Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Juan

Last glimpse of Buenos Aires' Belle Epoque gone?

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
It is an excellent hotel right in the heart of the best of Buenos Aires, in Recoleta. We stayed there only a few days before they would close it for a total renovation. The Plaza has been an icon hotel during one century. It shone even during its last days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CS

HIstory hotel located center place.

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: location
Cons: Room size
Location: San Martin Plaza, Florida street
Side on San Martin Plaza, Easy to torisum places. Train station. With long history
5 out of 5
by Felipe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Nice Hotel with Great Location

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: location, bed, overall condition.
Cons: air conditioning, Wi-Fi
Location: A huge park across the street, and lots of restaurants, bars, and shops within walking distance.
The Plaza Hotel is obviously quite old, but at the same time very well maintained. The lobby is very welcoming, and the staff is above average. The location is very good, with lots of restaurants, bars, and shops within walking distance. The room is also very nice, but I would be concerned about the air conditioner if the weather is hot. When I was there, the weather was very comfortable, yet the air conditioner was running at Max Cool just to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. The Wi-Fi was my biggest complaint. It was generally slow, and sometimes very difficult to stay connected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Lovely old-style hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Mar 28, 2017
We moved from the very nice, modern Sheraton to the nearby, much-less-expensive Plaza, and we were super impressed. The room was a little smaller, but still plenty big. The older style of the hotel gave it a charm that a new hotel can't provide, without sacrificing any comfort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A jewel in the Retiro

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The building location is amazing across from the beautiful Plaza San Martin. Centrally located and accessible to subway, buses, retiro shops, Plaza De Mayo, a ton of different great places you want to visit while in BA. When you walk into the lobby it's underwhelming, it could use a facelift and not typical of what you expect of a 5 star hotel. Check in was a bit slow as only one person was behind the desk so we waited for about 10 minutes to get to check in after our 12 hour flight. Once we got checked in the hops take your bags up to your room which is very nice. Our room overlooked the park and had high vaulted ceilings, plush bed, working central air and nice double sink bathroom with bidet. Once I figured out how to use the bidet, loved it. In America we don't use bidets, but it's quite refreshing. What I love about this hotel is the history, the warmth you feel and how homey it is. You feel like you are at home and the service is very good. I recommend the restaurant and room service too. They have a great champagne called Mia Brut Pinot Noir Rose that is a definite must. The fiambres platter is a serious go to for a pre-dinner appetizer or even for dinner itself if you don't want to leave the room. We went to Mendoza and came back to stay for the remainder of our trip here in a junior suite, just lovely and a beautfiul way to end our trip. I will likely stay here again if I ever go back to BA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Nice comfortable hotel in downtown Buenos Aires. The staff were wonderful.
5 out of 5
by GAIL

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
We checked in really late and had no issues. The room was huge and very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice. This hotel is conveniently located to shopping and a regular stop for tour operators. It's minutes from the port authority. It's across the street from a lovely park. We enjoyed our stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel - well located, run down...

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Location, bar
Cons: Air conditioning in room didn't work. Hotel needs updating badly.
This hotel used to be a great one, but the lack of updating has taken it down. Hotel needs a hand to bring it back. Would not recommend to any friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Grand old hotel close to Florida Street shopping.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Decor & pool & concierge
Location: Teatro Colon, Galleries Pacifico, Florida Street
Concierge excellent- can set you up with tours & tango. Wifi in lobby free. Walking distance to Teatro Colon & Gallerie Pacifico.