Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Bern

Prize change.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Our room charged was doubled after reservation. Not good. Hotel is no more than a $62 a night kind of place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Travelers Inn Management, Hotel Management
Dear Edward, We apologize that you were not satisfied with the room rate. Our room rates are always competitively and reasonably priced in Elizabeth City. During peak season, rates do change in town. We hope to see you again in the near future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ok for aa night on the road

Posted May 19, 2017
Clean and recently painted. Would have given a higher rating, but the beds were old and somewhat uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Travelers Inn Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We take pride in our guest rooms here at the Travelers Inn. We recently renovated our property and our bedding is fairly new. We apologize you were not comfortable on our beds. We hope to see you in the near future so you can try us out again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are glad you chose to stay with us during your visit to Elizabeth City and hope to see you again in the near future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay Away!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Room smelled horrible like cigarettes even though it was a "non-smoking" room. Two separate nights I was woken up to people fighting downstairs. It also seems that there may be prostitution running out of the hotel. Overall a disgusting place to stay and would never go back again. Only reason I didn't stay there is because I couldn't cancel it in time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Travelers Inn Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize about any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. We offer both smoking and non smoking rooms at our property and we strictly enforce our non smoking policy in our non smoking guest rooms. In the future, please do not hesitate to contact our front desk agent if you have any issues, including noise complaints or with anything else. Our property is located on the main road and we do have security that patrols the area routinely to ensure all of our guests have a safe, comfortable stay with us. Once again, we do apologize about any inconvenience and I hope you try us out again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Bonnie

Decent & affordable

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Family stay, chose this one as it's only about half hour from Chesapeake where son was graduating from Marine Security school. Reviews were good, esp about cleanliness of rooms. Lady at front desk was friendly & courteous, room was clean. 2 doublebeds. I like the regular fullsize pillows (some hotels have switched to tiny ones). Good location nearly across street from college, not too far from restaurants or highway but away from busiest areas as I prefer. Only things that bothered me was an oil stain or something on coverlet of one bed, alarm clock radio broken, towels only enough for 2 guests when 3 were booked but that seems common. Please note that if reserving with credit or debit card unlike other places their policy is to bill your card before you arrive! Check-in is at 3 pm & at 3:20 while still on the road we were called, asked if still coming & informed that our card had been denyed. We informed them we only reserved with card & intended to pay cash upon arrival. At check-in when asked lady explained that is their policy & it's usually done on morning of arrival date. I've decided doublebeds are too small for two adults & in future will only book queens but that's not the hotels fault, just my mistake. I would recommend this hotel to others for basic, decent, affordable place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Bonnie, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and congrats to your son on graduating! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our clean comfortable rooms here at the Travelers Inn. We will make note and notify housekeeping and maintenance about the things you mentioned. We hope to see you again in the near future!
5 out of 5
by sabreen

Great stay

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great customer service, stayed three nights. Shops and restaurants were close. Last day there was noise due to construction but I only heard it that morning I was leaving and noisy neighbors next store on the last night. Other than that stay was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sabreen, Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Travelers Inn. We take pride in our property and our staff. We apologize about any noise, and hope to see you again in the near future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Would not recommend

Posted Oct 18, 2016
First of all the key would not open the room so they had to give us a new room. The room smelled a bit bad, there was no shampoo or enough toilet paper. The blow dryer they had did not work. If you are looking for a hotel that offers breakfast I will tell you that this does not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Travelers Inn Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize that the key did not work, however maintenance took care of the issue. We do offer guest amenities such as body wash, shampoo, and lotion. In the future, if you need any more items, please do not hesitate to ask the front desk, that is what our front desk agents are here for, to better serve our guests! Also, we do not offer breakfast, however we offer coffee in the lobby as well as in the guest rooms. Our rooms are newly renovated and we hope to better serve you next time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
We only liked the beds
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed our guest room beds. Next time, if there is anything else we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask one of our employees here at the Travelers Inn. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Very comfortable stay

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly and engaging. They truly seemed to care about every aspect of my stay. The bed was super comfortable!
Cons: The shower head was not high enough so I had to stoop a little bit to wash my hair. It didn't bother me because the bathroom was in great condition.
The renovations done to this motel really made my stay as comfortable as ever. Excellent value. I usually do not sleep well on hotel beds. I slept as well as I do at home. It made the difference with the 8 hour drive ahead of me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Travelers Inn Management, Hotel Management
Dear J D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Travelers Inn. We take pride in our clean, comfortable rooms. Our guests' comfort is our priority! I will let the employees know that they are doing a great job and to keep it up! We hope to see you again in the near future.