Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room was clean and OK, all else in decline

Posted Dec 2, 2018 on Hotels
Have stayed here many times without incident. Always gave 5 star rating previously. Unfortunately the recent problems in Nicaragua have affected this hotel negatively. We were the only clients during our 2 night stay. Pool was not clean, rather milky white water too questionable to enter after we saw it in light of day. Room OK no complaints. Dinner food horrible, almost not edible. Everything is microwaved. Office admin. was cook in the kitchen. Fed my hamburger to the dog. We prepaid for "cook to order breakfasts" and were notified upon arrival that we would not be receiving them (4). NOT GOOD, as almost all restaurants in the area have closed leaving almost nowhere to eat out, and we were really depending on those breakfasts to start the day. Made us go hungry. Breakfast included was primary reason we booked there, thus our strong disappointment. No one was there to check us out @ 7:30 am, we were asked to wait there until 9am for the person to arrive for this purpose. We declined and left as was ridiculous request. Place is running on empty. So unfortunate as was one of our go to places for our monthly trips to Nicaragua.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome visit to Playa Gigant!

Posted Apr 18, 2018 on Hotels
Machele's Place is an absolute oasis. The rooms are clean and modern with super cold A/C, the pool is clean and cool, and the food is fantastic. But the best part is the service. Every single person we came in contact with (especially the bar/restaurant staff) was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. In fact, when we mentioned to the manager that we were looking for a place to get good lobster, she picked up her phone, called a neighbor, and had two lobsters delivered to us for the kitchen to custom-cook! Definitely a place we will return to!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2018 by Kristel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Its always a pleasure to serve and help. We feel happy when our guests are happy. We hope to see you again. Thanks from all of us
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018 on Hotels
Fantastic little oasis in a little local town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Clean and friendly.
Cons: The music and videos at the bar were not to my liking. Might be good to ask clients what they would like.
We stayed two nights and had a great day at popoyo beach. Very friendly and convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Nice beach hotel in a quiet village in Nicaragua. Macheles did a good job of keeping the premises clean and accommodating
5 out of 5
by robert

pura vida

Posted Oct 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great laid back place with super friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with Nicaraguan charm

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Everything was great except the pool was green and unusable while we were there. Kind of a bummer since my wife has a fear of sharks in ocean water, and I specifically booked there so she would have a way to cool off and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel In Gigante Area

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything - Rooms, pool, bar ... staff !
Cons: NO ... all good
Location: Must walk to beach - but able to visit close by restaurant as well beach area is tremendous - near by beaches are all extremely nice as well
Extremely clean and comfortable Hotel. Very friendly staff, from the moment you arrived until the moment you depart. Clean EVERYWHERE - Worth to say there any time !!!
4 out of 5
by fiona

Good stay near pretty beach

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
A good stay for 1 night. No complaints and staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
by Keith

Stay on the trail, it's really there.

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Probably the best spot in Playa Gigante, a rustic area that dies at night except on weekends. No stores really, bring booze with you.