Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vineyard tour and close to village

Posted May 18, 2017
Beautiful hotel, gardens & vineyard, wonderful staff, delicious food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Great Hotel and Wine Experience!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Great design, facilities and staff. The location is perfect for a Romantic Getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PDX, OR

Fall beauty in the vineyards

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Amazing architecture, gorgeous surroundings, excellent staff made for a great time! Comfortable, yummy breakfasts and very interesting location.
Cons: Can't think of anything we didn't like and would highly recommend a visit here. The winery tour was delightful-especially during harvest.
Location: Lots of vineyards, wineries ( be sure to make reservations) fantastic architecture and ancient hill towns around. Great roads for driving!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special property

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
This is a special property and definitely a value. The spa is fabulous, the location is spectacular and the history cannot be beat. I have two criticisms: when I asked to extend they tried to raise the rate despite very low occupancy. Second the food is average in my opinion- although I did not dine at the Michelin star restaurant...
5 out of 5
by Priscilla from Los Angeles

Modern beauty in the middle of Wine Country

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself is a work of art to look at. Stunning. All of the terraces have amazing views of the mountains and nearby old towns. We were granted a room in the Gehry building during our honeymoon (!!!), which we had requested. The room was just perfect. No right angles, just like the roof of the hotel. Nice amenities. Pedro, who checked us in, was very helpful and gave us great recommendations. I took advantage of a free bicycle in the morning to get a sense of the area, and it's beautiful. Also, you can walk in the vineyards on the lot, and there are a few hidden benches to have a glass of wine. I was so sad to leave this fairy tale hotel. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by jason from St John's

Top Notch -Stellar

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 star hotel built on one of the most famous wineries in spain. A+++
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Amazing facility

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Everything was perfect but you can tell that the complex was understaffed and one staff member or server in the bar section was really rude with many clients ( Clemence).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Breathtaking luxury hotel surrounded by vineyards

Posted May 31, 2016
Stunning experience. Beautiful architecture, great room (we had a suite with views of the hotel and surrounding village ElCiego), brilliant food and wine. Staff were super friendly and welcoming. Loved the complimentary bikes for riding through the countryside surrounded by vineyards, roses and poppies. Thoroughly enjoyed the Thalasso spa for some relaxation. Would return in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Beautiful hotel; staff still needs training.

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Stayed at hotel for one night during a trip through the Basque Country and La Rioja wine tour. The hotel rooms and view did not disappoint. The hotel staff were all very friendly, but lacking the training of a five star hotel. The check in process was very slow. Whenever I spoke Spanish throughout the stay, the staff answered in English. We dined at the main restaraunt one night and were disappointed with our meals for such a highly rated hotel and the price paid. Overall, it was one of our favorite stops of the week. However, the memories were created by the beauty of the hotel and view instead of the service or interaction with anyone there. I would return, however.