leads directly to the room but it worked out fine 0 no coffee brewer, but a cooking coffee kettle for the stove - worked out fine, too 0 AC/electric warmer is included but we did not use it; 0 mail communication was ok; ...and some areas for improvement: - really thin walls! quite a lot of noise from the neighbours (normal talking and TV could be heard quite vividly late into the night - we used ear plugs all the way; there was not too much noise from the streets, though); - the toilet and shower room did not feel private because of thin (milked) glass walls and no lock on the slide door; - the air got stale very, very quickly. However, on the whole, we are satisfied with accommodation. Thank you for good service and letting us have a nice stay in Barcelona!