Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrew from California

El Castillo Hermoso, Beautiful!!

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at Hotel Castillo Del Arenal are absolutely wonderful, all of them were very kind and delivered excellent service. Me and my girlfriend felt very welcomed and truly enjoyed our stay. We arrived by shuttle and had no car and Fermín the owner of the hotel drove us to the different destinations such as zip lining, white water rafting, El Tabacón the beautiful hot springs, and so on. This was for a small fee but it was definitely worth it. The views are spectacular, and the town is very quaint and welcoming. A beautiful place to stay with so much nature and wildlife. 5 out of 5 stars from me!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Fher, Hotel Management
Muchas gracias Andrew, estamos para servirle y recuerde cunado regrese a Costa Rica Hotel Castillo del Arenal es su casa. Saludos y abrazo... Fermin Ramirez C
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Nice views and great staff

Posted Dec 5, 2015
The staff at the hotel were wonderful. The restaurant was great. The downs were that the website says there is hot water and wifi in rooms. If you can have your shower in under 60 seconds then I guess it is true. The wifi was available but only in common areas. The beds were horrible and very uncomfortable. The pillows were also very bad. Would never stay there again because when you are staying in the rainy part of Costa Rica in the mountains a cold shower is not the way I want to wake up. Suicide showers are best suited to beach areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little place close to the park, hot springs.

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Fantastic views. Really sweet staff. Great restaurant. Close to lake swimming spots.
1 out of 5
by gale from NC

Foreign Travelers...Beware..horrible road into the

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
It was good until check out. We had paid in advance but the hotel management tried to say 1st that we owed them the entire amount. Then I chatted with hotels.com and they realized what the hotel was attempting to do. That was resolved, then they tried to charge $24 for a phone call we never made. We had hotels.com call and speak with the receptionist who acted as though she (Melissa) had no idea what we were concerned about. Then they attempted to charge us for the first night, driving 5 km (20 min) on washed out, rutted, unlit roads that made us sick and upset. Poor directional signs, complete darkness and no phone. When we finally arrived at the hotel lobby 'chef benedicto' offered to give me a glass of wine after I had settled down (about 1/2 hr) then he asked if we would like some food. It had taken us 6 hours to get from San Jose Airport, I knew my husband was upset but needed to eat. I accepted his offer of a little food. At check out time Melissa tried to charge us $25 for that 'meal' We did NOT order the meal. Be very cautious as they will pretend to be friendly and concerned (my husband's Bp had been high for two days and I had gotten no sleep during our last two days) then I realized what they were trying to do during the two + hours it took us to try to check out and then became upset, but tried to keep it from my husband who had suffered a stroke four years ago due to stress. DO Not fall for their false concern nor their tactics!
5 out of 5
by gale from NC

Wonderful place to visit, great staff!

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
The staff is very kind and helpful. They try hard to help english speaking individuals to enjoy all that the area has to offer. The road coming into the special area of La Castille (Lake Arenal - near nature preserve, butterly conservatory, and protected areas) is a little difficult to travel at night, because it is a gravel road, but it was well worth the bumpy road to be able to see the beautiful views of the Volcano, the sounds of the waterfall, and the great, freshly prepared meals. Our thanks to all the staff that were so kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than I expected and I expected a lot!

Posted Sep 26, 2015
We arrived a day late and they were so unbelievably accommodating. They even upgraded us for free! The view was unbelievable and the food was great at fusion the hotel restaurant. Yes there is a bit of a bumpy road you have to go on to get to the hotel, but it is TOTALLY WORTH IT! Can't believe how amazing our stay was and I can't wait to go back!
2 out of 5
by Dan from Australia

low price low quality nice views

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
our overnight stay here was not great. no toilet paper, terrible room decor (green walls, white light) poor toilet, fan installed backwards blowing air upwards. It's a mission to get to, but the view in the morning is great, with the volcano and lake. Make sure to check room condition. however it is cheap.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Apex, NC

Beautiful view, quaint hotel, friendly staff

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was amazing at the hotel and the view was absolutely stunning! A bit of a drive from Fortuna but Fortuna is just a tourist trap. Check out Sky Trek and the butterfly conservatory. Road is rough on the way in, but that's part of the Costa Rican experience. I hope to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

nice hotel

Posted May 25, 2015
Very affordable. Parking is close to rooms, staff is great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view but not convenient.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, nice little restarant
Cons: Clean the pool so it looks more appealing to go into, make sure fans in rooms work (ours didn't), inform guests of bus on arrival
Location: VERY FAR from La Fortuna, Close to Sky Advantures, Butterfly Observatory, and a hiking trail
There is nothing wrong with this hotel, it has a great view, especially during the sunrise, and the hotel staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are clean and they provide enough service for it to be comfortable. The only problem is the location. It is very far from many of the main attractions near La Fortuna and even though there is a bus that can take you into town for $6 each, you have to tailor your schedule to this bus. Overall still had an amazing experience but would probably go to a different location closer to La Fortuna next time. Location: VERY FAR from La Fortuna: taxi's will charge $40 to get to this hotel from La Fortuna, so ask your receptionist to call a taxi and only charge $30. If you want to go to the hot springs, La Fortuna waterfall, and La Fortuna itself it would be better to find a hotel that is closer to these attractions. Bus schedule only have three leaving times from hotel: 6am, 11am, 4pm and will pick up from La Fortuna at 5:30pm