Ratings based on 2,046 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

nice hotel and location

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Easy to walk to las Ramblas, shopping , restaurants
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Awesome location

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Service
The location is perfect, I had high expectations based on the reviews and it didn't hurt me to pay when I booked the reservation. Since our arrival the staff was very rude and I do think the hotel is very over priced. We went to the pool Saturday morning and afternoon and the roof top bar was closed. Also, even though I am an expedia vip gold member we didn't get any upgrades or any other cool amenities like we usually do in VIP hotels. The only thing we got was 10 off our breakfast (which is very overpriced for a fruit and cheese buffet) and free chocolate. Also we were out and about Sunday morning and called to see if we can do the check out 30 min or so later and they just clearly said no unless we are ok with paying a fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Great and recommended hotel with fantastic locatio

Posted Jan 29, 2018
From the moment we stepped in, the experience was wonderful. The warm welcome, the amenities the cleanliness and quiet room were fantastic as we were in the middle of La Rambla. My wife and I are really happy that we stayed and we will definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Lovely hotel, shame about the staff

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Upon my arrival at the hotel, my boyfriend and I were looked up and down, there was muttering between staff and a phone call was made by the man checking us in. We are a young couple, I’m 18 and my boyfriend is 21. He then told me we had to pay €150 per night as a deposit on top of our booking fee. This was never made clear to me when booking, and I certainly have never experienced this in any other hotel. I wonder if I had paid when booking online rather than at the hotel, would we have been charged this? Or did the hotel just judge us by appearance and age and decide to charge us a stupid amount of money. We were also approached repeatedly by staff with judging expressions on their face,when entering the hotel, if we were staying here. One night we sat downstairs for a drink, then headed up the stairs to our room. A young woman behind the reception shouted as I was half way up the stairs “ EXCUSE ME EXCUSE ME, are you looking to use our restaurant?” With a confused look on her face. By this point I was fed up with the staff assuming we couldn’t possibly be good enough to stay at their hotel, so I bluntly responded “no thanks”. The woman the paused and looked very confused as it clicked to her that we weren’t just tourists off the street trying to walk through their hotel, that we were paying guests. All in all I was very disappointed with the way we were treated at this hotel, after paying over €600 on arrival, I would expect a much more polite attitude from the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2018
Excellent, would stay there again and recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Superb Hotel in Central Barcelona

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Location. Staff.
Location: Central.
Excellent hotel in the centre, on Las Ramblas, and very near the Gothic quarter. Was given an upgrade to a fantastic room. Superb staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Excellent hotel and location

Posted Jan 8, 2018
This is an excellent hotel, very well located near to La Rambla and close to the market La Boqueria. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous hotel in a central position

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Excellent hotel located right on the Rambla - great concierge facilities got is in all the best tours and restaurants at short notice. Just a shame the Spa was out of action at the time - wish the hotel and Expedia had let us know before we booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Surprising boutique experience

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Cons: A hot tub on the roof is the only thing missing.
Everything about the hotel was perfect! Location, amenities, ambiance, but mostly the staff made our stay wonderful! Upgrade to a king size bed to pamper yourself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Effortless Comfort @ Hotel 1898

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Simply charming with the appeal of a quirky boutique hotel. Vintage feeling whist being quirky. Staff impeccable and friendly. Rooms clean and crisp with high comfort beds. Stunning locating. Really impressed.