Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2018
very good restaurant, very helpful front desk. room with view is good
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2018 by Natalia, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Friendly staff. Rooms were a bit too hot. Breakfast was mediocre at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2018 by natalia, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback,your complaints are being given our fullest attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from switzerland

Nice view But disappoints otherwise

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: The location is with an excellent view, though without easy access to the quaint little town.
Cons: Service Cleanliness Food quality in the restaurant
Location: The glacier tour is awesome. Walk through the town, it’s quaint.
The view is nice. But 1. Breakfast is very restricted, stale and poor. The coffee is bad, the bread stale, the pancakes mushy 2. Restaurant is empty yet needs two hours booking. Weak service, weak offering 3. Shuttle into town only starts at 10:15 and has to be pre booked. 4. Room upkeep very average. Not 5 star quality 5. When I checked out they tried to charge me in Pesos higher than booked at Expedia, till I checked the dollar rate and converted back. Then they said it’s taxes. Finally after 30 minutes they changed to the rate booked with Expedia. Do NOT stay here is my recommendation
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2018 by Natalia, Hotel Management
First at all, we really apologize about the bad experience, your complaints are being given our fullest attention and we regret for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Very nice stay , the hotel has an impressive view :) , do not miss the swimming pool , the most beautiful view of the Lago Argentino
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Depto. e-commerce, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Acceptable expensive option to stay in El Calafate

Posted Dec 10, 2017
El Calafate is an expensive destination in Argentina. The hotel is greatly located for the view and has a shuttle to town every hour or so. A bit overpriced for the overall condition of the facility. Reduced staff though friendly, food OK though not delicious, breakfast monotonous day-after-day, nice swimming pool. They took 2 whole days to fix the safe in the room. I would recommend you do more research for your stay in El Calafate. We saw several nice hotels in town and I bet they are not as expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by e-commerce, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over all Alto Calafate

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Front View. Convenience such as hourly shuttle to city. Free breakfast. Free confirmation calls, calling the cabs.
Cons: Maintenance should check the windows once in a while. Stuffs could be little more aware of the room temperature situation proactively.
Location: The hotel is not within the walking distance of the El Calafate City. Hotel shuttle takes the guests to this tiny city. Drink eat and be merry.
Everything was good. I have nothing but good things to say. (except) Room Comfort: #1. Room 228: When weather is comfortable, temperature reached almost 80F, could not open the window for fresh air and there is no room fan either. Since window mesh (net) is old and broken in places, the bugs started crawling in thru them moment window was opened. #2. Room 706: Since all Aerolineas Argentina flights were cancelled on Feb 25, 2017 Saturday afternoon from El Calafate airport (FTE), I have to go back to Alto Calafate, the staffs were nice enough to accommodate me for the night. Now I find a nice fat juicy Spider in the bathroom. No problem with the window mesh. In both cases I did not bother to complain to the staffs, it seemed so snotty!! Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Out of town with nice views

Posted Feb 14, 2017
E had 3 days there and after the day excursions , it was nice to be able to use the Spa. We did also eat in the hotel , the food was just about ok , with slow service. We would have liked to go out but too far after a long day .
5 out of 5
by Blake

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sue

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
What's great: staff, food, massages Things to note: hotel is 3km from town center (free shuttle); easy to hear wind at night and in the hallways
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff, false advertising, overpriced.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
When I arrived at the reception an unfriendly girl checked me in .. making me feel as If she was making me a big favor for doing so. I had a confirmed city view and got a room overlooking the back of the building . When I complaint she said they were full and she coudnt do anything. I tried to have dinner at the restaurant but only to found out you need to make a reservation at least two hours before you want to go. Tried calling room service and they kept on answering and hanging up.. Until JUAN took my order and the order never arrived. The fitness center opens at 9:00 am !! Which I consider a bit late and weird .. They are far from EL Calafate maybe 15 minutes offer transfers but once again you need to reserve at least two hours before.. Staff is unfriendly and I got the feeling that they were trying to rip me off all the time. Wifi was not working for the entire weekend. No AC adaptors or USB connectors. Cable TV was blurred all the time.. Make yourself a favor and choose another hotel