Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Great staff!

Posted Apr 3, 2018
I booked this hotel with Expedia.ca and got a great price. In hindsight the price was likely too low for the Arenal area. This hotel is quite far out from Fortuna and Arenal. The night we arrived they also had two bus loads of young people staying there, running around like animals. They moved us to a quieter room at the front of the hotel. The staff is very kind and helpful. The accomodations are good and it is a good value for your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

It was a hidden treasure

Posted Feb 28, 2018
We found this hidden treasure last minute. The rooms are big and spacious. The staff very nice. The beauty of this place is there outdoors. They have a river / creek in the back that makes a beautiful peaceful nature sounds. The landscaping is beautiful with flowers and trees. The pool area is surrounded by trees and flowers. If you are looking for inexpensive, natural beauty and not all the amnesties of an expensive hotel. This is great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio. USA

Must have 4x4 to get this hotel.

Posted Feb 19, 2018
As I said, we should get a 4x4 when we had a rental car. I had a sedan at that time, it was really hard to get this hotel. Almost 1 Km was off road. When we reached this hotel, we turned around to get another hotel. I don´t believe this hotel had 3 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Just enough to stay quiet in that place. It's far away of bustle, cars, cities and parties. If you want to be in a pacefull place, it's a very good option.
1 out of 5
by Anna

0

Posted Dec 29, 2017 on Hotels
Refused to stay there. Filthy dark and dingy Not our choice as booked other hotel in September and were told only around 10 days prior to leaving that hotel I initially booked was overbooked
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Don't bother-try another

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We had two rooms-a single whose shower head was cracked & the room smelled moldy, neither showers drained & water stood in the bottom. Our AC unit had to be tweaked every time to get it running, and it just couldn't keep up. Beds were uncomfortable & room not very clean, both smelled awful. Our second room had 5 beds-a double and 3 singles which fit our family but those spreads made me shudder. For this price I'd try another one, there are a lot nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
This was a last minute booking so I didn't do a lot of research. Dirt road to get to the hotel but found it ok. No problems getting checked in but the place reminded me of some old fishing cabin. Not a very clean room and it smelled a bit musty. It was quiet there which was good. The big surprise when I woke the next morning at 5am was that there was no hot water for the shower! Talking to some of the locals they seem to take cold showers but for the price of the hotel, I expected a hot shower. Due to the overall condition and lack of hot water for the price, I decided not to stay the second night. Unfortunately they wouldn't refund the cost for the second night.
2 out of 5
by Reena

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Beds were dirty, No hot water. Air Conditioner did not work. Basically, whatever they provided (which was not much) did not work.......:(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of what you are getting.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
This is a place to sleep. We had no hot water. Located off the beaten path down a gravel road. Not really what we would expect from an American point of view. Please try another facility. I cant imagine anyone really being happy staying here..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Seemed over-priced for a tiny room, an iffy air conditioner and plain food at the "restaurant". It was definitely "okay" but expensive and NOT in LA Fortuna as advertised!