Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brownwood

Not up to holiday inn express standards

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Cons: Have a franchise rep make a visit
Hotel was sold out, but not because it was nice. It must be in a good location. It was dirty, smelled, and just not what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Vending machines didn't work. Bathroom shower was cheap remodel. sheets smelled. Hotel staff was just getting through the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin tx

Staff was wonderful!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Nice and clean and friendly, helpful staff. I would stay here again. Breakfast hot, fresh and delicious too! I loved the spacious room. Hotel is an older hotel but very nice and comfortable. Staff here makes the difference.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, Friendly staff, great breakfast

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice property in a small tow. As good as any metropolitan located hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
We were there for Country Music at the Old Coupland Inn & Dance Hall. Had a great time. This hotel was reasonably close & convenient since there was no place to stay at the tiny little town of Coupland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok....below avg HIE...

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Below avg HIE...rooms could be cleaner and mold smell in first floor rooms (we had two). Okay for a single night. Might be better after upcoming renovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sketchy Area

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: I would if I didn't have to run away from bed bugs
Overall, this hotel seems ok, clean and pleasant enough. You walk into somewhat up-dated lobby that appears clean. The girl at the front desk was ok, nice. We stayed in room#117 where we found several crickets all over the bathroom floor (dead and alive), although, it seems like the room was clean. Well..............full of bed bugs though. We were offered another room but, obviously, we didn't, not with those creepy crawlies in our beds! Now I need to request a refund with Expedia since it was booked through them. Let's see how easy that will be :( Disgusting! Oh, and the Mexican restaurant next door serves, possibly, the most terrible Mexican food EVER!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Charles A, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experience during your recent stay. Crickets are a major part of our Eco System during this time of the year. We do our best to prevent and control their infestation during this time of the year. Its now over so our guest and the city can rest gain. We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We have shared your compliment with our staff. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Elgin Texas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We have shared your compliment with our staff. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Elgin Texas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Sep 5, 2016
We stayed here to visit family in Elgin. I would have preferred to stay in round round and drive the extra 30 min for a better hotel.the staff was extremely rude and unhelpful. The room was dirty, the walls were peeling, and smelled of mold. There were dead bugs and live bugs all over our room. Literally ALL OVER! When I told the staff they said there was nothing they could do about it! Um how about get them out of my room! They cleaned breakfast up by 815! So if you eat at 830 don't bother eating here! Seriously the worst stay ever!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. Our breakfast hours are from 6:30am to 9:30am. The breakfast is usually available from 6am and we keep it open until every guest has had something to eat. If you visit us during the month of September thru November, 2016. The Holiday Inn Express worldwide have extended the breakfast hour an extra 30 minutes and check out is now at 12pm. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, General Manager