Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

True Austrian Spa Delight

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Gym, pool and spa; Food.
Location: Mountain biking and all spa options.
Unexpected evening stay on way back to Frankfurt, the Romantik Hotel was an amazing surprise. Fabulous gym and spa - including infinity pool with amazing view. Hotel food was outstanding - both dinner and breakfast. And comes with free parking. Felt like the true Austrian mountain spa experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Romantik Hotel GMACHL****S, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your excellent review about the Romantik Hotel Gmachl. We are glad about your positive feedback regarding our hotel. We would we be happy to welcoming you soon again Yours Family Hirnböck-Gmachl & Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
Would not recommend if there is more then 3 people in a room. Had to reserve 2 rooms, spoke to someone to help me get my family accommodated over the phone it seemed like things were good until we showed up the rooms were not together with a conjoining door like I was told they would be. Receptionist did not seem to care. It's a nice and fancy hotel but I absolutely would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Romantik Hotel GMACHL, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are offering different room types with different sizes. Not in all the rooms are enough space for an extra bed. We are really sorry, that nobody offered you a Junior Suite. We are looking forward to see you soon at Romantik Hotel Gmachl in Elixhausen next to salzburg Best regards family Hirnböck-GMACHL & Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traditional hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely traditional hotel - though the church bells will wake you up!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Romantik Hotel GMACHL, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind Feedback. We wish you a good journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back! We wish you all the best and remain with best greetings from Elixhausen Family Hirnböck-Gmachl and team
5 out of 5
by Nigel

Fabulous

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
My second stay at this hotel. They have 3 indoor and 2 outdoor tennis courts which is why we chose this hotel. However the lovely spa facilities, the indoor pool , and great food on offer along with delightful staff is the reason l went back and will continue
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Romantik Hotel GMACHL, Hotel Management
Dear Nigel, thank you for your great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Family Hirnböck-GMACHL & Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, uk

An Austrian Alps Paradise

Posted Apr 8, 2017
I chose to go to Salzburg for Christmas. After researching I found that I wanted peaceful, quiet, fairy tale-like and fun. This was this resort. It is about eight miles north of Salzburg and easily accessed by bus into the city. Only take fifteen minutes. The hotel is very old with a new edition across the street. I did not have the chance to see the rooms on the old side but was in the building a lot and feel that no matter the side you cannot go wrong. I was on the new side and the room was bigger than my London apartment. The tile floors were heated and there were floor to ceiling windows that let you view the sunset on the Alps right from your room. Giant bathtub or the biggest walk in shower and rain shower head I've ever seen. They gave me welcome snacks and because I was visiting during a holiday they had a set menu in the restaurant that was amazing. Actually ate there two nights in a room it was so good. There's a sweet little church next door that I got to attend. There is also an Infiniti pool that overlooks the mountains. I could not have asked for a more picturesque paradise of a place than this hotel and staff and if I'm ever in the area or see this hotel brand in other travels I would definitely consider it again. My Christmas was a pleasure thanks to the Romantik Hotel group.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Romantik Hotel GMACHL ****S, Hotel Management
Dear Courtney, thank you very much for this great review of our hotel! We are really proud of our team, when guests are feeling completely well during their stay. We are looking forward to welcome you soon at romantik hotel GMACHL. Best regards Familiy Hirnböck-GMACHL & Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Incredible please, very relaxing with amazing sauna and views Well connected with Salzburg too Highly recommend!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Braintree, Essex

Pleasant hotel, but not up to 4 star standard.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Install air conditioning. Bathroom needs updating.
Location: Pleasant location with restaurants nearby.
Although a nice hotel with friendly staff, the lack of air conditioning is a big minus. We arrived in September and temperatures hit 28-30 degrees. The summer must be unbearable. We were provided fans, but mosquitos were out in force. The fans were required all night. I had written to Romantik stating we were celebrating our 30th anniversary on our trip to Salzburg, but it fell on deaf ears as our room was very basic. I am surprised this is classed as 4 star.
5 out of 5
by Diana

Beautiful hotel with romantic feel

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay at the Romantik Hotel Gmachl. The rooms were beautiful and charming. The location was very quaint and there were great views of rolling hills from the indoor pool. Pool and hotel amenities were fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. Great place to stay if you're looking for romance.
4 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Jorge from USA

if you want to sleep past 6am, move on!

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was fabulous, room was spotless, breakfast was delicious, and parking was provided without a problem, and pool is modern with infinity edges like the pictures. However, there are a couple things about this hotel that made us regret our stay: our bedroom was located on the side next to the church with a cemetery. the church bell rings every 15 minutes starting at 6am. this is quite annoying given the room doesn't have air conditioner so we needed to keep the window somewhat opened. be aware also that they have an old side and a new side across the street(new side contains the pool). pictures are of the new side. old building's rooms look dated. outside of the hotel, note that parking is expensive in the city of Salzburg.