Ratings based on 752 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved most things but NOT the food.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Very disappointed with the food quality and restaurant availability. Got food poisoning. Other than that loved the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Amazing staff!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Wow the staff was amazing and genuinely nice people. We got to know several people very well and they were fantastic! Alonso at the pool and David at the down stairs bar next to the stage are awesome! The resort itself was good, our room was excellent except for the smell. I think it’s the cleaning product they use and couldn’t explain it but we came back home to our clothes smelling just like it. Other then that everything else was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Excellent Overall Trip I Highly Recommend Thos Resort
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from League City, TX

Riu Palace Guanacaste Review

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Stayed 10/13-18/17 Overall the facility is beautiful. They do an incredible job keeping up with the beautiful hedges and pools. The landscaping is well done. And the rooms and common spaces are extremely clean. The pictures you see online are real - the views - particularly from the lobby overlooking the pools - is beautiful. Breakfast at the buffet is good - anything u could want. Lunch at the Italian restaurant was good - but We were frustrated they were closed Tuesday with no warning?. They had a second place to eat lunch but it is in an open aired steakhouse that worked as a buffet for lunch. The food was far worse and it was HOT in there. The steakhouse, Fusion and Japanese restaurants were nice at night. They were cool and relaxing. The food was ok but same every night and things were repeated on the menus. Couple negatives. The sinkbdrain was broken and the tv did not work most of the time. Room 1125. Every bar was out of bourbon the entire time I was there! I saw a bottle of Jim beam once at the lobby bar and asked for some on the rocks but they had put scotch in the bottle! The room service is terrible. Cold sandwiches and salads - don't bother unless desperate late at night. They have a 24 hour lobby snack place but it was cold. Overall beautiful but remote. The bourbon lie was enough to keep me from ever going back. The Italian place being closed for lunch our last day without warning was enough for my wife. But we had a nice time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Top Notch!

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Everything but most the RIU People!
Cons: The beach isn't private and the Ticos' ( Locals) harassed a bit too much; but we did end up buying excursions with them at much cheaper price!
Location: Location is great; a bit secluded and in between forest. The Sunset was to die for! Highly recommend Buenavista Adventures.
I never anticipated to experience what I did on my stay at Riu Palace Costa Rica. The pictures and other reviews didn't make justice! I've stayed in other all inclusive hotels in the Caribean and Mexico but this has been by far the MOST amazing experience ever. A big shout out to all the Riu Palace crew members, Front Desk staff for your warm welcome, our room service treated us like royals, the bartenders were exceptional! to name a few.. Adrianna, Alex, Giovanni and Victor.. GRACIAS!!! The entertainment crew.. Johan and Gravin.. GRACIAS!!!! For breakfast we had the buffet style.. For Lunch we stayed at the pool side for the BBQ.. Delicious! For Dinner all restaurants were top quality! The 24 hour snack bar has draft beer, wines and soft drinks and the foods were hot and always fresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

All inclusive hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We were on a wedding site visit and stayed at the RIU Palace. I've only ever stayed at one all inclusive before and this one definitely surpassed that experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the food was good, drinks were endless, and our overall stay was very memorable. It's very convenient (40 minutes from Liberia airport) and close to many excursions. If you're looking for a bigger or nicer beach - Coco Beach is a 15 minute boat taxi ride or to Tamarindo which is an hour or so away. Overall, loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Paradise

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pura vida describes this place to a tee... The best description I can think of to describe my stay it's like heaven on earth..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from queens ny

A nightmare

Posted Oct 13, 2017
We stayed in the hotel during hurricane Nate. It was horrible, at course they are not responsible for the weather but they are responsible for keeping the generator in working condition. I paid over 1400 dollars for my stay for a 5 Star hotel and get none of the service, no TV, wifi connection restaurants even one day without electricity or water, we have to collect rain water to flush the toilet. And when we check out the only thing that we get was sorry for your inconvenience. Maybe I go back to Costa Rica but I will not stay in Touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The hotel, the food, the drinks and the excursions are great. The one complaint I had was that the beds aren't all that comfortable, but that seems to be the norm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana, USA

Disappointed

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The location was great and the staff was friendly.
Cons: Some of the property needs updating (for example tiles were missing in the pool area) and food could use some major improvement.
Location: The location was great. It was close to the airport and other local tour options.
I have stayed a RIU resort in Mexico and loved my stay there; hence why I booked this location. Unfortunately I believe my expectations were set too high for this resort. Poor room service (had to call multiple times for room service and even one time did not receive an item we requested 3 times), terrible food, and dirty room (the staff did not change our bed sheets or clean the shower). The staff was friendly and this isn't the worst hotel I have stayed at...just disappointing when I compare my previous stay with a RIU resort. I also found it strange that as a guest of this resort, we would visit the bars and eat breakfast/lunch at the other RIU property but were unable to eat dinner. There was no explanation given on why that was their policy.