Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel with lovely vintage feel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, warm, very quiet.
The hotel was great for what we needed. Comfortable, very warm, a huge comfortable bed with old school decorations. It was a lovely stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly good place to stay

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Hotel La Cantera offers comfortable and standard hotel amenities. The staff was helpful and friendly. In retrospect, I probably would have chosen a place a bit closer to the main street in downtown El Calafate. The area right around La Cantera is very industrial.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Good Value Hotel with exceptional staff

Posted Dec 16, 2016
I will stay here again. Good location. Staff exceptional. Food in the hotel is also wonderful. They make pastas from scratch. Amazing! Orange juice for breakfast is freshly squeezed!!! Unlimited! Wow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City, United States of America

Comfortable stay, warm rooms, amazing staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Cons: Please go easy on the room air freshener scent/spray. It could be very overpowering at first.
Location: Ask the front desk for options, but definitely try El Rancho Restaurant. It was delicious.
In a town full of hostels and campgrounds, this hotel offered a pleasing stay. If you're looking for The Ritz or the Four Seasons in El Calafate, you won't find it. The room was comfortable, warm and had dark curtains. After a whole day hiking a glacier, trust me, warmth is VERY welcome; and with the Sun going down at 10 PM, dark shades are a must. It is a comfortable 8-10 minute walk (at NYC speeds) to town, or you can use the complimentary shuttle in the evenings. They have complimentary breakfast that starts early enough to eat before any of your scheduled pickups for hikes, tours, etc (note, the tours pick you up at the hotel lobby area, where you also have breakfast). They also offer packed lunches (for a small fee) and will even lend you a backpack for it if you don't have it. Ask for it during check-in. For those doing one of the hikes that require packed lunches, this is a VERY welcome addition. They even offer bath salts for your after-hike relaxation bath. I would stay here again if I came back to El Calafate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slight uphill walk from town

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: the facility was nice.
The facility is nice. The views are primarily from the upper section of the hotel and we were in the lower section. There was no view from our room. The hotel is about 4 blocks uphill from the main street which we thought made it very walkable but that may be too much of a walk for others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Patagonia stop over

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
We spend 1 night at the hotel. The room was a good nice although temp in the room was too high as the heating was on and we could not turn it down. Other than that is was close to town with all restaurants and shop. They offered a shuttle service in the evenings.
3 out of 5
by Jareen from Atlanta

Spacious, quiet rooms, but unhelpful staff

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
This is probably one of the nicest hotels in El Calafate. The rooms are spacious and it is in a quiet part of town. If you have never been to Patagonia here's something you should know: there are wild dogs everywhere and they bark nonstop. This hotel, fortunately, is far enough away from the main square that you won't be bothered by howling dog all night. But you will need to get a taxis or rely on the hotel transport to take you in town. The shuttle is pretty good, but it's only one person so you have to be patient. The receptionist we had was unhelpful. She would forget to make reservations to restaurants and didn't know anything about the bus schedules, etc. The food at the hotel is really bad -- don't eat there. The breakfast was pretty good, standard Argentinian breakfast. The bathrooms are a bit gross. When I turned on the jets to my tub it was filled instantly with mildew, which grossed me out my entire stay. But I stayed at other hotels in this town, and I'm pretty sure this is the best place you can snag that is fairly close to town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Adequate but pricey.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
We found this hotel to be around the lower end of our expectations but we were still satisfied with our stay. Paper thin walls and very unreliable internet connection were our main problems, and the seeming inability of the free hotel transfer to pick us up from anywhere was frustrating. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Los Angeles, CA

Gem of a place!

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay here very much. The location is a little outside of the center, but the walk is easy and in the evenings the hotel provides free shuttle service. The hotel itself has incredible views and is very comfortably furnished, giving one the feeling of staying in a lodge at a national park. Our room was very lovely and clean, and our bathroom was large with a window! Would have liked an extra pillow, but that's a small matter. The staff is very pleasant and helpful; dining is understated but the chef prepared an excellent fish dinner for us. Really memorable. We enjoyed our time here!