Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham England

A hotel with a difference

Posted Oct 3, 2017
We arrived an hour before check in but were pleased to find our room ready, the bedroom is very spacious, enormous bed and lots of storage. Bathroom had hairdryer and toiletries All the staff were helpful and reception sorted a taxi to the airport €32euros. The pool/garden area was never crowded and there is lots of seating areas around the hotel, which is so beautiful and historic. It really has a very special feel and is very different but classy and very reasonably priced. Buffet breakfast €10 cafe bar reasonable e.g. €10pizza €12chicken. Be aware that in the old town which the hotel is situated in, it's difficult to find food 2-6 but then food is served everywhere until 12ish.The nearest beach is on the same side of the water as the hotel and takes 25min to walk and is beautiful quiet and unspoilt with no bars or shops so take your own drinks/food. The other beach is over the bridge and again vast and beautiful but is a good 45min walk with nowhere to stop on the way, it has more of a typical holiday feel with lots of bars/restaurants along the front, a bus does go to this area from near the hotel. Santa Maria is a beautiful place with lovely people and safe feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough England

Character hotel with charm

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Lots of character
Cons: It was tired and needed some investment
Location: Ferry to Cadiz, great restaurants nearby
We spent four nights at the Monasterio. We loved the character of the hotel with various statues and artefacts scattered thoughout. Comfortable room and although we did not have a view it was quiet at night. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Long Weekend

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The character of the hotel
Cons: A brochure in the room detailing all of the hotels facilities.
Location: Cadiz for sightseeing is either a train ride or a 15/20 minute drive.
Excellent value for money, El Puerto de Santa Maria is a nice town currently undergoing a bit of refurbishment. Monasterio de San Miguel has a fantastic interior which exudes character and the rooms are comfortable and spacious. Only thing missing (must be a UK/US thing) is coffee making facilities in the room although it did contain a fridge. Definitely worth a visit.
4 out of 5
by Janice

Hotel Monasterio

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant Hotel with attentive staff. Actual building probably in need of a little TLC inasmuch as the air-conditioning system in our room was only partially working. However, this did not really detract us from our overall opinion that the hotel was acceptable and one that we would return to especially as the management gave us a reduction in the price due to the slightly faulty air-con.
5 out of 5
by Christine

Comfy

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great room and hotel. Very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, UK

Lovely hotel, very spacious and very well clean.

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Lovely atmosphere, fascinating pictures and artefacts and a very spacious feel. Nice large room and pleasant dining room for breakfast.
Cons: Some English language TV programmes would be good. Everything else was fine.
Location: Good central location with lots of Tapas Bars and restaurants nearby. Interesting Castle and several Sherry Bodegas to visit. Cadiz and Jerez nearby.
We had a lovely stay here. the staff were very friendly and efficient. At all time they were very helpful. Great breakfast and a very comfortable room. Only five minutes walk to the centre of the town and lots of interesting eating places nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but don't expect much

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is interesting. Good breakfast buffet. Beds are old and not very comfortable. Wifi is good. Ok place to stay but will avoid next time I'm in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Nice stay....

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Best place to park is the central parking garage five minutes away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spain at it's finest!

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was a gorgeous renovation (opened in the 1980s) of an actual Spanish monastery, obvious by both the architecture and original artwork. Luxurious with friendly staff (many multilingual) and easy walking distance to downtown, the train station and ferry to Cadíz. The beach area is a 35 minute walk, but perfect for me as I love to walk everywhere. The price, €43/night, was exceptional for my two-day weekend stay (although the street directly in front of the hotel was under significant repair at the time, so the low rate may have been a temporary reflection of the construction due to the timing of my stay.) I will definitely stay here again when I return to southern Spain!