Ratings based on 2,647 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great experience.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Cons: The bed was a little soft for me but it was fine for my wife.
We stayed at the hotel 2 nights before a cruise and 1 night after the cruise. The hotel is in a great location on La Rambla street and has wonderful facilities. Pool on the roof and an indoor pool. I also enjoyed the sauna and steam room. Overall, a really nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
A beautiful hotel in an excellent location. We love the hotel lounge and the waiter there was fantastic. One of our favorites in Barcelona.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just perfect.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Roof top pool and restaurant .
Cons: Better signage.
Location: Off La Ramba.
Amazing staff and location. It's everything that a traveler would expe t
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

NIce Hotel But Overall Dissapointing

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Booked this hotel for 2 nights and was disappointed with: 1. How long it took to have a room available after checking in (~4 hours). 2. Next day, I hang ES the sign on the door knob to have room cleaned and made up. I came back to the room about 5pm and room was not yet cleaned. 3. Hotel uses a perfume/scent in the lobby which was pretty strong and gave me a headache. I asked a couple of other guests and they complained about it as well. Hotel needs to be a little more sensitive to guests. Scent was pretty strong and some people may be allergic. Finally, although a nice hotel, I did not find the hotel staff to be very friendly or welcoming and not very customer focused and my personal customer experience was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Excellent hotel had everything we could want

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything; great location, the design was top notch, the rooftop terrace was awesome, and the staff were all helpful and nice.
Cons: our room had a funky odor a couple times
Location: Right off La Rambla and close to most sights, shopping and restaurants
Stayed at Hotel 1898 for four nights in September. Excellent hotel in a great location; they had something interesting going on every night, the facility provided more options than we could use in four days. My wife and I were mainly interested in exploring the Gaudi sights and Barri Gotic in Barcelona. We toured La Padrera and were very impressed with Gaudi's creativity. All and all Barcelona had many very interesting opportunities, but just too crowded for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Comfortable, relaxing, luxury hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel 1898. The room was spacious, bathrooms squeaky clean, seriously comfortable bed and the rooftop bar/terrace/pool was the most idillic way to end a day of exploring! Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect location

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Fantastic staff, beautiful hotel and amazing facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with an old look mixed with a modern fe

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Relaxing, comfortable and ideally situated . Ideal for a short break and find time to relax in the spa and take in the roof top terrace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S Wales

Central to the buzz of the night life experience

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Fantastic hotel, facilities were 1st class. Staff could not do enough for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Hotel on Las Ramblas - close to gothic quarter. Lovely rooftop pool. Very clean and spacious hotel