Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luxembourg

Room amenities inadequate

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The beach, updating the hotel with a new swimmingpool and lobby entrance.
Cons: Appointment of the room. We choose not the cheapest room, tough a juior suite at a higher price, but instead got cheated for what the room really is.
Location: Beachlive.
The room is outdated, furniture broken and the the two seater rotten, while the single seater was ok. You would not dare to sit on the two seater soafa as it was broken and dirty. A roomlight was simply missing. The only lighting where the two bedside lamps. The aiconditioning is so loud you would have to switch it off at night, seams like a model from last century. The room lacks any charm, the flower shown in the internetsite is missing, the cussions on the bed are so dirty and rotten, we would not dare to tuch them. All of which at a high level price not to compaire with our experience in worldwide vacation destinationations. Thank you never again Bahamas, good by. On the positive the shower was in good working order. As for the really beautiful beach, there is a lot of broken glas spilled on to the beach beware of getting injured. The best was the cook in the restaurant with excellent food presentations, as well as the fiendly bahamian waitresses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Very nice accommodations. Suite was WONDERFUL! Beach was BEAUTIFUL. Just an overall wonderful, relaxing vacation. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastern shore of maryland

Best vacation ever!

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Hotel was wonderful! It was right on the beach. The room was clean and neat. The food was very good. The staff was wonderful! I will be back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right on a beautiful beach

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Loved that it was right on the beach!! Great island and hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cranford NJ

Loved my stay

Posted Nov 30, 2015
It was perfect to get away from the daily stress of work and life. Great extended family get away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Terre Haute, In

VERY CLASSY HOTEL ON THE OCEAN

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: everything!!!
Cons: nothing
Location: small island in the bahamas. renting a golf cart as means of transportation is the best way to get around. lots of nice eating establishments.
upon arriving we were greeted with a very friendly staff and the check in process was very efficient. we were offered a glass of champaign and escorted to our room all the while being informed about the amenities of the resort. Beautiful beach to complement the facility and grounds. I would recommend this as a must do get away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great place to stay on the beach!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
My husband and I just had our honeymoon in Harbour Island and stayed at Coral Sands. We are so glad that we did! Our room was large, newly renovated, always kept clean & cool, and had a wonderful view (in the main building). It's also SO easy to get to the beach and Coral Sands staff will set an umbrella and lounges out for you. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice. The complimentary breakfast was plenty for us in the mornings (yummy pastries with yogurt and cereal) and we had a delicious dinner there one of the nights. The Beach Bar for lunch was convenient, but not the best. We rented a golf cart for 2 of our 5 days to get to some of the restaurants farther east on the island. It's totally walkable to get to some restaurants in town (like Arthur's bakery and Brian's Grill) from the hotel too. We did drive down to the piggly wiggly to get a gallon of water at the beginning of our stay to keep in the mini-fridge and refill water bottles. Ordering water was expensive at restaurants. The beach was beautiful, usually quiet, and never crowded. We had the perfect honeymoon and were so happy with our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great 4 days in May

Posted May 16, 2015
Lovely location on the famous pink beach. Friendly staff. Perfect for romantic or families. Food was good but found menus at then top restaurants on island- Rock House and The Landing and Coral Sands were all similar. Snorkeling at Valentines was excellent. Great weather. I will be back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Very nice hotel on a stunningly beautiful beach

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: We loved the room, the comfy bed and the amazing beach.
We had a wonderful stay. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished. The king bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was pleasant. The hotel overlooks a stunning, wide, tranquil and very quiet and private beach that was an absolute pleasure to be on. We loved swimming in the beautiful turquoise water, and lounging and having long walks on the lovely sandy beach. It was a very peaceful and scenic experience. The hotel restaurant was very good but also somewhat lacking in options and very pricey. The included breakfast menu was quite limited (bread and pastries). Due to some bad weather at the start of our stay, there were intermittent power outages. I'm not sure if it's an island-wide problem or just a problem of this hotel. For the price, we felt that the hotel lacked a couple of basic amenities, the most important of which is an in-room coffee maker or kettle, and a vending machine in common areas for cold drinks. It's important to stay hydrated in a hot climate and the hotel bar was very pricey for bottled water and all other drinks (whether alcoholic or not). Many other local businesses closed early so it was difficult to come by other opportunities to get beverages. But overall, the incredible nearly secluded beach and lovely room by far overpowered the relatively minor shortcomings, and we had a wonderful time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Overpriced,overrated and disappointing!

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Everything:new decorating, better trained staff to anticipate the guests' wishes and fulfill them with a smile and not a shrug in a timely manner!
Location: not much to do-read and relax.
Apart from the lovely beach and beautiful water, this hotel lacks charm and taste, not to mention accommodating staff! We were locked out of our room twice-the second time we were told the only man who could open up had left for the day(?!).We then called the manager who told us she was unable to help us because she was "in the shower"!!?? In the end we had been given the wrong key!!We stayed three days-two of them we were missing hand towels and a bath mat.There was no complimentary water in the room -when we told the front desk this at checkout they said we should have said something!! Why should it be left to the guests to complain? If the hotel housekeeping were up to snuff it should be self-understood! The hotel and room decor is tasteless and lackluster-dark brown furniture (scratched) and rust brown fabric-where are the cheerful colors of the Caribbean?!- a few photographs thrown on the wall-this was a very cheap renovation job if ever we saw one!!The so-called "Continental Breakfast" is meagre: tiny jam jars, canned juice,weak coffee-anything extra costs a fortune! When chickens run all over the island it's hard to justify charging $13 for scrambled eggs!!!??? In short, if you want great food and class, go next door to the Dunmore Inn! We will never return to Coral Sands.