Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Decent hotel, but not 5 stars

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The hotel markets itself as a 5 star, but I wouldn't go as far as that. Rooms were clean and comfortable, but feels dated overall. Double bed was basically 2 single beds joined together (which seems a common practice in Argentina). Sauna and pool are welcome features, we enjoyed that the most about the hotel. Service was inconsistent. Some receptionists and porters were very professional and friendly, others (a small handful) look disinterested. We tried calling room service once, and the staff answering could barely speak English. We also had some problems using our room safe (which turned out to be a manual safe), and they sent someone to our room who could only speak Spanish. Location is 2-3km away from town (40mins if you walk). The hotel provides a free hourly shuttle to and from town, which is great, but on hindsight, I would have rather booked another hotel in the town centre, so that I wouldn't have to plan my town activities according to the shuttle timing. The hotel is supposedly by the lake, but the part of Lago Argentina near the hotel is really marshland, so the view is not as great as we thought it would be. Overall, it's an okay place to stay in, but it wouldn't be my first choice if I were to choose a hotel in Calafate again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad & Tobago

Pity about the staff at the front desk.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: The location with the view of the lake
Cons: The staff should be trained to hide their prejudices
Location: Great location for exploring the glaciers and the wonders of Patagonia!
We booked a room with a view of the lake. Our booking was made months in advance. The hotel was about half full (I asked during our stay). We got our two rooms on the lowest floor (with the least view of said lake) in a corner (with all the air conditioning units right outside our two rooms) I would imagine these would be two of the last three rooms one should be given. i.e. if the hotel is absolutely full and these are the last rooms available. The front desk staff did their job, they explained everything carefully but they would not even look us in the eye. They made us feel very uncomfortable and unwelcome. I think it is relevant that we were the only people "of colour" in the hotel, and that they had never had guests from Trinidad and Tobago before. They should be told not to judge a book by its color?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic! Great Views! Great Facilities

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Swimming Pool a dream, every day went to relax after walking or day trips
Location: Close enough to the town to walk whilst looking the lake
Fantastic! Great Views! Great Facilities, staff always polite and helpful. Great Views to the lake Swimming Pool a dream, every day went to relax after walking or day trips
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Fabulous hotel with incredible views

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Everything, from the welcome cocktail to the great food at the restaurant.
Cons: The food is expensive. Good, but expensive. I suspect this is the same throughout the tourist season in El Calafate, though.
Location: There is a stables about ten minutes walk away, and several restaurants.
The Xelena hotel was perfect for us, a family of five. We had two separate rooms, one with triple beds, one with a double and a single. The views over Lago Argentino were stunning. The hotel has a pool overlooking the lake, a bar with a large screen television, a dining room for breakfast only and a dining room for supper. There is a games room and a small gift shop. The staff could not have been more helpful with one or two issues we faced. The hotel is a 25 minute walk away from the main centre of El Calafate, but the hotel runs a bus from 1100 hs to 2200 hs on the hour, and picks up from the town at 20 minutes past the hour (there is only one exception - there is no bus at 1400 hs and no return at 1420 hs). It is easy to walk to town alongside the lake. We had a wonderful experience at the Xelena and would heartily recommend it to anyone heading to El Calafate. It is at the more expensive end of the scale but, even so, it was worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City, Mexico

Incredible hotel with wonderful view

Posted Sep 27, 2014
We received a wonderful surprise when arriving at the hotel, it was modern, beautiful, comfy, it had a great pool and a magnificent view of the lake. No doubt we'll go back whenever we return to Calafate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far too Hot to Sleep and EXPEDIA SERVICE POOR

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Pool and resturant
Cons: Heating and air conditioning
The hotel has the potential to be great and has all the facilities and refinement you would expect of a 5 star hotel. However when we stayed the air conditioning didn't work and ongoing issue in some rooms and this made tte room 31C and not able to relax, use or sleep in. The staff were aware of his and did not tell us until we complained.The could not move us as a group tour was in which seemed to take precedent over everyone else. On night two we were moved to a room that did have air conditioning. However that only made the room 29C something is wrong with this hotel when it comes to temp control in some rooms. what should have been a great stay was a total endurance of heat . NOTE EXPEDIA CUSTOMER SERVICE IS A TRAVESTY. DESPITE TRYING TO RING THEM I WAS ON HOLD FOR 20 MINS. SO EMAILED THEM FOR HELP THEY NEVER GOT BACK. STILL WAITING I WOULD NOT ADVISE THIS HOTEL OR EXPIDIA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KMcK from Belmont, CA

Very Nice Facility

Posted May 17, 2013
Pros: Design, appointments, staff, food, breakfast, views.
Cons: Rooms are too hot from the sun, but the air conditioner cools them down.
Location: Perito Mereno Glacier -- a light of South America, plus all the other activities in El Calafate.
We really liked this hotel. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and they upgraded us, gave us a bottle of champagne and a desert. It was very nice. Nice room with great views. The staff is great. The food is great. It's quiet and comfortable. We did not use the pool, but it's beautiful. They have a very good breakfast. The only drawback is that it is out of town, so you have to take the hotel shuttle to/from town which runs every hour. We had a car, so we did not care about this. The hotel is on the glacier side of town which is why I liked the location. We could get back and forth from the glacier without going through town. The rooms are too hot from the sun, but the air conditioner in the room works well and takes care of the problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, quiet with great views

Posted Jan 23, 2013
If you get a lakeview room, the view is fantastic. The hotel was quiet (in a noisy town) and had good shuttle service to the main drag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great vacation in southern Paragonia

Posted Apr 16, 2012
My husband and I spent our first wedding anniversary in Patagonia and had a wonderful time at Xelena. The rooms in the hotel are spacious, the view of the Lake Argentino is amazing, the breakfast buffet is awesome and the restaurant is a great place to have dinners. Their bus shuttle is very reliable and takes you to city center every hour. If you'd rather walk, it will take you 30 minutes (we did it when we missed the last bus). It's a very romantic place if it's just the two of you (e.g., swimming in their half closed/half open pool watching the swans in the lake). If we ever in El Calafate, we'd stay there again..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires, Argentina

Not impressed, but views to lake and mountains are nice!

Posted Jan 24, 2010
So and so local hotel. Best is the view from the rooms over the lake and the shuttle to town, which is working well. The staff is helpfull but not up to international standards. A good 3 stars hotel, but priced to high. Don't try the restaurant, the ones in town are much better.