Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

perfect!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: location, staffs, amenity
Cons: all good
Location: glacier, trekking
The hotel has shuttle bus to downtown every hour before 22:00. Very convenience and relax.
4 out of 5
by Jan

Amazing view

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel, litte bit far from the city, swimming pool cold, breakfast poor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017
We felt that he did not enjoy the maximum of his stay; We will try to solve the problem indicated. Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice Modern Hotel in El Calafate

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We stayed 4 nights. The front desk staff was great. They booked an ice treking tour for us that was excellent. They were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was modern, not like the lodges we had been staying in while traveling around Patagonia. The room was spacious and clean. We had one meal in the bar which we felt was a little pricey. We ate in town the rest of the stay. I would not hesitate to stay here again if traveling to the area in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Virginia Arce, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! We are very concerned about making our guests' stay as pleasant as possible, so we appreciate your comments.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Decent hotel, but not 5 stars

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The hotel markets itself as a 5 star, but I wouldn't go as far as that. Rooms were clean and comfortable, but feels dated overall. Double bed was basically 2 single beds joined together (which seems a common practice in Argentina). Sauna and pool are welcome features, we enjoyed that the most about the hotel. Service was inconsistent. Some receptionists and porters were very professional and friendly, others (a small handful) look disinterested. We tried calling room service once, and the staff answering could barely speak English. We also had some problems using our room safe (which turned out to be a manual safe), and they sent someone to our room who could only speak Spanish. Location is 2-3km away from town (40mins if you walk). The hotel provides a free hourly shuttle to and from town, which is great, but on hindsight, I would have rather booked another hotel in the town centre, so that I wouldn't have to plan my town activities according to the shuttle timing. The hotel is supposedly by the lake, but the part of Lago Argentina near the hotel is really marshland, so the view is not as great as we thought it would be. Overall, it's an okay place to stay in, but it wouldn't be my first choice if I were to choose a hotel in Calafate again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great stuff, amazing welcoming service, shuttle to the main street
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad & Tobago

Pity about the staff at the front desk.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: The location with the view of the lake
Cons: The staff should be trained to hide their prejudices
Location: Great location for exploring the glaciers and the wonders of Patagonia!
We booked a room with a view of the lake. Our booking was made months in advance. The hotel was about half full (I asked during our stay). We got our two rooms on the lowest floor (with the least view of said lake) in a corner (with all the air conditioning units right outside our two rooms) I would imagine these would be two of the last three rooms one should be given. i.e. if the hotel is absolutely full and these are the last rooms available. The front desk staff did their job, they explained everything carefully but they would not even look us in the eye. They made us feel very uncomfortable and unwelcome. I think it is relevant that we were the only people "of colour" in the hotel, and that they had never had guests from Trinidad and Tobago before. They should be told not to judge a book by its color?
5 out of 5
by Amanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic! Great Views! Great Facilities

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Swimming Pool a dream, every day went to relax after walking or day trips
Location: Close enough to the town to walk whilst looking the lake
Fantastic! Great Views! Great Facilities, staff always polite and helpful. Great Views to the lake Swimming Pool a dream, every day went to relax after walking or day trips
5 out of 5
by luis from Puerto Rico USA

Excellent

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Fabulous hotel with incredible views

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Everything, from the welcome cocktail to the great food at the restaurant.
Cons: The food is expensive. Good, but expensive. I suspect this is the same throughout the tourist season in El Calafate, though.
Location: There is a stables about ten minutes walk away, and several restaurants.
The Xelena hotel was perfect for us, a family of five. We had two separate rooms, one with triple beds, one with a double and a single. The views over Lago Argentino were stunning. The hotel has a pool overlooking the lake, a bar with a large screen television, a dining room for breakfast only and a dining room for supper. There is a games room and a small gift shop. The staff could not have been more helpful with one or two issues we faced. The hotel is a 25 minute walk away from the main centre of El Calafate, but the hotel runs a bus from 1100 hs to 2200 hs on the hour, and picks up from the town at 20 minutes past the hour (there is only one exception - there is no bus at 1400 hs and no return at 1420 hs). It is easy to walk to town alongside the lake. We had a wonderful experience at the Xelena and would heartily recommend it to anyone heading to El Calafate. It is at the more expensive end of the scale but, even so, it was worth it.