Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Incredible please, very relaxing with amazing sauna and views Well connected with Salzburg too Highly recommend!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Braintree, Essex

Pleasant hotel, but not up to 4 star standard.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Install air conditioning. Bathroom needs updating.
Location: Pleasant location with restaurants nearby.
Although a nice hotel with friendly staff, the lack of air conditioning is a big minus. We arrived in September and temperatures hit 28-30 degrees. The summer must be unbearable. We were provided fans, but mosquitos were out in force. The fans were required all night. I had written to Romantik stating we were celebrating our 30th anniversary on our trip to Salzburg, but it fell on deaf ears as our room was very basic. I am surprised this is classed as 4 star.
5 out of 5
by Diana

Beautiful hotel with romantic feel

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay at the Romantik Hotel Gmachl. The rooms were beautiful and charming. The location was very quaint and there were great views of rolling hills from the indoor pool. Pool and hotel amenities were fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. Great place to stay if you're looking for romance.
4 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Jorge from USA

if you want to sleep past 6am, move on!

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was fabulous, room was spotless, breakfast was delicious, and parking was provided without a problem, and pool is modern with infinity edges like the pictures. However, there are a couple things about this hotel that made us regret our stay: our bedroom was located on the side next to the church with a cemetery. the church bell rings every 15 minutes starting at 6am. this is quite annoying given the room doesn't have air conditioner so we needed to keep the window somewhat opened. be aware also that they have an old side and a new side across the street(new side contains the pool). pictures are of the new side. old building's rooms look dated. outside of the hotel, note that parking is expensive in the city of Salzburg.
5 out of 5
by Benjamin

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great restaurant. Great breakfast. Good neighborhood
4 out of 5
by nadia from toronto

Good times!

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
So this hotel has two very different buildings. The room is very old and traditional. No air condition and very small. The hotel is over 600 years old, it is kept in good condition but the rooms are small and claustrophobic. The breakfast in the morning is really delicious and the hotel is decorated quite nicely. Now, there is a old traditional building where the rooms are and an amazing recreational building with a SPA and a pool with modern amenities.This building has amazing new amenities, a great pool with a few and a great spa. This building made it a well worth stay at the hotel. IT is great for couples to relax, lounge in and have fun. I didn't like our room, but this building made up for it, it was amazing.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Cleveland,Ohio

Best hotel near Salzburg

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
If you are visiting Salzburg,this is the best place to stay (even if you have to drive 15 min).Nice and quiet location.We stay in the sweet.Room was big and clean.Breacfast is in very nice restorante,you get everything you emagine: fresh juice,champagne...The best part is saunas and infinity pool at the top floor.Right next to pool is a fire place,which makes place really romantic.By the sauna they have teas,coffee machine,all kind of waters.We really enjoyed staying in this hotel.Just the only complaint to hotels.com.We booked hotel for three person.At reservation they gave us one price,but when we arrive, hotel charge an extra 65 euro per night .This was a trap from hotels.com.Other wise this was absolutly beautiful and romantic stay
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Hong Kong

Nice retreat in the proximity of Salzburg

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. Unfortunately, the weather was not the best. It was exceptionally hot one day but the rooms do not have air conditioning. The second day it poured cats and dogs and so we could not enjoy the swimming pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Romantik Elixhausen

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful staff. Good service. Great facilities. Everything you want from a hotel. Air in the rooms would be nice though. It was 38 degrees when I stayed stayed.