Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

don't expect too much for the price

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
people don't typically go to El Chalten to stay at a hotel. People come go there for hiking. That being said, the sound carries from room to room. Also, the included breakfast was not that impressive. Actually, compared to other hotels, the bread was on the weaker side and selection of cheese. The water pressure in the hotel is not constant. It goes from really strong to weak. From hot to warm. The hotel does have a spa room which does help with recuperating from a long hike. Over all, not too impressed for the price, but not much to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Comfortable and more upscale home base for hikers

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Breakfast, wifi
Cons: Put a rug down on the hallway to reduce noise. Also switch to electronic keys -- much quieter and easier to carry around!
We wanted a nicer place to stay in El Chalten (not a backpacker lodge) so we could indulge in some comfort after long days of hiking -- and Destino Sur satisfied that. Good breakfast spread in the mornings to fuel up. Professional front desk staff. Great wifi. Location is not central but not a big problem because the town is small and walkable. Spa (jacuzzi and sauna) is small but private since you reserve 45-min blocks of time to use it. Room was clean and comfortable. Only issue was noise from the hallway waking us up in the mornings -- really squeaky floors and loud footsteps when people walk by, and the old-fashioned keys are a little difficult to use so lots of jangling noise. Fine if you're getting up early to hike, but not great if you want to sleep in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel away in the north end of the town

Posted Feb 16, 2017
We had a car so it was easy to drive to trailhead and restaurants. A very tasteful decorated hotel. The room was nice and spacious. Good breakfast choices. It's definitely worth the money.
4 out of 5
by Lawrence

Clean and a little better than average hotel.

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were always too hot and the walls quite thin for neighborhood noises. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very basic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Stay

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: almost everything.
This is a great hotel. Little costly. Staffs were amazing. Rooms are pretty comfy. The Chalten Travel Bus has a stop right next to the hotel. And this hotel is also close the Hiking trail heads for Fitz Roy. The breakfast is pretty good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable cabin retreat with friendly staff

Posted Nov 27, 2016
We enjoyed our stay particularly because the staff was so helpful. They made sure we had all of our tours lined up. And we had left a jacket at the airport which they retrieved. Breakfast had a full range of food. Rooms were quiet and spacious. The pillows could be a little softer and the safe didn't work. But the rooms were warm and the bathrooms are large. It's about a 10 minute walk (downhill) to the town but they offer rides back in the evening. Recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Great place to return to after a hike

Posted Nov 25, 2016
We loved our stay here. Service was excellent, and the rooms were clean, airy and with excellent selection of channels on cable TV (when you get bored at night as there's not much else to do in town after trekking). Good breakfast as well. Location-wise, the hotel is situated near the end of the town, but it's a small town, and it doesn't take more than 15minutes to walk from end to end of the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cicero, IN

This place was fantastic!

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Staff, layout and food.
Cons: My only suggestion are shower mats. The showers are very slippery and I almost slipped a couple of times
Location: Hike and enjoy the beauty of the area. There are also many other restaurants nearby.
This hotel and the staff made our trip to El Chaten unforgettable. The rooms are clean and spacious and well laid out. They fully understand and cater to the backpacking and hiking community. The food was very good and plentiful. They also have a jacuzzi and suana which are awesome after a hard day of hiking. They also made us box lunches to take on our all day hikes. Everyone who worked there was friendly, gracious and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.