Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

3 days in San diego

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Location and it is kept up nicely
Location: Close to down town, 15 minutes. In El Cajon we like the mall on Broadway about 5 minutes away.
Spent 3 days in SD. Motel is in excellent location, not to far out of downtown but far enough so you are out of the rat race. Some minor items need attention auto motel such as heat lamp in bathroom. We have stayed at this motel off and on for over 40 years and always find employees excellent, nice breakfast also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel right next to the freeway

Posted Dec 28, 2017
We booked for 3 nights. The first night we were in a 3 story building and it took 20 minutes running the water full blast to get the water water hot enough to take a shower. This was possible only after someone came from the office to check the system. The next morning it was the same problem. We moved to the 2 story building, and the water never got very hot. It was between medium and hot. I've never stayed in a hotel that had a hot water problem and I've traveled extensively for many years. We were told there weren't many people in the 3 story building so there wasn't much water running through the pipes and nothing could be done. I told them CA has a terrible drought problem, and running water for 20 minutes to take a medium warm shower in unsatisfactory. I will never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
I appreciate the closest to the freways. The location is great for that fact..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite your 'Best' western

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
Old place, well worn look to all. Bed comfy, decent noise isolation from neighboring freeway. HDTV with analog non-HD. Lights blinking frequently, especially the bathroom light, scary. Bath mat saturated wet, was under the pulled back shower curtain so soaked it all up! Impossible to pull up shower (diverter on spigot) from minerals.
1 out of 5
by SAMANTHA

Worst stay ever!!!!!!

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
The room was not clean what so ever, when taking out the extra toliet paper found dead bugs in roll. The staff was very unfriendly and the manger was a jerk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts
5 out of 5
by Frances

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Bruce

Too Tired To Care

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was awful.... I called to let them know I would have a late check in. The girl who answered the phone said " why are you telling me this we are open 24hours". ugh... When I arrive the the guy working the desk has 2 friends back there with him just hanging out. He checks me in to rm 133 I open the door the bed and table are flipped over and the room is in disarray. I go back to the counter to tell him. he changes my room to 229. it's late I'm tired I brush my teeth and go to bed. when I wake in the morning the shower doesn't work. ugh... worse hotel ever.
3 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PALM SPRINGS

SWEATY AND DOG TIRED, GO TO SHOWER, NO HOT WATER..

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: CLEAN...NICE FURNITURE
Cons: EVERYTHING ADDRESSED ABOVE PLUS THE STENCH OF SMOKING....A LOT OF SMOKING.
Location: OK LOCATION...FOOD CLOSE
CHECK IN IN SUPER SLOW SLOW MOTION....HAD TO GIVE ALL THE SAME INFO AS BOOKING PLUS EVERYTHING BUT BLOOD AND DNA SAMPLES...GO TO ROOM 121.. MAID IS THERE...GO KILL ABOUT TWENTY FIVE MINUTES...RETURN..MAIDS STILL THERE...GO GET A MUCH NEEDED DRINK AND FOOD...FINALLY ROOM IS READY...TAKE MY ICE WATER SHOWER AND TURN ON THE TV TO FIND WHAT HAS TO BE THE CHEAPEST CABLE PACKAGE THIS SIDE OF CALCUTTA ADVERTISING HBO BUT THE LAST TEN OR SO CHANNELS ARE UNWATCHABLE ANYWAY WITH THE HORRIBLE PICTURE QUALITY. MERCIFULLY I PASSED OUT ...NO PROFANITY SO I'LL STOP HERE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Best Western Hotels & Resorts , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Inland Empire

Not very welcoming Reception

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The female receptionist that was there @ the time we checked in was not welcoming. Customer service was dismal.