Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over all Alto Calafate

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Front View. Convenience such as hourly shuttle to city. Free breakfast. Free confirmation calls, calling the cabs.
Cons: Maintenance should check the windows once in a while. Stuffs could be little more aware of the room temperature situation proactively.
Location: The hotel is not within the walking distance of the El Calafate City. Hotel shuttle takes the guests to this tiny city. Drink eat and be merry.
Everything was good. I have nothing but good things to say. (except) Room Comfort: #1. Room 228: When weather is comfortable, temperature reached almost 80F, could not open the window for fresh air and there is no room fan either. Since window mesh (net) is old and broken in places, the bugs started crawling in thru them moment window was opened. #2. Room 706: Since all Aerolineas Argentina flights were cancelled on Feb 25, 2017 Saturday afternoon from El Calafate airport (FTE), I have to go back to Alto Calafate, the staffs were nice enough to accommodate me for the night. Now I find a nice fat juicy Spider in the bathroom. No problem with the window mesh. In both cases I did not bother to complain to the staffs, it seemed so snotty!! Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Out of town with nice views

Posted Feb 14, 2017
E had 3 days there and after the day excursions , it was nice to be able to use the Spa. We did also eat in the hotel , the food was just about ok , with slow service. We would have liked to go out but too far after a long day .
5 out of 5
by Blake

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sue

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
What's great: staff, food, massages Things to note: hotel is 3km from town center (free shuttle); easy to hear wind at night and in the hallways
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff, false advertising, overpriced.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
When I arrived at the reception an unfriendly girl checked me in .. making me feel as If she was making me a big favor for doing so. I had a confirmed city view and got a room overlooking the back of the building . When I complaint she said they were full and she coudnt do anything. I tried to have dinner at the restaurant but only to found out you need to make a reservation at least two hours before you want to go. Tried calling room service and they kept on answering and hanging up.. Until JUAN took my order and the order never arrived. The fitness center opens at 9:00 am !! Which I consider a bit late and weird .. They are far from EL Calafate maybe 15 minutes offer transfers but once again you need to reserve at least two hours before.. Staff is unfriendly and I got the feeling that they were trying to rip me off all the time. Wifi was not working for the entire weekend. No AC adaptors or USB connectors. Cable TV was blurred all the time.. Make yourself a favor and choose another hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad location

Posted Jul 21, 2016
This hotel is on top of a hill 2 miles away from El Calafate. There is nothing around it, no amenities, no stores, no nothing. There is a shuttle service that runs every other hour (more or less) but te first one starts at 10:15, so if you want to do anything in town before that time good luck. I was under the impression that service also covered the airport but it doesn't. Other hotels pick up their guests at the airport but this hotel doesn't and you have to arrange your own transportation. I was completely unimpressed with my room. The hotel is very stuffy and I had to sleep with windows open. Walls apparently are very thin and you can hear everything your next door guests are doing. Room was clean, breakfast was good, staff was OK in general, some were good others not so eager to help that much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice calm hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Spa and Pool
Location: Calafate Expedition
Nice hotel, just before Calafate. it has a nice restaurant. it has a shuttle service to the town since its 30 mins walk away. Wifi worked ok and the staff was helpful about explaining the different tour options offered in town.
4 out of 5
by Marcus from Johannesburg

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant hotel good shuttle service to the centre of town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Fantasticrespite from the days activities. Unbelie

Posted Jan 27, 2016
A respite from the days activities. Unbelievable views and sunsets about 5 km from the main town which you can see in the distance. there is an adequate gym and a small swimming pool with adjacent spa area. We use the restaurant quite a bit and meals were absolutely fine especially the lomo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
The room was very hot during the day and no AC