Ratings based on 2,650 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Hotel on Las Ramblas - close to gothic quarter. Lovely rooftop pool. Very clean and spacious hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Excellent Hotel in a great position , would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, England

Great staff, great location, great rooftop space

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Great location for sightseeing, good selection of restaurants, cafes and hotels with quality food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater London

Sheer comfort in great location

Posted Sep 20, 2017
We were upgraded from a classic room to I think a premier room. This gave us more space and the view over the rooftops was delightful. Room was quiet and the bed was so comfortable. Would have liked more milk to go with coffee etc but no problem in bringing some more when asked. Hotel lent us phone chargers and even bath towels as we had none. Only slight downside was that the dinner menu was so confusing. I wanted a small hot starter but there seemed be be nothing suitable available at least I could not make myself understood. Maybe my fault for not speaking Spanish. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. Fantastic stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north wales

Very central

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Close to all restaurants and bars . Room was very comfortable and clean the roof bar staff were very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Beautiful restored hotel. Great rooftop bar/pool. Wonderful, accommodating staff. Terrific location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

An oasis in the heart of Barcelona

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Staying for a long weekend, this hotel has a perfect central location but is also set slightly back from Las Ramblas, providing an oasis of calm away from busy nearby streets. The rooms were exceptional, with high ceilings, good facilities and wonderfully comfy beds and pillows, including blackout blinds - ensuring a good nights sleep. The staff are very attentive and the pool and facilities in the basement are to a fantastic standard, while the rooftop bar and pool, provide a real wow factor, with views out over the city. The next time I stay in Barcelona I will certainly be returning and would recommend anyone else to stay 1898 when visiting the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Beautiful hotel with all amenities

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Everything, friendly, clean, rooftop, gym, location
Friendly and helpful staff, clean, close to all attractions, shopping and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, England

A lovely hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Apart from the hotel is situated in a prime position on La Rambla and all tourist activities are within easy reach.
Cons: Whilst there is a taxi rank outside - if there are no taxis - there seems to be a reluctance to order a taxi as taxis seem to take a while to arrive.
Location: Excellent location. Convenient for city open top bus tours and only five minutes walk to the metro and where other tours seem to start from.
This hotel lived up to our expectations. We had a deluxe room and the terrace was lovely. Breakfast was very good and hotel staff were helpful. We particularly enjoyed the rooftop bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great find in Barcolona

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very convenient location, exceptionally comfortable accommodation, and very helpful staff. Two suggestions: 1. Universal electrical outlets so we don't need numerous adapters, and USB ports at desk and bedside. 2. We found that if one wanted to read it was not possible to turn just the light on that side on. Both sides and a few other lights come on together which is not idea for one's partner who may want to sleep. Having said that I will have no hesitation to return to 1898. We really enjoyed the place!