Ratings based on 2,618 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north wales

Very central

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Close to all restaurants and bars . Room was very comfortable and clean the roof bar staff were very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Beautiful restored hotel. Great rooftop bar/pool. Wonderful, accommodating staff. Terrific location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

An oasis in the heart of Barcelona

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Staying for a long weekend, this hotel has a perfect central location but is also set slightly back from Las Ramblas, providing an oasis of calm away from busy nearby streets. The rooms were exceptional, with high ceilings, good facilities and wonderfully comfy beds and pillows, including blackout blinds - ensuring a good nights sleep. The staff are very attentive and the pool and facilities in the basement are to a fantastic standard, while the rooftop bar and pool, provide a real wow factor, with views out over the city. The next time I stay in Barcelona I will certainly be returning and would recommend anyone else to stay 1898 when visiting the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Beautiful hotel with all amenities

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Everything, friendly, clean, rooftop, gym, location
Friendly and helpful staff, clean, close to all attractions, shopping and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, England

A lovely hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Apart from the hotel is situated in a prime position on La Rambla and all tourist activities are within easy reach.
Cons: Whilst there is a taxi rank outside - if there are no taxis - there seems to be a reluctance to order a taxi as taxis seem to take a while to arrive.
Location: Excellent location. Convenient for city open top bus tours and only five minutes walk to the metro and where other tours seem to start from.
This hotel lived up to our expectations. We had a deluxe room and the terrace was lovely. Breakfast was very good and hotel staff were helpful. We particularly enjoyed the rooftop bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great find in Barcolona

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very convenient location, exceptionally comfortable accommodation, and very helpful staff. Two suggestions: 1. Universal electrical outlets so we don't need numerous adapters, and USB ports at desk and bedside. 2. We found that if one wanted to read it was not possible to turn just the light on that side on. Both sides and a few other lights come on together which is not idea for one's partner who may want to sleep. Having said that I will have no hesitation to return to 1898. We really enjoyed the place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville , TN

Historical building . Extremely Elegant .

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The Hotel has 2 entrances , one of them is located on Rambla Street. my room was in the 4th floor with a small balcony on the side street . the room was spacious .i was upgraded being Expedia Gold member, and received 10 Euro Discount on the breakfast rich buffet , and you shouldn't miss it . the Hotel Staff are nice , and always smiling , especially reception people. the hotel is near lot of Restaurants , and the the reception people will suggest to you how to go to see the attractions. from the airport you would pay 28 Euro by Taxi , and you will pay 10 euro from the hotel to SANTS train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

excellent

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Perfect Location. Amazing decor. Great Amenities, Roof bar and Pools. Comes with a bidet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Very comfortable, friendly staff, great facilities, and a lovely quiet oasis of luxury on busy Las Ramblas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Idea location

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Very clean great roof top pool also had a bar and food area on the roof top great views .also got a huge spa fitness centre all in all great hotel staff friendly place clean it's in a great place in the centre of las ramblers close to shopping, food market restaurants would not hesitate to stay there again.