Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pat W.

Great Staff and Location

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Orbitz
Hotel is in a great location just off of Las Ramblas. Staff were very helpful. Room was very clean, and comfortable. Did not hear any noise at all. Be sure to check out the fireplace in the Bar area. would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ALicia S.

Excellent location!

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Orbitz
This hotel was perfect for our stay. It is not exactly 5 stars, but what it lacks in amenities it more than makes up in location. The staff is excellent and the room was very comfortable. I would recommend to anyone who wants a great experience visiting Barcelona.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edward M.

Honeymoon trip

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel was amazing. The location was in the heart of the old city and the Metro was very close. The staff was very helpful with directions and digestions of places to see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rose D.

great spot!

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Orbitz
great location and staff close to everything! the staff was very helpful and transportaton was just down the block.... highly recommend this spot!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lucretia S.

On our way to the cruise

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Orbitz
This is a fantastic little hotel only 150yrds off Las Ramblas and another 20yrds to the metro. Beautiful modern rooms in a centuries old building, even showing showing the original mosaic floors behind illuminated glass. Also a very cool fifth floor patio bar and pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Refused to honour Expedia prepaid booking

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Nice design, decent sized and comfortable beds, good shower.
Cons: Different pillow options could be provided: ours were too tall for comfort. Staff should be briefed on how to handle Expedia-booked customers.
Location: Great location in central Barcelona, handy for many sights and attractions.
Hotel had no record of our booking when we arrived. A day later, insisted that Expedia had not paid them and that they no longer did business with Expedia. I called Expedia, handed them the phone and all seemed to have been resolved. At checkout they once again claimed that Expedia had not or would not pay them, although they at least had a printout of our booking details at that point. Put them in contact with Expedia once again (all of this from my mobile phone!) and even though Expedia explained the payment process they refused to follow it, apparently threatening to Expedia that they would call the police on us. Expedia explained to me they were not playing ball, and offered an immediate refund. Hotel then tried to charge us 40% more than the booked Expedia rate. We eventually got them down to 10% more, paid and left. We will not be going back, and I suggest that neither do you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Excellent hotel in a central location.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Close to hot spot of the city. Hotel staff are nice and accommodating. Hotel is modern and clean.
Cons: none
Very good experienced.restaurant and torist spot are in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guadalajara, MX

Close to Las Ramblas

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: location, Services, great attitude from the staff, Very good recomendations near by for breakfast, launch, and dinner, proximity to Las Ramblas.
Location: Las ramblas, metro station, Cañete Restaurant, Opera Liceu, Escriba Coffee shop, Gothic neiborghood.
very nice and confortable hotel at 60 meters from las Ramblas and to the Metro Liceu station, great actitudes from the staff, both restaurants offer good options for breakfast, and the other for dinner is a Gourmet one, Very delicious, we loved to Stay there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and well situated hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Found the hotel to be well kept and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were a bit tight but to be expected for the location. My only complaint was that our room only had a window facing the interior of the hotel instead of the outside. Not at all a big deal, just my personal preference. Overall, Hotel España is worth a stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Location: Perfect location if you like Las Ramblas area. Safe and Quiet.
Very friendly and helpful staff. So accommodating that they let us check-in when . we arrive early, Gives us map of Barcelona and tips on good restaurants. we would definitely recommend and return to this hotel.