Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Had only one night, but really enjoyed it. Big rooms, clean, hot water, good breakfast and good wifi. Can't complain about anything and would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SG

Not worth it.

Posted May 17, 2015
Cons: Faulty lights to be replaced. Breakfast could include fruits and hot foods.
Location: Perito Moreno Glaciers
Faulty lights not replaced. Room looks dark. Breakfast is the same everyday. No hot foods or fruits for breakfast. Bed is alright but no housekeeping unless you requested for it. Hotel a bit far out from the town center, about 15 - 20 mins walk down the steel staircase.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Slovakia

one night stay (just to get morning bus)

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Almost everything was OK, but nothing special. And one bad experience. We had a morning bus from El Calafate before the breakfast, so we asked them, if they can prepare them for us earlier. Despite the fact that they told us that the breakfast will be ready, they were not. In the morning there was just one guy who does not spoke English. He was preparing the breakfast for the regular time, so we had only that what he can prepare before we leave...and he was not interested in our earlier leaving.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

OK for budget travelers

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: proximity to the town
Cons: better safe facility in room. we had two rooms...one the safe was locked and was not opened after requested...the other very small only allowed story
Location: at far end of town located above the town...with access to main street by a public stairway...quite a challenge if you are not fit or agile enough.
we were there only as a stopover to see the Perito Glacier, so did not expect much. To be more comfortable with better facilities, then we recommend another hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Cheap and cheerful. Like a motel.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: The price
Ok place to stay. Walking distance to town. Looks daggy from the outside, rooms overheated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from BOGOTA

Nice hotel for couples

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Very quiet and clean
Cons: More options for breakfast
Location: Go to glaciar "Perito Moreno".
I was four nights in July, the hotel is in good conditions and close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ricky from Mexico

Comfortable hotel, not Marco Polo Inn

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Good hotel to stay in, at first confusing to receive our expedia booking, but beware of confusing this hotel MP Suites from the Marco Polo "Inn" which is a hostel a couple of blocks away with zero english speaking personnel. Definitely a good option in Calafate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Aug 29, 2013
I really liked the hospitality and kindness of people in the hostel, the location of the is great and the blanket of the bed is really warm :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Calafate

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: a little more heating in the rooms
Cons: the treat of the blond guy
Oneof the person in the reception very nice guy , but the rest very rude, the blond guy very rude and one lady at the kitchen too, instead the "fat boy" was very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fat sid from montreal

little chicago in patagonia?

Posted Feb 6, 2012
Cons: can't buy food and bring it to the room, must eat in dining room but can buy at grocery store and staff will put in fridge
the problem with this hotel is finding it. be sure you know whether you are going to marcopolosuites or marcopolo hosteria and get a detailed map as the streets are not marked. the suites in particular are easy to access either by car or from town--they are right on an enormous highway that's an old airstrip. but there's no way of knowing this a priori or at least it wasn't indicated to me on my expedia reservation. the staff are courteous, helpful, willing to communicate in english and patient with my atrocious spanish. and about el calafate in general--it was so windy when we were here that we needed windbreakers and had to dress for much cooler temperatures than the thermometers claimed. the wind is less extreme in the town than at the hostels which are on high ground on the way into town.