Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

welcoming after a very long drive

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: convenience for visit to Elgin
Cons: was not there long enough to form an opinion
Location: well placed for a visit to Elgin and the local military and whisky distillers
pleasant staff. helpful advice adequate and clean and warm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Overnight stay ideal stop and nice breakfast

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Aware of good facilities nearby but we had engagement in Elgin and only needed a bed
Receptionist very helpful. Room well presented and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, Essex. England

Great for the price

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Ebookers
Location: Very sandy beach with Italian restaurant. Shops on front selling ice cream etc stay open till evening. Fort George in Inverness not far away.
Bit out of the way but very comfortable hotel. Only stayed one night so no time to sample pool area. Breakfast and dinner in restaurant excellent. Food at dinner very good, great service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2016
Cons: Think it could do with a refurbishment.
Location: On the outskirts of the town although as only a 10 minute walk into town this to me was not an issue.
Hotel was clean enough but the décor appeared to be from the 1970's. Also curtains closed even though view across the flat roof was okay as trees at far end. Overall hotel felt very dark.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Falkirk

Lots of contractors block bookings

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Leisure/gym facilities quite good.
Cons: Staff attitude. Service in general. Public area decor.
Disappointed with attempt to charge "admin charge" for paying with Debit card. Reception staff and manager blamed "head office" for everything, took no ownership or leadership. Parking a bit limited. Public areas look tired, dated. Breakfast service average, food average to poor, croissants were completely stale/rock hard. No granola. Bedroom OK, bedding poor, thin duvet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay. As always we value customer feedback, we have discussed your comments as a team and where possible will strive to improve. Kind Regards, Carolyn Carrington, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut USA

Good hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: The Staff were the best i have ever come across always ready to assist you in any way. The staff make that hotel number one in my book.
Cons: The room has coffee maker, hair dryer, tv, but no clock.
The rooms are clean and tidy and it has a good heating system for the Scottish Winters. The only thing I would have liked is a clock in the room. The staff are great they were so helpful and friendly we returned for a few more days that trip. The morning breakfast full and fresh. We had an evening meal and the food was great. Only drawback the GPS sent us to the other side of the street on arrival a bit funny.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Wedding guests

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Very uncomfortable double bed. I like a firm bed, but I felt like I was sleeping on a rock. Extremely small room, with some outdated furnishings. Tight quarters, hard to maneuver with all our luggage as we traveled overseas. The area of the hotel where the wedding was held was very nice. The lobby, lounge and restaurant were warm and inviting, with updated furnishings, comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highland

Recovery Break

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The Location, the Pool and Spa, the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: The mattresses
Location: Location ideal of touring. Proximity to Inverness Airport and to Inverness. Plenty eating places and distilleries in the area.
The staff at this hotel are all very pleasant and helpful. The food was very good although the bar menu was quite limited . We stayed fior 5 nights. This was a sort break as I was recovering from surgery. I had requested a room with just a shower. The room was quite big and very clean, with nice toiletries and tea and coffee provided. The pool was great therapy for me being post surgery. They have a very good gym which is very popular. The corridors are well carpeted and there is very little noise once you are in your room. On the downside, it was a long walkto our room and there is no lift. (I knew there was no lift when I booked.) The main complaint I have is the comfort of the bed. although it was a large bed it was very uncomfortable with the mattress springs sticking up and into you when you lay on it. Other that these comments, the hotel was ok and if they improved the mattresses thennI I would be happy to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Yes. It was good value. Staff friendly.
Cons: Some rooms were due to be redecorated. But most rooms were all new
Location: It was 30 mins walk from the station. You need a car or a taxi.
My room was a single. It was small and outdated. Most rooms have recently been redone. The rooms very clean. The communal areas were really nice. Great food. You can't walk there from a station. I went up for a interview and got the job, so a good trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thankfully, we only stayed one night

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and free breakfast.
Cons: Either get air conditioning or un-nail the windows. If safety is a concern, put gates over the windows but air is needed to keep room livable.
Location: The location is outside Elgin, but far enough out that it requires a car or taxi to get anywhere unless you like to walk 5 miles one way to town.
Scotland does not believe in air conditioning because the weather is cool, not getting above 80s in a "heat wave"; however, when the windows are nailed shut, the rooms are unbearable in 80F weather. The location is outside Elgin, but far enough out that it requires a car or taxi to get anywhere unless you like to walk 5 miles one way to town or two miles (one way) to the nearest convenience store.